We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise on the waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
East Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
445 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Nice surprise on the waterfront”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Disclaimer: This was a short business trip, so I didn't really spend much time at the hotel or the Seattle area. I picked the hotel based on its location relative to my work.
Pros:
- Nice location at the Lake Union waterfront. Very short walking distance to the waterfront and some local restaurants
- A short drive to the downtown area
- Clean, comfortable rooms
- Seemed pretty affordable
- Breakfast included

Cons:
- None I could think of

If I were going to Seattle for pleasure, I would definitely consider staying here.

Room Tip: About half the rooms look out on the waterfront; the other half look towards a highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KDAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    382
    73
    17
    9
See reviews for
473
413
33
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Originally, my friend and I planned to stay with friends, but when that fell through at the last minute we needed a hotel quick. Silver Cloud was the only one with a room available, and needless to say we weren't that excited about paying an extra 100 bucks each (total about $200) for one night. However, it turned out to be worth it! The front desk was super accommodating - they had information about the race we were in town for, and didn't give us any grief for checking out 30 minutes late. The bed was comfy and the complimentary hot breakfast tasty - they even had plain yogurt! Close to the bus stop and within walking distance to downtown. Right across the street is Lake Union. I almost wish I'd stayed the whole trip there.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

A hop, skip and a jump from the upscale University Village Shopping Center and next to the University of Washington area, this is a decent place to stay. It was very busy the night we were there and some kind of a convention was happening as the lobby was filled with people both when we arrived and left the next day but it was clean, comfortable and supplied what we needed. The exercise room was bigger than most and the free breakfast included hot food which was nice. While there was nothing outstanding about the Silver Cloud, neither was there anything to complain about. We'd choose it again, should we be looking for something in that part of town.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank druryperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The Silver Cloud's staff was very friendly and helpful. We loved the location. Free parking, free internet and free breakfast were a great combination! The rooms were spacious and clean. Wish we were in the room long enough to enjoy it more. Lots of trendy restaurants and bars within walking distance. It was nice having coffee and tea in the lobby at all hours. The best feature about Silver Cloud though is its free shuttle service! They had 3 destinations: Pike's Market, Pioneer Square and the Space Needle. All you had to do was call the hotel to let them know you wanted to be picked up or dropped off. It was wonderful since all the reviews I read said parking was ridiculous in Seattle. Thank you Silver Cloud for making our stay in Seattle more enjoyable than expected. We had a party of 10 and we all agreed we'd love to stay here again!

Only downside: garage parking is great especially when it's free but you won't be able to fit a minivan with a cargo compartment on its roof. The other family we travelled with had to pay for parking on an outdoor lot next to the hotel. The free shuttle service more than made up for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecatsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I am very particular about having a clean room and this was perfect! The continental breakfast is delicious with scrambled eggs, yogurt, oatmeal, toast, waffles, sausage, muffins and more. We had a view of the lake and it was definitely worth the minimal cost in upgrade. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is only a 5-10 minute drive from downtown. You can even walk it if you have the time because there was plenty to see along the way. They do offer complimentary shuttle to downtown and back, though remember to schedule just in case the van fills up. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get the room facing the lake. It is a little noisier because the street is just below, but it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkposhgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,590 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union

Property: Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union
Address: 1150 Fairview Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#11 Family Hotel in Seattle
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#17 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south end of scenic Lake Union, the Silver Cloud Hotel Seattle - Lake Union is two miles from downtown Seattle's finest shops and restaurants and just five miles from the University of Washington campus. The hotel is also located near Seattle Center and the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, and is only a 20 minute walk to the iconic Space Needle. Most of the guestrooms have spectacular waterfront views of Lake Union and Seattle. All rooms have 42" high definition flat screen TVs, complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and laptop safes. A complimentary Silver Cloud breakfast is offered daily in addition to use of our brand new fitness center. The hotel features an indoor pool and spa and offers local area shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Silver Cloud Hotel Lake Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing