We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Villa Hostel(San Ramon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (1,302)
Filter reviews
1,302 results
Traveller rating
1,045
218
31
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,045
218
31
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscloud foreston sitecosta ricanight walkresearch stationyogurtpool tablemilk the cowsmovie theaterthe main roadjuan carlosnight tourarenal volcanohiking trailsself guidedhorseback ridingdairy farm
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 1,302 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2017

We were only at Villa Blanca for 1 night, but they (especially Julio in the kitchen) made us feel like family. You're greeted at the front gate with a warm towel and a welcome drink to start your stay off on the right foot. The restaurant is great (a bit pricey, but standard for this kind of hotel in CR), and the food was delicious. They use ingredients from their gardens and cows, so you know it's super fresh.

Definitely recommend going to milk the cows in the morning, it was a highlight of our stay at the property.

One piece of advice is to try and get there in the daylight. Like many reviewers stated, the road to the hotel is very bumpy, long, and foggy. It can be a bit daunting at night time, but in the day it is totally doable.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jesse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Gerente at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Jesse M,


We thank you for your positive review and only regret you had just one day to spend with us. Just to update you the access to Villa Blanca has been through lots of repairs lately, yet driving at night anywhere in the countryside is not recommended besides missing out on the incredible scenery. Hope you consider retuning for more great hospitality with a Greentique Vacation experience.


Regards,

Joxan Obando
Operations Manager
Greentique Hotels


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

Just getting there is an experience especially if you’re driving to get there. We used Google Maps as our navigation tool which did not prove to work the best. The signage to make a turn coming from San Ramon was poorly posted and we missed it. Once you make a turn into the road leading directly to the hotel you have signs showing up regularly. The access road is only partly paved, expect many potholes and the speed under 25 miles per hour. Some of the parts tend to be steep, including the access to and from the main access road.

The property overall has a very nice park like setting. Chalet living. No AC, ceiling fan. Heat from fire place. No TV. Small fridge. Iron. Safe with key, no key was provided. Old fashioned door key, can get two.

At restaurant Beer $7, bottle of wine $41, glass $8. Tasty dinner, well prepared. Breakfast buffet with a decent selection of choices. Cheese made from milk produced on location, same with vegetables. Custom omelette available.

Polite and friendly crew with decent English. They seemed like they really tried to make our visit a positive experience.

What distorted overall positive experience was that early in the morning our smoke alarm went off with three consecutive beeps every two seconds. When we reported this at the front desk we were told it was probably a battery. I told it was not, the alarm was on. They promised to come and fix it but nobody did show up before we left.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mcland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Dear McLand2,


Thank you for taking the time to share your enjoyable stay with us in Villa Blanca. We are sorry you were lost momentarily with Google and glad you arrived to a welcomed
stay with us in the clouds of Los Angeles. We wondered about your observation of a set of beeps that was unusual with our type of smoke detectors. What we discovered after your check out by the maid was the beeps again and it turns out there was a cricket in your room that she carefully set free. Life as we know it in the tropics. Please accept our apologies.



Sincerely,


Jim Damalas
Founder/CEO
Greentique Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

We love the place so much we wish we could have stayed longer. Kudos to Cesar, our driver to Villa Blanca and to Arenal, you don’t need a professional guide if you’re with him. Evelyn at the reception and Roland at the restaurant make all your requests possible. The guides are very passionate on what they do and will make you appreciate the beauty of nature more.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 551jennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Gerente at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Dear 551jennifer,


We want you to know that the next time you are in Costa Rica please come and stay with us as long as you want. Thank you for your encouraging review and we will make sure to let Cesar know how much you appreciated his guiding and driving skills.


Regards,


Joxan Obando
Operations Manager
Greentique Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

This is our first visit to Costa Rica and our first night was at this beautiful and tranquil hotel some 90 minutes from the airport off the beaten track! There was a warm welcome for us from the moment we arrived from the excellent and friendly team there who could not have been more helpful. The standard of food is excellent most of the produce of which is locally sourced. The breakfast is delicious and the homemade yoghurt a 'must' as the 5 cows on the property are responsible for it together with the cheeses!! There are some great trails on the property you can explore on your own which will take you to the beautiful chapel and also to the greenhouses responsible for Villa Blanca's delicious vegetables! Do ask to be shown the humming Bird trail which is not marked on the hotel's map! A really ideal calm start to all the sightseeing that follows!

Room Tip: Some of the casitas are a little distance from the hotel on a slight hill and if it is raining, one nearer the hotel maybe better.
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SCBexhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Gerente at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Dear SCBexhill,


Thank you for your appreciation of our attentive staff and menus of fresh local ingredients plus our very own and special celebrity cows. I will be sure that the next map issue of the property includes the new location of our Hummingbird gardens. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again with a Greentique Vacation in any of our beautiful locations in Costa Rica.


Regards,


Joxan Obando
Operations Manager
Greentique Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

My fiancée and I arrived here in the evening on our first day in Costa rica. Met with a refreshing towel and a cocktail before being escorted to our honeymoon suite.
The hotel is amazing. Full of character but more importantly the staff are encouraged to be themselves rather than use a script.
The food in the restaurant is superb, blending traditional Costa Rican fare with modern techniques. Julio and Sofia in particular were amazing.
The hotel emphasises the need to protect the environment. You can walk on the trails and not see another person but enjoy the wildlife.
A trip to the research station is well worth it. We walked in and we're treated to an hour withe the gentleman who works there, including allowing us to make the syrup and feed the humming birds

The best bit was our wedding, meticulously planned by Juan Carlos. He even managed to arrange the weather for us. From start to finish it was amazing. The chapel is a beautiful venue and the flowers chose by Juan Carlos were beautiful. Even though it was just the two of us, the staff arranged a private dining experience and we even had the hotel owner, Jeff, come and wish us well.

We left with heavy hearts as I doubt anything could top the time we had there. The vision and passion of the management and staff to support the environment and provide an amazing experience shines through all that this hotel offers. First class accommodation. Amazing food, amazing background and an ethos to be admired.

I will most definitely return with my now wife.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stewart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Dear Stewart,


What a pleasure it was for all of us at Villa Blanca to host you for your stay and especially your wedding vows. Your interest in our conservation efforts and recognition of our commitment to sharing our own ethos of Costa Rican hospitality was very
much appreciated. We look forward to the opportunity to hosting you both again with Greentique Hotels.



With best regards,


Jim Damalas
Founder/CEO
Greentique Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews