We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Ramon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

Absolutely lively place and very enchanting to be staying in the midst of the clouds in the cloud forest.
The rooms look exactly like the pictures (which can’t be said very often) and we really enjoyed the jacuzzi in their honeymoon suites. The fireplace and rocking chairs was perfect for setting a romantic and cosy mood (although lighting the fire was a challenge as the logs were humid from the surroundings).
The rooms even have dehumidifiers which is the first and only time we saw this in Costa Rica.
Some reviewers mention the condition of the road leading up to the hotel - having experienced some challenging roads during our trip, this was a walk in the park. You can easily drive there with a normal car!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank c-krogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear c-krogh,



We thank you for your review about your enchanting experience within the cloud forest of El Silencio de Los Angeles and the Nature Reserve. Glad our website was accurate and that you found those last few kilometers of country road both scenic and comfortable to get there with out a formable challenge.



Regards,

Jim Damalas
Greentique Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 1,170 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2017

We were only at Villa Blanca for 1 night, but they (especially Julio in the kitchen) made us feel like family. You're greeted at the front gate with a warm towel and a welcome drink to start your stay off on the right foot. The restaurant is great (a bit pricey, but standard for this kind of hotel in CR), and the food was delicious. They use ingredients from their gardens and cows, so you know it's super fresh.

Definitely recommend going to milk the cows in the morning, it was a highlight of our stay at the property.

One piece of advice is to try and get there in the daylight. Like many reviewers stated, the road to the hotel is very bumpy, long, and foggy. It can be a bit daunting at night time, but in the day it is totally doable.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jesse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Gerente at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Jesse M,


We thank you for your positive review and only regret you had just one day to spend with us. Just to update you the access to Villa Blanca has been through lots of repairs lately, yet driving at night anywhere in the countryside is not recommended besides missing out on the incredible scenery. Hope you consider retuning for more great hospitality with a Greentique Vacation experience.


Regards,

Joxan Obando
Operations Manager
Greentique Hotels


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

Just getting there is an experience especially if you’re driving to get there. We used Google Maps as our navigation tool which did not prove to work the best. The signage to make a turn coming from San Ramon was poorly posted and we missed it. Once you make a turn into the road leading directly to the hotel you have signs showing up regularly. The access road is only partly paved, expect many potholes and the speed under 25 miles per hour. Some of the parts tend to be steep, including the access to and from the main access road.

The property overall has a very nice park like setting. Chalet living. No AC, ceiling fan. Heat from fire place. No TV. Small fridge. Iron. Safe with key, no key was provided. Old fashioned door key, can get two.

At restaurant Beer $7, bottle of wine $41, glass $8. Tasty dinner, well prepared. Breakfast buffet with a decent selection of choices. Cheese made from milk produced on location, same with vegetables. Custom omelette available.

Polite and friendly crew with decent English. They seemed like they really tried to make our visit a positive experience.

What distorted overall positive experience was that early in the morning our smoke alarm went off with three consecutive beeps every two seconds. When we reported this at the front desk we were told it was probably a battery. I told it was not, the alarm was on. They promised to come and fix it but nobody did show up before we left.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mcland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Dear McLand2,


Thank you for taking the time to share your enjoyable stay with us in Villa Blanca. We are sorry you were lost momentarily with Google and glad you arrived to a welcomed
stay with us in the clouds of Los Angeles. We wondered about your observation of a set of beeps that was unusual with our type of smoke detectors. What we discovered after your check out by the maid was the beeps again and it turns out there was a cricket in your room that she carefully set free. Life as we know it in the tropics. Please accept our apologies.



Sincerely,


Jim Damalas
Founder/CEO
Greentique Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

We love the place so much we wish we could have stayed longer. Kudos to Cesar, our driver to Villa Blanca and to Arenal, you don’t need a professional guide if you’re with him. Evelyn at the reception and Roland at the restaurant make all your requests possible. The guides are very passionate on what they do and will make you appreciate the beauty of nature more.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 551jennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Gerente at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Dear 551jennifer,


We want you to know that the next time you are in Costa Rica please come and stay with us as long as you want. Thank you for your encouraging review and we will make sure to let Cesar know how much you appreciated his guiding and driving skills.


Regards,


Joxan Obando
Operations Manager
Greentique Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

This is our first visit to Costa Rica and our first night was at this beautiful and tranquil hotel some 90 minutes from the airport off the beaten track! There was a warm welcome for us from the moment we arrived from the excellent and friendly team there who could not have been more helpful. The standard of food is excellent most of the produce of which is locally sourced. The breakfast is delicious and the homemade yoghurt a 'must' as the 5 cows on the property are responsible for it together with the cheeses!! There are some great trails on the property you can explore on your own which will take you to the beautiful chapel and also to the greenhouses responsible for Villa Blanca's delicious vegetables! Do ask to be shown the humming Bird trail which is not marked on the hotel's map! A really ideal calm start to all the sightseeing that follows!

Room Tip: Some of the casitas are a little distance from the hotel on a slight hill and if it is raining, one...
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SCBexhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villablanca2011, Gerente at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Dear SCBexhill,


Thank you for your appreciation of our attentive staff and menus of fresh local ingredients plus our very own and special celebrity cows. I will be sure that the next map issue of the property includes the new location of our Hummingbird gardens. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again with a Greentique Vacation in any of our beautiful locations in Costa Rica.


Regards,


Joxan Obando
Operations Manager
Greentique Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ramon
19.7 km away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
711 reviews
40 km away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
902 reviews
40.2 km away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.4 km away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,319 reviews
38 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,374 reviews
38.1 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Address: El Silencio de Los Angeles | Los Angeles Norte, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Canton of San Ramon > San Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Ramon
Price Range: €94 - €236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just over an hour's drive from San Jose International Costa Rica airport (SJO), eco-minded travelers from all over the world have reveled in the beauty of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel, located within the Los Angeles Private Biological Nature Reserve & Research Station in the Canton of San Ramon. The hotel is ideally situated as a gateway to Arenal Volcano and the famous Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Here, you're immersed in one of the world's most precious and complex jungle ecosystems - the cloud forest. This boutique mountain hotel is nestled on 75-acres of gentle rolling hills, with well-appointed "casitas" and Honeymoon Suites, each with their own fireplace, and surrounded by acres of lush botanical gardens. Originally owned by former president Rodrigo Carazo Odio and First Lady, Estrella Zeledon de Carazo, Villa Blanca has become a renown and cherished Costa Rica destination. The architecture reflects the original farm village concept, with a welcoming Hacienda, offering guests exceptional Costa Rican hospitality, premier dining, a private theater, conference facilities, and pampering spa menu. Also quite unique is a replica of a 14th century Roman wedding chapel, La Mariana, with its hand painted ceramic ceiling. Choose from a variety of nature-based activities, including horseback, zip-lines, and user-friendly guided trials, plus excursions to Arenal and Poas volcanoes, hot springs, and rural-cultural tours. This is the Costa Rica where those who "travel well and travel right" want to go. Please feel free to visit our sister-site, one of the most prestigious Manuel Antonio hotels, Si Como No. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blanca Cloud Forest
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel And Nature Reserve Costa Rica/San Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing