We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and great for the soul”
Review of Orca Island Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orca Island Cabins
Ranked #11 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Reviewed 28 June 2016

What a stunning, magical place. Dennis, Susan and family have created a incredibly special place in their tiny nook within Resurrection Bay, and we are lucky that they share this with us. Stress melts away the moment you step onto the dock at the cabins. The views and wildlife you experience are spectacular - we were lucky to see otters (swimming under our deck), Sasha the seal (again - under our deck), sea lion, porpoises, and a resident humpback whale (feet from our deck), all from our private perch. The yurts are so comfortable, cozy and thoughtfully organized and designed. We stayed for two nights, and will stay longer for our next stay in 2017. Book your trip, arrive, turn off (everything! not that you'll have cell service anyway :) ), and let the peaceful atmosphere sink into your soul.

Room Tip: Remember food! You need to cook; we used the grill, it was great. Be aware that there is limited/no...
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis and Susa... S, Owner at Orca Island Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

We are happy that you experienced so much during your stay with us at the island. Wildlife viewings, which vary from day to day, were plentiful during your visit. We are always delighted when our guests have the kind of experience you had. Thanks for visiting with us and hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Orca Island Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2016

The setting was ideal for a getaway - we hiked, paddleboarded, kayaked and took long afternoon naps. A whale breached 30 feet from our kayak one evening - the memory of a lifetime. The perfect combination of comfort and connection to the out-of-doors. Our hosts were helpful but not overbearing - you could really feel alone but have the security and comfort of a family at your fingertips.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Puffin Yurt, and thought the view was fantastic - and just far enough from the sout...
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank thelibrarylady2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis and Susa... S, Owner at Orca Island Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Appreciate your comments on your visit with us at the island. A whale surfacing 30 feet from you while kayaking is clearly a very special and memorable experience. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016

What a remarkable place. The care and attention the Swiderski family has put into creating this Resurrection Bay haven is apparent not only in the lodgings and amenities, but in the way they have respected the natural habitat that surrounds the property. We travel regularly and have been fortunate to have countless experiences — from the most rustic to the most luxurious — and this is a wonderful mix of both. This has been one of our favorite travel experiences to-date. We only hope to return again one day soon!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with this experience. Any yurt would offer great accomodation.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dinizgj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis and Susa... S, Owner at Orca Island Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

We value your comments which support the approach we have taken in developing our island property. Happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you visit with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016

I spent two nights here the first week of June and it was a wonderful place to unwind, kayak and spend some quality time with my oldest son. (My son lives in Denver and I live in Anchorage.) The views are spectacular and the accommodations are clean and comfortable; however the real attraction is Resurrection Bay. The natural beauty, abundant wildlife and stress-free environment make this an ideal escape for anyone who lives in Alaska or is just visiting. Kudo's to the owners for providing such a magical place to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis and Susa... S, Owner at Orca Island Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Thank you for your comments. Glad that you had the opportunity to visit the island with your son. Hope you have the opportunity to visit with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a mini vacay for Memorial Day weekend. Stayed 3 nights and it was AMAZING!!! Gorgeous scenery, abundant wildlife all around, hiking, kayaking...just some of the awesome things to enjoy. Also great place to unplug/de-stress & RELAX. We hope to make it back this summer. Highly, highly recommended!!!!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank EMILY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan S, Manager at Orca Island Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Thank you for writing such a complimentary review about our property. We appreciate the time you have taken to let other travelers know how much you enjoyed Orca Island Cabins. Our property is only made more unique and special by the amazing people that find us, stay with us, and write about us. Thank you for choosing us for your weekend getaway. We look forward to your next visit!

Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
17.8 km away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,082 reviews
16.0 km away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
580 reviews
15.9 km away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 km away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
800 reviews
21.0 km away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
42.3 km away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orca Island Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orca Island Cabins

Address: Humpy Cove, Resurrection Bay, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Price Range: €516 - €609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Orca Island Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique place to stay when visiting Seward Alaska, our nightly rental cabins are comfortable accommodations in a remote setting. Our rates include a 30 minute scenic cruise to the property from Seward as well as all the equipment use including kayaks, stand up paddle boards, rowing skiffs, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Orca Island Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orca Island Cabins Hotel Seward
Orca Island Cabins Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing