We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pool Area”
Review of Kona Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kona Reef Resort
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This is a nice place right on the strip. Pool area is amazing and rooms are fairly furnished and nice. One problem is quiet time starts at 9pm and if you make a peep, security stalks and harasses you. Besides that everything else is pretty good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chad p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 349 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

The condo was the perfect fit for our holiday vacation in Kona. Easy 5 minute walking distance from downtown Kailua-Kona and great view of the ocean and sunset. If you want to party all night, look fabulous with a constant martini in your hand or ogle at bikini clad or muscle bound bodies don't go here but if you want to relax, be around normal people that respect others and the regular condo rules this place is perfect. You can cook your own meal and barbecue with all the tools you may need in the well stocked kitchens. We were most impressed with the facilities cleaning staff that kept the pool area and other outdoor places immaculate looking. I saw several whales in the distance from the lanai and Kona is the perfect place to be the home base for exploring the rest of the big island.

Room Tip: The one bed sleeps 4 people easy but the walls are quite thin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JOtterDPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We booked this not knowing anything about it other than reading from various websites. We were VERY lucky. Great place to stay, lovely apartment, top floor, great views, clean, well equipped, and met some really great people. Super pool, on the beach, walking distance to restaurants, yet in a nice quiet spot. There are notices everywhere around the condo asking people to respect quiet times of 10.00pm to 8.00am and we heard nothing.
Girl in the office was a bit grumpy! Grumpy-she wants to try living in England-THEN she'd be grumpy!!It was great.
Val Derbyshire England.

Room Tip: Maybe ocean front, top floor, but any really, Maybe I wouldn't go for lower than floor 2, only b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank valhackett30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed here for 9 days in December, 2011 and it was an absolutely wonderful experience.
The property is well kept, clean, convenient to town, quiet, and has beach and surfing access as well as a lovely pool, cabana area and hot tub. The sunsets were incredible as was the staff and the amenities. Condos are fully furnished (ours had a Murphy bed - super convenient!) and kitchens are fully stocked with whatever you might need to help you cook. There are lovely ceiling fans in the bedroom and main room and screens on the patio and entry doors to let the breezes in. A lovely dining set on the balcony made for nice meals on the terrace. There are beach towels, and gear, snorkeling, boogie boards, loungers, umbrellas - whatever you need that you may check out for the day for a nominal fee (some are free). They also provide personal guides who will meet with you in the cabana area and recommend tours either guided or on your own as well as guide books and personal recommendations - no charge and no pressure. We stayed in two different rooms, one right on the ocean side with incredible views and breezes. The other on an upper floor with amazing breezes and a lovely view of the beach and the ocean. We did not have one complaint or one thing we would change - except for staying longer. Kudos to the Castle Kona Reef for their wonderful property, incredibly helpful staff and copious amenities. We LOVED it.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view, pick ocean view rooms, or get a room on the second floor or higher. The i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank maidenmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our week in this condo. I did a lot of my own cooking and every time I thought of a took or utensil I would need, it was there! The beach supplies were plentiful too. The condo has windows/doors perfectly situated for crosswinds. We enjoyed the perfect ocean/sunset views every night and hearing the waves while we slept. We were close enough to walk to town and far enough away to avoid the crowds.

The only drawback was the decreased security from being on the ground level. Anyone could jump over the short wall and tear a screen to enter so we never left the doors open at night. Also the front door only had a simple lock. We were not given a key to the dead bolt lock so we couldn't lock it that one when we left.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank terwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.6 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.6 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,937 reviews
7.5 km away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#9 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
828 reviews
8.2 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Reef Resort

Address: 75-5888 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: €142 - €370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kona Reef is an oceanfront condominium resort adjacent to a sandy beach park in historic Kailua-Kona and near quaint shops and restaurants. One- and two-bedroom suites offer full-kitchens, FREE WiFi, and ocean or garden views. Amenities include an oceanfront swimming pool, jet spa, and a cabana with barbecue area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kona Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kona Reef Hotel Kailua-Kona
Castle Kona Reef Kailua
Kona Reef Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing