We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$286
View deal
Hotels.comUS$286
PricelineUS$286
Expedia.comUS$286
CheapTicketsUS$286
Orbitz.comUS$286
TravelocityUS$286
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
41
9
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
41
9
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese tea house watching the birds other guests tropical paradise breakfast was amazing every morning amazing hosts made to order omelets yogurt the big island hot tub kona coffee enjoyed our stay stay there again watch the sunset miriam banyan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2020

This is a super nice B&B, quick check in and staff is super friendly. We enjoyed our stay very much. You feel like in a huge jungle - extraordinary experience for the whole family. We‘ll be back soooooon! ✌

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Worldtraveler197888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave and Miriam Cariveau, Owner at Hale Maluhia Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2020

Aloha World Traveler,
So glad you made it to this part of the world. Hope to see you again!
Dave & Miriam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2020

Perched ~5 mins up above Kona is this quaint - different B&B. The B&B consists of several buildings connected to porches, patios, and even a hot tub to the central house. The room we had was spacious with a full kitchen and shared outside deck. Breakfast was deliciously custom prepared to your desires by the charming and friendly hostess. Entertainment was provided by the clutch of local chickens who wandered the grounds and raided the bird feeder.
Stay alert it's easy to miss the driveway if coming from above on the narrow twisty road.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave and Miriam Cariveau, Owner at Hale Maluhia Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2020

Aloha Don,
Thanks for staying with us!
Dave & Miriam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2020

What a wonderful place to come and relax. This is the perfect place to enjoy quiet time, making new friends, sight seeing and more. Miriam and Dave are the warmest hosts one could ask for. My friend and I had wonderful breakfasts in the mornings and enjoyed making new friends with other guests. I am so happy we stayed at this place and will be coming back here the next time we come to Kona. Thank you and Miriam and Dave for a memorable trip to your inn.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank rollerrevenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave and Miriam Cariveau, Owner at Hale Maluhia Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2020

We are happy to have made your trip memorable!
Dave & Miriam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2020 via mobile

We got everything we expected from this quirky Inn.

Hale Maluhia is not for everyone, but for our purposes it satisfied completely.

We stayed in the Pikaki Room. Very comfortable bed. The room had a microwave and refrigerator and sink.

The breakfast is one of the best we have had anywhere! We are used to having an early start time, but their spread is worth waiting until 8 am.

Dave and Miriam are excellent hosts, we felt like we were guests in someone's private home (which it is).

The grounds are beautifully landscaped.
Even though the buildings look older from the exterior, the insides were nicely renovated and immaculate. (No spider webs anywhere!)

Finally, the location is ideal for exploring the local sightseeing attractions. We liked the area, at a higher elevation which has less humid weather than Kona or Kohala coastal areas.

We could watch the sunset at nearby Holualoa village, only 3/4 mile away.
Kona village was only 3 miles down the hill.

We loved the rural flavor of this place, the sound of chickens, roosters and Coquitlam frogs.

Highly recommended!!!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave and Miriam Cariveau, Owner at Hale Maluhia Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2020

Aloha Matt,
Thanks for your recommendation!
Dave & Miriam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2020

We stayed there for many nights and enjoyed the hospitality (from hosts and guests) and great breakfasts every morning: plenty of Kona coffee, fruit, breads and great omelets. The Pikaki room is very accessible and has enough utensils for eating simple meals there or on the patio. Some might find the accommodations rustic and there is some night time noise from cars & frogs (our room had a fan we used on high speed and didn't have any problems sleeping). We did enjoy our stay there!

Date of stay: February 2020
1  Thank SE_MN_warmth_seekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave and Miriam Cariveau, Owner at Hale Maluhia Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2020

Thank you for staying with us!
Dave & Miriam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews