We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property and Great Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hale Maluhia Country Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2008

The Hale Maluhia Country Inn was the first B&B we stayed at on our 1-week Big Island trip (for 2 nights). We got there after a 6-night stay at a hotel in Honolulu so you could imagine how we loved this place. It was so different. It was a beautiful property, quiet and peaceful. 'The breakfast was delicious and plentiful, you made your own omelete and there was lots of fresh fruit. We we had our breakfast, we were watching some hens running around in the property (guaranteed fresh eggs), the bird feeder attracted some beautiful birds to come too. It was just so relaxing. Also, Ken and his staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ellenklhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 255 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2008

We just got back from our stay in Kona, and one of the highlights was our b and b.

The breakfast was excellent, homemade breads and plenty of fresh fruit, you can make your own omelet and on the second day we had crepes cooked for us by Ken, the owner.

Beauitiful rain forest landscape lots of wildlife, turkeys, chickens, birds. very quiet and calm.

We stayed in the Malia and Makua rooms which left us in the main house by ourselves as there are no other rooms in this building.

Please note that the road up to the inn is narrow and winding. Our stay here spoiled us for our next b and b which had a much more hotel room feel and the breakfasts could not even compare!!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ewok99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

A very wonderful place to spent some days of vacation! Location is great, but the atmosphere is gorgeous! Ken and Sue made us feel like at home. Very nice, polite and easy people.
The breakfast is great and you can eat homemade bread and fresh eggs just sit down in the porch with music around and flowers and plants everywhere.
Hope to come back sooner or later!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Pedra70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2008

The stay here was absolutely fantastic! Ken and Sue and everyone else that worked and stayed there made it so homely and friendly and couldn't do enough to help us have the most amazing stay.

It was peaceful and waking up to the most amazing breakfast with the most amazing views was awesome, I can not rate it highly enough. If we come back which I hope we will next year, we would definately stay here again!

Thankyou Ken, Sue and co for a wonderful stay.

One bit of advice not for staying here particuarly but fo the whole island, get a rental car, it makes life a lot lot easier.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SteveYvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

My husband and I stayed there for two nights. Ken, Sue and the staffs are very friendly and helpful. The room is clean and cozy. Breakfast is delicious. We really enjoyed our stay and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pig2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
4.6 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
4.5 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Ohi'a Park Estate
Ohi'a Park Estate
#2 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
182 reviews
3.5 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,959 reviews
4.7 km away
Big Island Retreat
Big Island Retreat
#3 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Maluhia Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Maluhia Country Inn

Address: 76-770 Hualalai Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-9776
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: €116 - €207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Maluhia Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Virtual Kona Coffee Plantation of five rooms and two cottages in country comfort. Exceptional Breakfast Lovers Buffet and DIY omelet bar, fresh fruit, fresh bread baked daily, pure Kona coffee and bird watching. Relax to sage advice, friendly prices, broadband wireless, good beds, private baths and a gentle touch of aloha from old Hawai'i along the road less traveled. Just 3 miles south of Kailua-Kona and 11 miles south of the Kona International Airport (KOA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hale Maluhia Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Maluhia Country Inn (House Of Peace) Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Country Inn Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Country Inn
Hale Maluhia Country Inn Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing