We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage and quirky place to stay in Kona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hale Maluhia Country Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This B&B is located up the hill from the main beachfront and town of Kailua-Kona. It's a couple of miles away so a car is essential.

It is a converted and sprawling older house with extra rooms added adjacent. If you are looking for sleek and new, look elsewhere. This place is stuck in the 50s/60s in terms of decor. Vintage, but not worn out, and quite clean considering this. We stayed in the Mahlia room for 3 nights. Dated though functional decor abounds. The bathroom was also functional and clean and had an interesting pink shower over bathtub with the weirdest hot/cold/on/off tap I have ever encountered in my many travels.

Others noted noise issues. Yes there are some coqui frogs but not many during our stay. A malfunctioning rooster who crowed at 1am, 2am, 3am was our issue. As chickens and turkeys free range on the property I expected some nighttime noise. But that rooster should quickly become someones dinner!

Breakfasts are as good as others note. But if you are staying in one of the rooms in the main house like the Mahlia, expect lots of kitchen noise from 7am. Staff and others rattling plates and talking loudly can be annoying to those wanting a sleep-in. You do that on holidays right? Sound-proofing is non-existent in the main house.

The caretaker Jason was very friendly and plays a decent guitar too. There is a music room in the main house for guests to use which also includes a piano and acoustic guitar.

Overall the place is fine for those on a budget and don't care about having everything new. If you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camnicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 181 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed here for three nights of our Christmas vacation. I wished we would have stayed longer. We stayed in the Tea House. The bathroom was not quite complete at the time of our stay, but it was not a big deal. We were given a private bathroom in the main house a few steps away.

The breakfast was FANTASTIC! Fresh fruits, homemade bread, cook-your-own omelets with eggs from the chickens on the property.

Great location. A short distance to everything in the Kona area. Lovely location. Some street noise (the windows to the Tea House are paper, so not very noise reducing).

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herpichs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I stayed here last February. My partner and I stayed in the Japanese Tea house which is behind the main Inn - it is the most private room since it is seperate and the cost per night is very affordable. There was some traffic noise as this property sits on a sort of peninsula of land with a road that winds around two-thirds of it; it's not a super busy road at all but nonetheless it's good to know that going into it. The hosts were very nice and easy to talk to; one day she made me a coffee ice shake which was so great since it was hot outside and I didn't want hot coffee.
The breakfast! Oh my! The assortment of fresh fruit, breads, juices and the make your own omelet station was heaven. Plus they have outdoor seating where you can enjoy it - this was one of my favorite parts of our stay here.
I would diffinitely come back to Hale Maluhia Country Inn if I visit the Big Island again.

Room Tip: Choose the tea garden, it's affordable and the most private option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZingerSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

My husband and I travelled for 12 days and visited three islands last week. Our best night ever was at the Hale Mauhai Country Inn. The rooms were clean and beds amazingly comfortable, the breakfast was 5 Star, and the location central to lots of activity, but the best part was the wonderful feeling and energy which surrounded the property. The staff encouraged us to "make yourself at home" and we did..by enjoying the grand piano and watching a DVD from the large collection in the library. There were lots of birds, and great sounds and smells. I never write reviews, but this is one place that I had to recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westfrankfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed for a week and really loved it. The breakfast were great, omlets, fresh fruit, bread and juices. They did a great job of customer service. The location is perfect, it was nice to not have to pack up everyday and go to a different loaction and still be able to visit every place on the island. I would recomend this to anyone. It is clean, safe and the hot tub worked just fine.

Room Tip: The Pikiki romm was nice. 5t has a fridge, sink and microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
4.6 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
4.5 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Ohi'a Park Estate
Ohi'a Park Estate
#2 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
182 reviews
3.5 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,961 reviews
4.7 km away
Big Island Retreat
Big Island Retreat
#3 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Maluhia Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Maluhia Country Inn

Address: 76-770 Hualalai Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-9776
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: €116 - €208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Maluhia Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Virtual Kona Coffee Plantation of five rooms and two cottages in country comfort. Exceptional Breakfast Lovers Buffet and DIY omelet bar, fresh fruit, fresh bread baked daily, pure Kona coffee and bird watching. Relax to sage advice, friendly prices, broadband wireless, good beds, private baths and a gentle touch of aloha from old Hawai'i along the road less traveled. Just 3 miles south of Kailua-Kona and 11 miles south of the Kona International Airport (KOA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hale Maluhia Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Maluhia Country Inn (House Of Peace) Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Country Inn Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Country Inn
Hale Maluhia Country Inn Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing