We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great sunsets!”

Manini'owali Beach (Kua Bay)
Ranked #6 of 129 things to do in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
southport, ct
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great sunsets!”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Hang with the locals on this beautiful easy to access white sand beach

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank cindy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    759
    216
    25
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our Fav on the Big Island”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Hard to describe heaven on earth but, that's pretty much what you get here....we love most of the beaches on Kona, but, this one holds a special place in our hearts.....you should have 'water shoes' when you go there since you have to walk over lava rock to get to Paradise :)

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravlinStarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“super beach”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

It has showers and bathroom, short walk to beach, great swimming, wonderful view of Maui. Not the beach to snorkel at.
short walk from car to beach

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank lucy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach - our favorite on the big island”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We arrived mid morning and had no trouble finding parking, but when we left mid afternoon, the cars were lined on both sides of the road and good ways from the lot. So, get here early. When we first arrived, we saw dolphins off shore. There was a snorkel boat nearby and a group was out in the water near the dolphins. Kua Bay is a really lovely beach. The water is a beautiful Caribbean turquoise color and the sand is soft and white. The snorkeling here is pretty good too – once you get out past where the sand is churned up. The waves were kind of big, but once you got out past the break, it was fine. The good snorkeling is off to the right of the beach. It really isn't known for its snorkeling.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank redbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best white sand beach in Kona”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We LOVE LOVE LOVE this beach. Beautiful blue water, powder white sand, and fun snorkeling out near the rocks when the waves are not up. You have to get there early or late to avoid the weekend or holiday crowds..otherwise, you are parking far away. Showers available and if you can grab the picnic tables they have shade and you can have a party there.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manini'owali Beach (Kua Bay) also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Manini'owali Beach (Kua Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing