We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Remote and Quiet”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
wood stove for thoses cooler nights washer dryer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
wood stove for thoses cooler nights
washer dryer
surrounding forest
Tropical flower abound!
Jackson cameleon in the forest
Surrounded by Ohia forest
orchids love this climate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
J w
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Remote and Quiet”
Reviewed 18 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for a quiet out of the way place look no farther. The house is on private property very near the Mountain Thunder Coffee Plantation and the Kona Cloud Forest. It is a nicely appointed 2 bedroom cottage with 1 bath. The shower is huge. The front room has a wood burning fireplace if you feel cold up in the rain forest. The beds are comfy. There is a washer/dryer. It's a bit of a drive to any restuarants so it's best to do your grocery shopping before you arrive. Everything is provided for cooking. Microwave, coffeepot, toaster. all utensils. The kitchen, dining and front rooms are all one big room. Nice big TV. The coffee table is a work of art but watch your step. I broke my toe as we were leaving on the big "root" part that sticks out and if you're not careful it will get you every time. Just something to be aware of, not a negative. You'll have use of a cooler for the day. Boogie boards if you want and other miscellanous items. The hosts, Bill and Kathryn, are very warm and available if you need them. The resident cat, Ollie" is also warm and friendly. He likes to say hi and will invite himself in if you don't mind. He'll stay for a bit enjoying his ear scratching and back petted but will depart after a bit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2018
Sorry to hear about your toe Judy. That redwood burl was found on a beach in Northern Ca and Bill turned it into the coffe table. I hoped you heal quickly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culture72...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very different view of Hawaii.”
Reviewed 5 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage is set on a bushy mountainside a short drive from Kona. It is so quiet and peaceful - a great place to recharge the batteries. Take a walk up the road and find all the amazing fruits, flowers and plants that grow on this island.
It is obvious the cottage has been made by a skilled craftsman using beautiful timbers and many unique design elements. The furnishings are comfortable and add to the calm homely character of the cottage.
We certainly enjoyed our short stay and would recommend the cottage to other travelers.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa V
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Tropical Mountain Escape”
Reviewed 1 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We chose this place because of it's location: first, it is well positioned for adventures all over the island. Second, it is located on a mountainside, which makes it significantly cooler than comparable properties in Kona. We beat the heat every night and it was the perfect refuge when we needed a break from the sun! In addition, this spacious cottage is beautiful and has a comfortable, welcoming vibe. Kathryn and Bill are both super nice and even though they share the property, they gave us our space. We only saw them upon arrival, and then only working around the upper yard (away from the cabin) as we drove past. All in all, it was a wonderful stay and we are grateful to have had such a fabulous home base during our honeymoon. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again! Thank you, Kathryn and Bill, for such a lovely vacation space.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronBrun...
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful & comfortable tropical escape”
Reviewed 1 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here during our honeymoon and it was phenomenal! The house is spacious and comfy, and we felt welcome during our entire stay. It's better than the pictures and the outdoor bathtub is often. Best of all, the mountainside home is perfect for escaping the heat and sleeping in cooler temperatures. We kept the bedroom windows open so we could fall asleep to the frogs and wake to the birds. The location is perfect for exploring Kona and Kohala, and we had many adventures all over the island with this as our home base. Kathryn and Bill were both super nice, and Ollie the friendly cat checked on us a few times. All in all, wonderful place. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig I
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“everything we wanted”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great place to stay, fully equipped and ready. Great area, private but not far from all facilities, able to hit the beach, then retreat up the hill cool off!
Thanks to Bill and Kathryn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing