We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hostile Hostle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koa Wood Hale - Patey's Place Hostel
Aptos, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The hostile Hostle”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

The accommodations were adequate and the "volunteer" staff was friendly but the manager Zero was just a rude and unpleasent. he yelled and cursed at the father of the other person sharing our unit for not observing "quite" time even though we couldn't hear him in our room right across from them. He was also very rude. I would never stay here again. for $14 more we had a great place to stay at the Kona Islander Inn.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    35
    5
    9
    19
See reviews for
2
20
55
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

My friend and I only spent one night at Patey's Place, and it was good for us. Free parking, free wifi, good info, fairly friendly staff. I really enjoyed the hammock which was perfect for doing a little reading. We stayed in a dorm room which was fine but nothing special. I would probably not stay longer than a night or two again, but I would return.

Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RunsAmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The people there were great and I had a great stay....UNTIL I found bed bugs in my luggage upon leaving. When I called to confront the manager about this she was very unhelpful and denied any responsibility for the bed bugs and any chance of them being there, despite one employee telling me they had had experiences with them recently.
So all in all, if I had left bed bug free I would have been happy, but once I had a problem (one that cost me almost $1000 in replacing items I had to throw away) it was very clear that the person in charge was only amicable to paying customers who had no problems, but was unwilling to help my situation and contact the owner on my behalf.

I would never want anyone to go through this experience.

Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank holybillybatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Lots of rules to follow but it helps A LOT to keep order. Definitely not a party hostel [no alcohol allowed on premises] but keeps the grounds quiet and peaceful. There are a lot of spiders outside and one crawled into the coed dorm room and bit my leg but it is healing nicely [bugs are just naturally drawn to me]. I was the only girl in the coed room and it wasn't a problem at all. The beds were comfy [I sleep like a rock anyhow] and the bathroom/living room were all clean. Great location for the price [25 a person plus hotel taxes] Would definitely stay again just would need some bug spray before hopping into bed. If the spider thing freaks you out, try to get the top bed farthest from the window [I slept on the lower bunk right next to the window]

Room Tip: dorms are awesome unless you NEED privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaK713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

We paid $75/night for a private room and the room was super hot and the window was busted. It felt like crashing in your ghetto friend`s spare bedroom. We`ve stayed in hostels around the world and this was one of the worst, even compared to third-world country hostels.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kk_montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.7 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,184 reviews
18.8 km away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
288 reviews
0.5 km away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.8 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 km away
Kona Islander Inn
Kona Islander Inn
#33 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Wood Hale - Patey's Place Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Wood Hale - Patey's Place Hostel

Property: Koa Wood Hale - Patey's Place Hostel
Address: 75-184 Ala Onaona St, LOOK FOR OUR TIKI TORCHES and ROPE LIGHTS, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1806
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take off your shoes and relax. Welcome to Koa Wood Hale. Our convenient location, friendly staff, and long list of extras are for your enjoyment. We have 3 dorm rooms:Mens dorm (4 beds) female only dorm (4 beds) and a coed-dorm (4 beds). Upstairs we offer 4 private rooms, 2 rooms share a space and these rooms may accomidate 1-3. Fresh Bedding and towels are provided.Free parking - wifi - computer & printer - full use kitchen and bath - t.V room with dvd player and movies - book trade - lockers - laundry facilities - maps and information - ++++ plenty of spacious common areas to meet other travelers from around the world!We are happy to loan you things you may need that we have extra of: beach towels, bags, tents, snorkel gear, sunscreen, band-aids, slippers, hats and umbrellas... Ask around or have a look on one of our community shelvesBikes and Boards for hire. Office Hours:8 a.M. To Noon (checkout by 10am)5 p.M. - 10 P.M. (Checkins) ***PLEASE NOTE***NO CHECK IN AFTER 10PM! If you can not make it by 10:00 pm you could speak with the manager in advance and we will try to get you in your room that night. Checkins before 5pm available but not before 12pm, this is so we can provide you with a clean and ready apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Koa Wood Hale - Patey's Place Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Wood Hale - Patey`s Place Hotel Kailua-Kona
Koa Wood Hale - Patey's Place Hostel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing