We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”
Review of Foster's Kitchen

Foster's Kitchen
Ranked #20 of 246 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$35
Description: Fresh from the land and sea around the big of Hawai'i, we offer locally sourced food for your enjoyment.
Restaurant details
Description: Fresh from the land and sea around the big of Hawai'i, we offer locally sourced food for your enjoyment.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stumbled upon Fosters and glad we did. If you want great service and ribs that will fall off the bone, fosters is the place. All the portions were big and very well put together. Great atmosphere and delicious food.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank 549dianed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2021

View was amazing, location is on the ocean. food was average for the four of us dining. ordered a crab cake appetizer that showed up to the table cold and came at the same time as our dinner. Im guessing it was forgot in the kitchen. They did apologize and took it off our bill. The dinner was average, Not great but not bad.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank scottsW2560CU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2021 via mobile

Had high expectations based on the fact that the restaurant is supposed to have food made locally, super fresh, and all made from scratch. The cheddar burger tasted so fishy I questioned if they had messed up the order and brought out a fish burger. Bread was stale, and tomatoes inside looked very old. Side order of fries were almost burned and completely drenched in oil. Far from "fresh".

My veggie flatbread was tiny, super greasy, half burned and tasted like a frozen pizza. My side salad was also bad, with all of the vegetables tasting and looking old.

We tried going back to give them another chance and had the same exact experience with completely different entrees. Nice location but food isn't fresh and doesn't taste good or especially live up to their claims of fresh, local, made from scratch. Prices too high for poor quality food. Dissapointing experiences both times.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank 244johannam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2021

Loved my fresh fish caught of the day dish. It was my favorite meal when visiting the island and I was there for 17 days

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank Y1774GDkateb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2021 via mobile

Foster's kitchen was incredible! Absolutely the best restaurant we've eaten at while on vacation in Kona. The staff was great, the food was even better. We had a great time sitting on the outside deck and watching the young people play volleyball while we ate our dinner.

Be sure to call ahead and make a reservation, because they're not too good at walk-ins but if you make a reservation and arrive a little early they will seat you.

Check out the small plate menu, they are quite tasty and enough to fill you up, the ribs are really good and the small plate steak was awesome.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgfhawaii, Owner at Foster's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2021

It's wonderful knowing we were a highlight to your Hawaiian vacation, John. Thank you for the kind words about our fun atmosphere and delicious offerings. You can't go wrong with our ribs and steak! We appreciate the support and hope you get the chance to return next time you're in town.

All the best,
Foster's Kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Foster's Kitchen also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Foster's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.