We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveller rating
256
154
41
10
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
256
154
41
10
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews conch shells waves crashing small hotel other guests ceiling fan rock wall continental breakfast the big island salt water pool air conditioning each morning budget hotel beach equipment boogie boards facing the ocean sunset lanai
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 487 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2020

This is a mystic place. I fed eels from the rock wall! The staff scoop out little ocean critters from the swimming pool each morning because the waves crash directly into the pool. Let's be clear, this hotel was around before Hawaii was a state. It is an special Hawaiian paradise (but old) no T.V's, rooms are older but I don't think any ocean lover would not notice or care.

Date of stay: December 2019
1  Thank Rachelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
konatikihotel, Front Desk at Kona Tiki Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2020

Thank you Rachelle, for taking the time to submit a review about the Kona Tiki Hotel. We agree. We are so blessed to be living on the edge of the ocean and on this modest sliver of Paradise. We have our quirks (no TVs and a small, but free, parking lot) so we try to make up the difference with our Aloha. Of course, Mother Nature provides all the Aloha you need here at the Kona Tiki. As I write this, we have several surfers hitting the waves just off our lanais thanks to the surge that is pounding the sea wall. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again, soon. Mahalo and aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2020

Our family planned a Christmas get together at the Kona Tiki Hotel. We wanted to share this very welcoming & special hotel on the ocean with our adult children and one year old grandson. We have been enjoying this wonderful place for ten years and couldn’t wait to let them experience the incredible staff, the ocean views and sounds, and the ambience of the BBQ dinners together poolside with the nightly ritual of lighting the tiki torches to the calls of the conch shell. Yes, this family Christmas was a great success, as they all fell in love with the Kona Tiki and will definitely be returning to continue the good times. Thank you to the staff, especially Donovan, Paul, Jenny, and Merilee (sorry if we spelled your name incorrectly!). They went above & beyond to accommodate our one-year-old grandson with a bed and bedding. You are just the best!! See you next December. Have a great year.

Date of stay: December 2019
1  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
konatikihotel, Front Desk at Kona Tiki Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2020

Awe. Mahalo, Bob, Marilyn, and to your entire family for staying with us again during the holiday, for sharing your family and stories with us, for being so kind, and for exemplifying what the Kona Tiki is all about. We are truly blessed when guests like you stay at the Kona Tiki Hotel. We wish for you an incredible year in 2020 and that everyone stays healthy, and has fun along the way. Blessings!

The Kona Tiki Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2020

Researched a lot of places to stay and choose this sweet place because of the description and it did not disappoint. We were on the second floor in room 205. Loved the rice paper, balcony doors that opened to the water. Not having air conditioning or TV wasn't a problem at all. Gave us no excuse to close us inside. Water was perfect (January). The sounds of the waves crashing right outside our room was amazing, although it did take us a night or two to get used to it and to reassure ourselves they weren't coming into our room! Beds were super comfy and the room, although small, was very clean. Ceiling fan was better once we switched it to "summer" setting so it blew the air down instead of just around. The staff was great. Very friendly and accommodating and helpful to recommend places to go for good food. Met nice guest, many who have been coming to Tiki for years. Always a good sign. Gave 4 stars because my daughter came to stay with us but they didn't have any extra roll away beds, even though we had paid for an extra person, but we made it work. Was told they will be doing a major renovation this summer. Hope not too major as it would be a shame take away the charm and nostalgia of this gem.

Room tip: We loved our 2nd story room so we could keep the doors, on our balcony, wide open all night.
Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knotenufftyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
konatikihotel, Front Desk at Kona Tiki Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2020

Aloha Knotenufftyme:

Thanks so much for taking the time to express your feedback about the Kona Tiki Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The waves crashing against the seawall definitely take some getting used to, but they sure are majestic, don't you think. We apologize about the mix-up with the extra floor mat. We always some on-hand, but they were all in use during your stay, and this simplly doesn't usually occur, but it does speak to less than excellent cooridantion on our part. We would be happy to review your charges for an extra person if you can contact us by phone or email.
Thank you for appreciating the staff aloha and our special place nestled against the sea. We equally appreciate families like yours staying at the Kona Tiki.

Merry 2020!

Mahalo,

The Kona Tiki Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2020

Fantastic location, right next to the water. Outstanding customer service. Rooms and tiny though, and they only have enough beds for three (even though their website allows you to book a room for 4!). If you are on a tight budget, the place is unmatched.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 378sergiop378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
konatikihotel, Front Desk at Kona Tiki Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2020

Thanks for taking the time to write a review 378sergiop378 and for staying with us. We agree, modest rooms with AMAZING ocean setting and views. Our renovated rooms (Summer 2020) will have 2 queen beds so 4 people can sleep comfortably. Currently, we have beds for 3 people in a room and then we provide a sleep mat for a 4th person. I am sorry if this wasn't made clear in your your booking process so I am going to make sure this is more clear in the future. Please keep us mind when you return to the Big Island and Happy New Year.

Paul and The Kona Tiki Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2020 via mobile

The nicest people!!!
Everything you need. Great location.
Let’s support nice people running business. It’s a rare gem!
Complementary breakfast. Nice salt water pool. They let you borrow a lot of things and even other guests are pleasant and nice. I think they renovating so definitely will be back!!! Thank you.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Mi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
konatikihotel, Front Desk at Kona Tiki Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2020

Aloha Mi K:

We so much enjoyed having your family with us and we are glad you enjoyed staying with us. It was so special having your daughter involved with the Tiki Torch ceremony, too. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for sharing your wonderful vibe with us. Aloha and Happy New Year.

The Kona Tiki Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews