We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,246)
Filter reviews
3,246 results
Traveller rating
2,758
288
111
61
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,758
288
111
61
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower king's pond palm grove eagle ray cultural center beach tree pool swim up bar golf course ulu restaurant adult pool cold towels the big island quiet pool moment you arrive beach house ice water our honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
981 - 986 of 3,246 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed a company trip for couples at this resort. Very welcoming staff, even got a serenade by Don on our way to the room. The partial ocean view King room was spacious, relaxing! Wonderful tub, shower and outdoor shower (ground floor). There are 4 areas, each different. All close to the beach. 2 pools, a scuba pond and a pond. So ,any ways to relax, beach chairs, lounge beds and hammocks. We enjoyed the turtles on the beach. It is isolated from Kona so you either need a car to try other restaurants in town, food is expensive, but it is a four seasons. We had an absolutely wonderful time and enjoyed a clambake on the beach, and 2 dinners with enough assortment to keep everyone happy. If you get to go you should!

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank batty2kgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016

Gorgeous landscaping, everything high quality,exceptional spa and fitness facility
I was there for the Lavaman triathlon. It was a fantastic experience all around
I especially loved the lap pool at the spa,the spinning bikes .They have TRX, outdoor rowing machines,Weight room, Yoga room,all state of the art exercise equipment. Free snacks in the spa, Poolside food and beverage service, Adult only pool as well as separate family pool for kids. Sea life lagoon, beautiful coastline,magnificent sunsets, Excellent restaurants. I don't hink you can do better.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Howard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016

Took my boys to Hualalai instead of The Four Seasons Maui this year and it was one of the best Spring Breaks yet.

The hotel is AMAZING and beyond great for my 12 year old son and my 15 year old son.

We have been to this property in the past, but not for a few year.

The service was A+, the rooms were gorgeous and the property is perfect for teen boys. We also had friends at the property who also enjoyed their trip as much as we did.

Thank you Four Seasons HUALALAI xxxx

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjk7470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

Hawaii is beautiful on its on, but the Four Seasons resort made it heaven on Earth. The resort caters to all. Kids and adult only pools. They have a pool dedicated to snorkeling, which was like swimming in an aquarium. You will randomly find sea turtles on the beach, totally cool. Lots of dining options and never had a bad meal. The staff were exceptional. Spa and workout facilities were fantastic. I didn't play golf, but it looked immaculate. Highly recommend this resort.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2016

This sums it up. I sent this to the hotel, but never heard back from them.

Our plane arrived from the Bay Area in the late morning. It was easy for us to locate the Four Seasons Hostess at the airport. She was pleasant and helped us to our bags and car. Transfer to Hotel with Richard in a local cab was excellent. Richard was delightful and started our vacation off in a good way. As a side note, Richard was there to take us back to the airport at the conclusion of our visit. He is a good guy.

We were welcomed to the hotel nicely by the valet staff. Check-in was a little less warm than other experiences we have had. Our room was far from ready, which is kind of to be expected at this time of day, but the accommodations for us were limited. There were no restaurants opened for us, so we waited in the lobby for the Beach Tree to open. And it was hot. I noticed other people going through similar experiences on other days of our stay.

Once our room was ready we were asked if we wanted a tour of the property. Our excellent host took us around and showed us everything, then introduced us to our room and handled our bags. Our experience with him was very good and we were ready to start our vacation.

To our delight, you had upgraded us to an ocean-front room near the King’s Pond. In celebration of our fifth anniversary, you also left a bottle of champagne for us. Your continued generosity with us over the years has solidified The Four Seasons for us as our go-to hotel for travel. The little things you do for us are very much appreciated and never taken for granted.

It is important to remember as you read this that we had an excellent experience overall. It was obvious throughout that the staff at the hotel was committed to us having a relaxing and enjoyable visit. A few standouts for us: Brent and Nicole at the Beach Tree restaurant, Doug, the Bartender at Ulu and Craig at the beach. We also had Steve for our server on our last night at Ulu and he was delightful. Those are the standouts, but again, it seemed like everyone was there for us. The pool and beach staff in particular.

I think when you stay at any hotel for more than a week you find little things that poke at you and that was the case with our visit. The adult pool lacks any shade during the heat of the day. And it was unseasonably hot during our stay. The way the chairs and umbrellas are set up makes it hard to dodge the sun in the afternoon. There are no cabanas here either. The bed things you have are dislocated from the pool area and seem odd. The primary location we are using for comparison here is Maui, where rentable spaces with shade are available at the adult pool and the chairs even have umbrellas that the staff will adjust for you as the day progresses.

But you have another pool that has better opportunities for shade. The only challenge with this pool is that there are no steps into the pool. One must slither off the edge, or climb up and down a ladder. Not all guests can do this. Or at least do it while remaining proud. This was probably our biggest disappointment with the facility. We were excited about this pool when we arrived, but ended up not spending any time there because of this detail.

We also felt the food was not of the quality we have received at the other two Four Seasons we have stayed at (Costa Rica once and Maui, numerous times), and local Four Seasons that we have dined at (Seattle). In fact some of it was downright poor. There were exceptions to this, of course. The NY steak, sushi, onion rings and ahi burgers were all excellent. But too many times we were let down by the food when it arrived. An example would be the lobster spaghetti, which sounds lovely on the menu, but arrives in a mucky state. The same night, my wife had the pappardelle with mushrooms and it was also average or below. Often times the cost of the food does not show up in the quality of the product.

For all the talk about being concerned about nature and the resort fitting into the landscape, we were disappointed with the lack of attention paid to the turtles when they were on the beach. It is quite obvious many hotel guests did not get the message the turtles should be left alone. Or, at the very least, given a wide berth. That is distressing to people who care about such things. We felt that a little more information about the turtles in room, or staff oversight on the beach from time to time wouldn’t require too much and might make a big difference.

We had an excellent couple’s spa treatment. Your soaking tub and both of our spa therapists were exceptional. We very much enjoyed that experience. Afterwards we talked about this and agreed that it was wonderful, with the exception of our locker room attendants. Although nice, they were both a bit rough. Mine was standing in front of the TV watching a loud NFL show when I came in to the relaxation room. He left and I muted the TV. It was back on when I left my treatment. Not really spa-like, but maybe that’s just me. The robes in the spa are all one size. In other words, the smallest guest and the largest guest are forced to wear the same size, rather than having a common area for the robes with different sizes available. This didn’t feel very spa-like either. Even in our room, there was a choice of two sizes of robes.

And finally, One of the oddest experiences happened to us. We were walking out with our binoculars to look at the Milky Way because we had noticed the clear sky on our way back from dinner. There was a couple of gentlemen with a huge telescope set up near the King’s Pond. We went over to them and I said in a jovial tone, “watcha lookin’ at?” One of them turned to me and said, “oh, we’re doing a private viewing for this couple over here,” pointing at the couple who were having dinner on the beach. “Oh, okay,” I said, and we turned to leave. Then the other guy, said, “it’s an eleven inch,” referring to the size of his telescope.

To someone that enjoys astronomy, and has never looked through an 11” telescope, that felt like a weird bit of taunting. Quite uncharacteristic for The Four Seasons.

As mentioned, The Four Seasons is definitely our go-to brand when traveling. We enjoy the consistency and professionalism of the staff and the obvious care that is taken to ensure that everyone’s visit is the best possible experience for them. This is so important and it is the detail that we talk to friends and fellow travelers about when we talk about The Four Seasons.

Thank you for making our vacation on The Big Island a memorable one.

Room tip: We enjoyed our room overlooking the King's Pond
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank john S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews