We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent seafood”
Review of Huggo's Restaurant

Huggo's Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 304 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

We ate here twice on our trip and enjoyed both occasions. The first night, we were early for our reservation (recommended) and sat in the bar, I ordered a Mai tai which was excellent. We started with the sizzling mushrooms- absolutely not to be missed. For dinner, I had the monchong special and my husband had the Ono. On the second night my husband had the monchong special (different prep) and I had the ahi. All of the seafood was excellently prepared. On the second night, we paired our entrees with the Babich black label Sauvignon blanc- very nice!

Thank PattiCNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanel S, Guest Relations Manager at Huggo's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Aloha, and thank you for visiting us! Happy to hear you enjoyed your visits and you had a great time! Please come back and see us again soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 247 of 1,367 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

The food was overpriced but so is everything else in Hawaii. The view is excellent. We went here for dinner our first night so I might be a bit foggy on the details having been a bit jet lagged from New York. Service was fine. I wasn't overly impressed with much here, but it was a fine way to start our vacation and they did have kids crayons and kids meal for my six year old. So that was a plus. I don't recall what I ate but I know it was fish (Ono maybe) and it may have been sightly overcooked.

Thank emyers75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanel S, Guest Relations Manager at Huggo's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Aloha, and thank you for visiting us and for your honest feedback, as our guest's overall experience is always a top priority for us and we are always striving to improve our customer service and food quality. We hope to see you again in the future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Great location. Many restaurants aren't right on the water but have the street in between. This restaurant has an amazing set up. I loved my omelette. But my mom and sis were not at all happy with their breakfast pizza.

Thank Artistahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanel S, Guest Relations Manager at Huggo's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Aloha, and thank you for visiting us! Mahalo for the feedback, as our guests overall experience is a top priority for us, and we are always striving to improve. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

we had my birthday dinner last week at Huggos as a last minute choice and just walked in and luckily had a short wait at the bar. The food was amazing and our waiter was the best! we got to eat at a table right on the water and our group of four had the best dinner and the best time!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank beckierussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanel S, Guest Relations Manager at Huggo's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Aloha, and thank you for visiting us! Happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and you had a great time! Please come back and see us again soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Excellent food and service in an open air restaurant. We really enjoyed our visit. Be sure to order the desert!

Thank njnerdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanel S, Guest Relations Manager at Huggo's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Aloha, and thank you for visiting us. Mahalo for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Huggo's Restaurant also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Huggo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing