We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not gut but perfect meal for fisch lovers”
Review of Taverna Bruno

Taverna Bruno
Ranked #10 of 109 Restaurants in Umag
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$97
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A small family owned restaurant, with a hospitable and relaxing atmosphere. Our dishes are exclusively made with the best and the most fresh fish of the Adriatic sea, and cooked in the most traditional way.
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Restaurant Bruno is our favorite fisch restaurant, not only in Istrien, but in whole Croatia. We visited the restaurant on Monday for lunch, and again bingo. Not gut, but perfect fish 4 courses menu with some good Istrian wine from Coronica. It is a big pleasure comming to this restaurant from Slivenia for more than 20 years and in all those years allways happy and content. Bruno restaurant is place where you will allways get fresh fish and different plates with fish prepaired with best local ingredients. This is the place where you can allways come and you know what you get. We have traveled the world, have eaten in the best Restaurants and Restaurant Bruno still stays in our top 5 best places to eat. So don't hesitate, visit this place. So stay like you are Orietta and your team, we like you a lot and looking forward seeing you soon.

1  Thank Lid64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

What a find!!! We cannot recommend the food, staff and ambience enough..
On arrival a stunning table overlooking fruit garden and orchard under kiwi trees was effortlessly set up. Our waitress was patient, kind and very agreeable.
We ordered prawns, lobster tagliatelle, shrimp spaghetti, mixed fish and chips (going back for more of everything later in week). Bread was fresh from oven, olive oil (requested by us) was full of flavour. Crepes and strawberry tart ended the meal perfectly.
A bottle of wine our first Croatian Chardonnay went down a treat.
Very happy all round.
Thank you so much

Thank jahs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Two of us shared one apetizer and one 1,5 kg fish. We barely ate it all, it was delicious. Wine was a good match for this meal. Service was polite and proffesional. It was worth the money.

2  Thank Pavel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

The location is a nice privat garden like terrace. Had chosen the fish plate for two people. Most of the grilled mussels were cold and two of the whole grilled fish tasted awful like bile. The waitresses are little bit like a good cop bad cop team ;)

2  Thank flybekay787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CesareFloris, Direttore generale at Taverna Bruno, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

We are very sorry that you did not appriciated the dinner, but we have to confirm that we offered you to change your fish and we have to say that the fish was fresh. The issue was in the fish evisceration.
Best regards Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

Wonderful service and very good lunch. My husband had octopus salad and I ordered 3 scallops. We shared the pommes frites - delicious - much better than french fries in USA. Reasonable price. Near our hotel (Villa Rosetta). I don't think many Americans have discovered this delightful area of Croatia yet.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MinneapolisTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna Bruno also viewed

 
Savudrija, Istria
 

Been to Taverna Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing