We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
99
111
45
22
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
111
45
22
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews next year small children summer holiday my opinion sandy beach club resort facilities sirena sea prize disco bakery football tournament program
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 290 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

A week vacation in a beautiful umag is over and we have quite a complicated impression. The sol area includes a few accommodation areas. We chose apartments - having a small baby it's important to have a cooking facility. Besides it was very uncomfortable for us about the breakfast - as far as we wake up at 5 - 6 am - we need a possibility of early breakfast. Unfortunately it was not an option here - one more vote for a cooking zone.
In spite the room was quite spacious - small living room was sofa, wardrobe and a dining corner, bedroom, kitchen corner and WC, I can't say we liked it. And there are a lot of reasons for it. First cleanliness: upon arrival while unpacking the luggage (let's say 30 min ) walked in the room in socks - they immediately turned black - the floor has never seen a mop or even a touch of simple water. I had to use wet tissues to wash the floor at least in the bathroom to have a possibility to step there barefoot. The walls, mirrors with smashed mosquitoes on. The used-to-be-white doors with spots - I don't want even to think after what. Curtains with spots as well.
Bed. That is another huge disappointment . Two separate beds together with no possibility of a king size. So in order to sleep next to each other, one of us constantly hit the hole with a painful wooden frame in the middle. The bedsheets with stains, pillow covers with holes.
Noticing a sofa in the living room had an idea to organize it as a bed for a baby but gave this idea up as soon as I approached it - the smell is unbearable (toilet smell, may be there was a pet before us there who used it as a toilet or I don't know). So we avoided even approaching that sofa.
Asked for a baby cot. It was delivered the same day. But! With a huge hole. It was not balanced and a baby always rolled to one corner. We could not solve it.
Kitchen area surprised us with an absence of a kettle or mugs. That was a huge surprise - there was Turka to make coffee and tiny cups for Turkish coffee - for one sip. So to have breakfast - we put coffee box and boiled water to make it again and again in order to have a usual normal 250 ml drink. Otherwise there was all u may need. As a plus kitchen area was pretty clean.
As a comment , I have to suggest to separate smoking rooms from non smoking. As a family area there should be a possibility to have a smoking free zone. It was very annoying to feel smoke from neighbors every time we open the balcony. We had to keep it shut. This is not the reason to come to the pine and sea area - to smell AC all the time.
As for the family area you would also expect to have a pram entrance to the upper floors. We had to keep our pram in a car every time after a walk. It was quite annoying to fold and unfold it over and over again.
The area is very nice - green, different zones - family, lagoon etc. but again one huge "but" - the family area with a nice shadow under pines is full dogs. I don't mind pets, I love them. But as well I love to sit on a clean place. Whereas the owners try to clean after their dogs toilet but the peeing zone looks like everywhere. After watching one dog peeing on the ground just next to us - we moved to "no dogs allowed" area. Which unfortunately didn't have nice shadow and the beach became a problem for us.
It would not be just my opinion when I say that the sunbeds with umbrellas are overpriced. After paying over 100 usd per night for a room so far from clean one , I had no desire to pay minimum extra 12 dollars for sunbed and umbrella daily (all the beach along people use their own towels and sheds).
In this case in order not to spoil the vacation we decided to travel around. Pula, Italy, dining in nice restaurant in umag.
Bottom line : the vacation was nice but NOT thanks to SOL resorts and apartments. That's sad that such a wonderful natured area can't fulfill all the pluses of it and the impression is spoilt by cleanliness, pricing and zoning approach.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank travelwzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneraManagerITU, General Manager at Apartments Sol Stella for Plava Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear travelwzm,

thank you for choosing Sol Stella for your vacation. We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations and I would like to apologize for any possible inconveniences you had during your stay. Your comments will be forwarded to the responsible personell and will help us improve the quality of our services.

We are happy that you had a nice vacation and we hope you will come to Umag again.

Best wishes to you and your family,
Samir Martinović
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Dirty room, stinky kitchen, broken sheets, hair in bathroom, old furniture, blurry television. The hotel staff ignored our complaints. The worst experience of my life. Never more. Stay away from this hotel.

Room Tip: Keep away from this hotel
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneraManagerITU, General Manager at Apartments Sol Stella for Plava Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear r0gerferre,

Thank you for choosing Sol Stella for your vacation.

We are very sorry you were not satisfied with our Resort and I would like to apologize for any inconveniences. I would like to assure that your complaints have been forwarded to the responsible departments and will be helpful to us in improving the quality of our services.

Best wishes,
Samir Martinović
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Accomodation is not the best I have stayed in especially for the cost. It is really dated and the kitchen seemed dirty.

Tv is limited to CNN or BBC Worldwide.

AC is really good.

Smallest balcony ever.

Loved the forest where the apartments are and looking out onto the sea.

Facilities good, supermarket, bakery, restaurants,

Beach was not amazing - water was quite dirty and the steps into the sea were dangerous, with lots of people slipping.

Went to swimming pool once - very over crowded. Luckily there are lots of other places to go. Umbrellas and chairs have to be paid for.

Was quite a distance to umag - 20 mins on land train.

Went to Luna restaurant 10 mins walk which was brilliant.

Quite noisy at night time due to live music and beach cleaning was noisy first thing.

WIFI free and good.

Lots of people bring their dogs, luckily I like them and loved seeing them in the water. Never saw any dog mess.

Room Tip: Beware no lifts at apartments - ground floor looked better as they have patios.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Juliette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneraManagerITU, General Manager at Apartments Sol Stella for Plava Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Juliette E,

thank you for choosing Sol Stella apartments for your vacations.

Within the Sol Stella we offer differet type of apartments which differ in size and location. Guests can find all the informations on our official web page, and are welcome to contact us if they have questions.

Our reception is always open, and guests are more than welcome to contact it in case of need; so we are sorry you didn't do so during your stay, because we are sure we could have helped you with advices.

We are still glad you had a lovely vacation and that you liked the location and the facilities.

Hoping you will be our guest in the future, we send you our kindest regards,
Samir Martinović
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Amazing Vacation. We have 2 small children age 5 and 3. We booked Sirena Classic Premium Apartment which was a minute from the sandy beach, perfect for little kids. Patio is overlooking the beach and is set in a Pine Wood surroundings. Just Beautiful. Lots of Kids Playgrounds, Great Little Bakery in the Resort and Pizza to Order. Oh, and KONZUM Supermarket as well. Just all you need for perfect vacation. I was more than satisfied with our choice of summer resort and will sertainly book it for the next year, just this time we will stay much longer. Istralandia Aquapark is 15 minutes of drive away from resort, and there is so much to see on mainland. Groznjan town is a must. We took Half Bord this year, but I see no need for it for the next year, simply because I like to sleep longer, and we eat dinner at 18h, while the resort serves dinner from 19 to 22 h. There are quite a few restaurants in the resort and pizza delivery as well, so next time we will arrange eat outs our selves.
Cleaning is superb. Have NO complains about it, whatsoever !
Children have plays and Entertainment every night, and we loved it. From Disco to Theater and Magician Shows... Splendid. Thank you Stella Maris for the perfect time we had.

Room Tip: Sirrena Classic Buidling is the last but most quiter. All rooms look at the beach and are in shade.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvanaT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneraManagerITU, General Manager at Apartments Sol Stella for Plava Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Ivana T,

thank you very much for choosing Sol Stella for your family vacation.

Our main goal is to satisfy our guests' expectations and needs, and knowing we did so is the best reward we can get.
We are truly delighted that you and your family spent a beautiful vacation while staying in Sol Stella, and that you enjoyed in the activities we offer.

We hope you will be our guests again.

Kind regards from Umag,

Samir Martinović
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

First of all I really like it here because i have a lot of friends here and it's really good place to have fun. It's a very good program everyday in SoSport for those who wants to stay fit on vacation. I really like football tournament in the evening, because if you win you get a prize (hat, shirt, towel, cup...) and you make new friends everyday. There is also a few good animators in stella maris but I really really like ANJA who works in club 4 and is really good with kids. She was also a few times in club 17 and as a teenager she is the BEST. she is very kind, super fun, plays in mamma mia and she is great and makes the best football tournaments in whole stella maris. There is a second animator i like ANAMARIJA. She is very funny, good with teenagers, kids and best DJ/DANCER at mini disco. but i want to tell that there is a few things that needs to be repaired: football\basketball court and club 17 because it's not in best condition.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank nejc p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneraManagerITU, General Manager at Apartments Sol Stella for Plava Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear nejc p,

thank you for choosing Sol Stella for your vacations.

We are truly glad you had a beautiful vacation in our Resort. Thank you for your nice words bout our staff, they were delighted about them.

We hope we will welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Samir Martinović
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews