We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRILLIANT HOTEL SEEHOFF!”
Review of Hotel Seehof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Seehof
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Just back from a week in beautiful Zell am See. Stayed at the wonderful Hotel Seehoff overlooking the lake - views to die for! Could not find fault with any aspect of this superbly friendly hotel! Immaculately kept - great food - great staff who couldnt do enough to make our stay so enjoyable. Particular thanks to our smiling waitress Siobann and all the other friendly staff. Also to Eva (owner/manageress).
Heard a couple of trains but only on the first night then after that we did'nt even notice. For guests wanting quieter rooms away from railtrack there are other rooms available with church/mountain views at the back - but for us we loved having a view of the lovely lake.
Have already booked for next August - can't wait to return to the Seehoff and Zell am See! Wonderful!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 215 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

“Four hundred thirty two”- counts my daughter after checking finally from her camera dial, she declared, “Can you imagine Dad, I took 432 photos in last 2 hrs?
I was not surprised, my hands were tired as I was holding my handycam for last 2 hrs, my neck was stiffened due to frequent movement for last 2 hrs seeing right and left, up and down. We were travelling from Innsbruck to Zell Am See and were thrilled by the amazing sceneries! I knew it was scenic route but never imagined it to be so beautiful!
We got down at Zell Am See in the afternoon 4pm on 20th September 2012. It is a station between Innsbruck and Salzburg. Deep blue sky, royal blue lake and snow-capped mountains surrounding the lake mesmerised us. It felt like we were in heaven.
We followed the rail line from the direction we came and after walking 250m, we found our new home- Hotel Seeof. The hotel is on the lake, only a train line separating the hotel from the lake. The moment we entered the hotel, we loved it! It was perfectly complimenting the beauty surrounding us. The lady in the reception was worried as to why we reached late? Actually, we gave them a message long back in the email that we would be reaching around 12noon. She became very happy the moment she saw us as if we had just returned home. She handed over a city map, highlighting the important landmarks, an adventure guide and provided the vital information about the local bus.
We got room no 30 and after opening the door we were again amazed! What a beautiful room! In fact it was a suite with 2 rooms, plenty of furniture and 3 lake facing windows. Room was comfortable and neat and clean. We found a few chocolates as a welcome present. There was some rhythmic but very faint sound from the trains running on the railway line in front of the hotel which helped us to enjoy a sweet dreamy feeling.
Next day, we had a brilliant breakfast. Friuts, eggs, becon, bread, cake, tea, coffee- it included everything to satisfy us.
After breakfast, we asked the hotel staff about the location of Bus stand. The all-time friendly staff gave us crystal clear instructions on the map. It took 5 mins to reach the Bus stand from where we took bus 71 to reach Schmittenhohe. We took cable car to reach the summit at 2000m and got an amazing 360 degree view of snow peaks.
After that we came back to the bus stand and this time we took Bus no.670 to take another breath taking journey to Krimml waterfalls. We went to the top of the falls by walking 4km and 1500ft up.
We came back to hotel, fully satisfied with the scenery witnessed for the whole day. When we entered the room, we found a beautiful fragrance in the room which was again left after cleaning by the hotel staff. To us, it was one of the best value for money hotel we have stayed in. The hotel added to the liking of Zell am See. We left the hotel on the next day as we had planned to go to Salzburg. We promised in our heart to Zell am See and Hotel Seeof that we would come back here very soon. Not just for 2 days but will stay much longer.
We are waiting eagerly for that opportunity.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DPMALLIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Just back from having a lovely stay at this hotel. It's well situated for both the lake and central town of Zell Am See and we received a very warm welcome and excellent / friendly customer service from all the staff throughout our stay. The room was very clean, well presented and maintained and the food was super with plenty of choice at both breakfast and dinner times. The railway and trains can be a problem if you let it but honestly you forget about them after a short while and see the positives of having the station close at hand to explore the wonderful area even more. Would i stay there again?.....without doubt....a lovely hotel and fantastic people.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 35PaulC35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Lovely hotel very near the shore of the lake just two or three minutes walk from town centre. We received a very warm welcome from the friendly and helpful staff. Fantastic selection for breakfast, superb choice of evening meals. Comfortable rooms, we had a large balcony facing the lake, the only negative is the railway runs between the hotel and the lakeside promenade but the trains did not really bother us. We had a wonderful holiday and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Trains do run past the front of the hotel facing the lake but it is worth it for the views. There i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elairam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

just come back from 10 days at this hotel. the hotel was very clean, staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. The room was comfortable and clean. Being aware that trains come past the hotel, could not find fault with a lovely hotel, and right near the lake. Went 5th September 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glenda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#2 of 42 in Zell am See
1,213 reviews
0.2 km away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#10 of 42 in Zell am See
615 reviews
2.1 km away
MAVIDA Wellnesshotel & Sport Zell am See
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
AlpenParks Hotel & Apartment Central Zell am See
0.2 km away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#6 of 42 in Zell am See
254 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel St. Georg
Hotel St. Georg
#14 of 42 in Zell am See
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seehof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seehof

Address: Salzmannstrasse 3, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Zell am See
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#6 Family Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range: €74 - €151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seehof 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cosy Traditional Hotel embedded between the unique mountain lake and the historic town centre of Zell am See. As a family run Hotel we stand for an exceptional personal service. It is our aim for your holiday to be as pleasant and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Seehof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehof Hotel Zell Am See
Seehof Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing