We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
109
26
9
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
26
9
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main hotel packed lunch shared balcony joker card sandwich bags booked directly free access steam room fresh fruit five courses inghams holiday hotel organised brilliant hotel indoor pool and spa small gym course evening meal water beds
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Recently stayed at this wonderful hotel. Everything was excellent from start to finish. The hotel in the annex was small but spotless with a very good shower and towels were changed every day. Sauna, steam room and pool were fabulous.
The meals were the best quality and quantity I have ever had, even better than the Alpine Palace in the town .
The staff were very friendly and couldn’t do enough for you. It was my husbands birthday during our stay and we came down to breakfast to a decorated table, candles and champagne!!
We will definitely be returning.
Only one little negative is that it got too hot in the upstairs restaurant. This room requires ceiling fans or even better air cond

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank HinckleyHutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jörg S, Geschäftsleitung at Glemmtalerhof, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear HinckleyHutts,
Thank you for your praising words. It's great to hear you feel this way about our hotel and staff.
We are happy beyond all measures to see you enjoyed your stay here that much and we had the opportunity to be helpful to you to do so.
About the restaurant we have to apologize a little bit as we have had such a warm summer, this has never happened before and we are already figuring out how to handle the heat up there if the weather gets this hot again but I'm sure we will have the solution prepared when you return again (to what we are already looking forward to).
Greetings from Hinterglemm,
The Glemmtalerhofingers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

My wife and I had a great time. We booked with Inghams and stayed in the Pension Silvester. We had a typically Austrian room with great views from our balcony. The food and the staff were excellent and looked after us really well. The joker card gave us free access to the chair lifts and the local bus. Overall we had a fantastic time with a great atmosphere in Hinterglemm with lots of local traditions.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanja M, Geschäftsleitung at Glemmtalerhof, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear Steve,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Glemmtalerhof and want to thank you for your feedback.
Your compliment regarding our staff and kitchen will be passed on to our team and we would look forward to be able to welcome you at the Glemmtalerhof some day again.
Hope you had a nice trip home.
Best regards,
The Glemmtalerhofinger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

We came to Hinterglemm for our summer holidays in a very hot period with 2 kids.

Weakness of the hotel:
-laud during the night but overall starting between 5 or 6 in the morning, because of the tracks noises, delivering goods and collecting stuff, seriously, we could not sleep anymore after 6 a.m.

-food ok in term of choice, but not in terms of quality. It does not match any 4 stars hotels we have been before.

-pictures and info on the hotel web site do not match the reality: rooms are different from what you see and we got a family room without separated rooms, just a big room with a double bed, a sofa bed and a little bed for our kids.

-The playroom is a joke, they only open on request, toys are broken and not much to offer.

-The kids club does not really exist, you just have an option to use the kids club service of the hotel Alpine, few steps away, but they organise mainly programms for the full day and my kids did not want to leave us for full day...please DO NOT CONSIDER THE KINDER PROGRAMM ON THE HOTEL WEB SITE as there was nothing organised from the hotel and never in the evening as described, the hotel Alpine had a programm from 10 am to 5 or 6 pm.

- swimmimg pool is small and in the afternoon around 4 pm to 6 pm was always so full of kids and people that it was not possible to enjoy it..

-parking costs are 5 euro per day. It is not for free as indicated on tripadvisor.

Strong points of this hotel:
-walking distance to 2 cable cars
-nice personal for the restaurant and for cleaning

Unfortunately, we did not like the area neither, because there are few things for kids ( talschluss with teufelswasser, baumzipfelweg, schnitza Holzpark, which for maximum 2 days are enough, then kodok weg, montelino is for small kids too much effort for the experience itself as the kohlmaisbahn is closed and the walk from schönleitenbahn to Saalbach bus stop is too long for small kids.
No nice walks in the forest, we were looking forward to have rest in the shadow as it was so hot and sunny and we did not have a single walk in the shadow.
Perfect place perhaps for skiing but not for summer holidays.

Anyway as family we enjoyed the time here anyway, nice panoramas, it was not the best location in Austria compared to other locations but a nice experience and we will remember the best out of it.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank ellylai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanja M, Geschäftsleitung at Glemmtalerhof, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear ellylai,

Thank you for your feedback, we are sad to hear that we did not match your imagination and would like answer to some points you mentioned.
We are very proud of our kitchen and the food we serve. In terms of quality as you mentioned we only use fresh ingredients from as many local producers as possible, but tastes are different and we are known for our regional, down to earth cuisine which a lot of our regulars enjoy since the last 30 years.
As for the rooms:
We don't Photoshop or retouch any of our images considering the photos of our rooms so this is a complaint we can't really comprehend. When we read your description of the room correctly, you booked a "junior suite herz könig" and this category is nowhere described with two separated rooms, it would have been no problem to arrange a room in a category that would have fit your needs a little better if we had known so in advance.
In our opinion the region has more to offer for families even with small kids than you can experience in a single week or even two and for hikes in the woods you should have plenty of options considering that nearly 60% of our mountains are covered with forests
Maybe overall a full-grown family hotel would have been the better choice for you as we see ourselves as family friendly but we can highly recommend “Kinderhotels” or ”leadingfamilyhotels” to you as they are way more specialised than we are and they have members everywhere.
We are happy you enjoyed at least some parts of your holiday here and hope you will find something next time that fits you better and wish you happy holidays for you and your family even if it won’t be in the Glemmtalerhof.

Best regards
Jörg Schnell,
one of the Glemmtalerhofingers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Travelling by motorbike, and booked in here by agent as its close to the Grossglockner. Feel very spoiled: given under-cover parking spot for bike, lovely evening meal, proper biker breakfast with eggs and bacon, proper english tea, and the barman has kept me supplied with hot water for my fruit infusions!! Staff lovely! Massive 60”TV screen to watch world cup matches. Really comfortable and welcoming!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank andys286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanja M, Leiter Front Office at Glemmtalerhof, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Dear Andy,
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Glemmtalerhof and want to thank you for your review.
The only thing we just have to correct is that the TV is 75" ;) just kidding, but more importantly hope the'll reach the worldcup this time! Good luck for this one and hope to be able to give you shelter for one of your rides again.
Greetings from Saalbach Hinterglemm,
the Glemmtalerhofingers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

This is a “modern traditional” hotel, with acres of pine and up-to-date decoration and fittings, which has all the facilities one would expect. We were expecting to stay in the annex, but were upgraded to the main hotel building. Our room (115) was well-equipped with separate toilet and bathroom with shower over the tub - but no shower curtain - and copious hot water. The room has lots of storage space and a balcony which is ideal for sitting in the early morning sun. The whole hotel is spotlessly clean and nowhere more so than our room.

The restaurant serves high quality food. Breakfast is self-service buffet-style with a wide choice of satisfying hot and cold food and drinks that provide a substantial start to the day. We also made packed lunches from the same buffet tables. Dinner begins with a delicious self-service salad bar, followed by a further four courses all served at the table by the very friendly and attentive staff. In fact, all of the hotel staff are friendly and keen to help you in any way they are able.

The good-sized pool and extensive spa facilities, including two saunas, infrared beds and steam room, are all in an excellent condition and maintained to a high standard.

We enjoyed walking with Gerhard, who is a highly informative guide and works hard to ensure everyone enjoys their time on the hills. We also made regular use of the Joker Card, which was a real bonus.

On arrival we were surprised to find that the town was hosting a Bikers’ Mania festival of over 1000 Harley-Davidson enthusiasts, which involved live (loud) music until after midnight. Thankfully, by mid-afternoon of the following day, the town had returned to much more how we think a resort in the Austrian mountains should be. However, the following weekend saw a traditional folk festival and, once again, the music lasted until the early hours. We had not expected either of the two events and whilst they added “something” to our stay, we shall be checking carefully on what’s planned should we return to Hinterglemm – as we hope to do.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back may avoid festival noise
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank joys59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanja M, Leiter Front Office at Glemmtalerhof, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Thank you very much for your review and we feel pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Glemmtalerhof.
To hear you liked both our Staff and Equipment makes us happy beyond all measure.
It is true that our village hosts several events during summer and wintertime and if the great case would come true and you book in our hotel again we will make sure to inform you about everything happening in Saalbach Hinterglemm at that moment
Greetings from Hinterglemm,
the Glemmtalerhofingers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews