We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
210
121
39
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
121
39
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews riviera tour food breakfast and dinner highest mountain inside pool alpine hotel wonderful hotel public areas modern hotel amazing location stayed here for nights fantastic spa underground garage local transport adjoining rooms summer card hotel offers third floor
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 390 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2018

Rested family in this hotel. A typical hotel for these places. The interior is old. We expected more. Staff is normal, there is no friendliness. We did not feel a warm atmosphere.
In the room there was a smell, after checking it faded.
For this price you can find a more modern and friendly hotel.
I do not recommend ...

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexMag79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny W, Manager at Das Alpenhaus Kaprun, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Dear AlexMag79,
we thank you for your review about your stay in our 4*hotel in Kaprun. We really regret that you didn't feel the warm atmosphere. As you can see in many other reviews, most guests value our great atmosphere and friendly staff. Our interior is not old, the hotel was renovated in 2013 with a complete make over and new furniture. We are always on the rolll with renovating the rooms - right now the rooms are getting new floors. Everyone's taste is subjective and we really appreciate your opionion - but your review does not correspond to the facts.
With best regards from Kaprun
Yours sincerely
Jenny Wiesalla & Das Alpenhaus Kaprun team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

I think that you have tu visit this place. Hotel is beautifull and big. You have fantastick spa. I recommend to visit this place at winter time. At bekfast you have extensive selection of food and drinks.

Thanks on reading :)

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Antonio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiane S, Manager at Das Alpenhaus Kaprun, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Dear Mr. Antonio L, thank you for your great feedback and your stay at Das Alpenhaus Kaprun, we're very proud. We look forward to welcome you soon as our guests and send best regards from Kaprun, yours Das Alpenhaus Kaprun team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

We visited for two weeks in August 2018, just returned. We are a family of 4, 2 children aged 5 and 3, grandparents and an uncle also with us!

We booked 3 junior suites, all very roomy and comfortable with shared balcony at the back, staircase which served as for exit also, from there leading down to pool so very handy!

Only downside to rooms was lack of air conditioning, management however provide us with good fans after 48 hours. Summer months getting warmer and would suggest air con a must for sleep comfort.

Hotel facilities all very good, clean and modern but cosy. Food breakfast and dinner both buffet style was varied, local and of a good standard.

Kids of 5 and 3 stayed completely without charge, so excellent. Only downside was limited kids menu and no earlier dining times, difficult for young tired kids and their parents! But staff accommodated with ensuring their meal was ready at 6.30.

Staff overall very friendly and helpful, particularly reception, room housekeeping and Jenny the manager who tried her best to deal with our initial requests.

A beautiful town and area, heaps to do and majority free with the summer card provided by the hotel.

All in all a wonderful holiday, grateful thanks to all the staff at Das Alpenhaus, we wish you well for the future, we may be back!! Get ready..

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank anjalina2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiane S, Manager at Das Alpenhaus Kaprun, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Mrs. Guildford, thank you for your great feedback to your stay at Das Alpenhaus Kaprun and your great feedback to that. It's not always easy to fulfill all wishes, feedback like yours confirms our way and that makes us very proud. We look forward to welcome you soon as our guests, perhaps in the winter season :), and send best regards from Kaprun, yours Das Alpenhaus Kaprun team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

We stayed here as part of a Riviera tour. Before we arrived we thought it might be a little rural but it is not. It is perfectly positioned for all facilities. We were given a Summer Card and with that there are lots of discounted offers and free tickets.
Our room had an excellent view of the Kitzsteinhorn and the summer toboggan run. Waking up to views of that mountain each morning was a very special event. The rooms are spacious and very clean almost like a suite. The hotel has charm with modern features.
The breakfast and dinner was a buffet style. Some of the food was a little fancy for us and it was sometimes hard to work out the menu as to what was on offer. I ordered pink beef one night which I didn’t enjoy so left most of it. The waitress was very upset I didn’t like it and said that I could have anything else on the menu plus two desserts if I wanted. The only problem we found was that there is no air con in the restaurant and with temperatures pushing 30 degrees during our stay one evening it was just too much to enjoy our meal. The mini bar fridge was useful and there are two very well stocked supermarkets seconds away.
This is a lovely hotel. With the advantage of the summer card there is lots to do in Kaprun and Zell am Zee.
We had a very good time here and would certainly return.

Room tip: Rooms facing the Kitzsteinhorn are the best
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PANDJ55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiane S, Manager at Das Alpenhaus Kaprun, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear sir or madam, thank you for your visit at Das Alpenhaus Kaprun and your lovely feedback, we're very proud. We look forward to welcome you soon as our guests and send in the meantime best regards, yours Das Alpenhaus Kaprun team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

We visited this hotel with our friendsas part of a tour. Hotel room was good and food also BUT after Germany won the footbal game our friends were woken up between 0100 and 0400 by drunken guests trying to break into their room. They rang reception and no response for an hour. Next day no info on what happened and indeed lots of excuses. Dinner that night was slow and the free wine never arrived until reception chased. Bar at night was spoilt by guests with 3 dogs operating a FaceTime conversation very loudly and bar staff unable to intervene. Overall seems a good hotel with not enough senior staff around to deal with issues. Imagine if a medical emergency had happened during the night?

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank geoffreyv647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiane S, Manager at Das Alpenhaus Kaprun, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Dear Mr. Geoffreyv647, first we would like to thank you for your visit to Das Alpenhaus Kaprun and also that you had chosen the beautiful region for your bus group holiday with us. Of course, we regret your personal experiences with other guests in the night on Sunday and we are also sorry that our night porter due to his tour in the house for a short time was not available. Football awakens not only passion in people, but also a lot of emotions. At such big events as the World Cup with lots of alcohol consumption, one or two guests may forget their room number, but after the doors are card-controlled, nothing can happen except to confront the guest directly. Honestly, we can not understand why you found the apology of the receptionist as an excuse. Since at the reception no feedback from other guests was known about other abnormalities, what would you have expected here for information? Nobody knew anything about such an incident until your feedback. Dear Mr. Geoffreyv647, we understand that the stay after this experience wasn’t sufficient and we regret that afterwards the bad mood did not fade away. Hereby we would like to apologize again for the disturbance by other guests and please rest assured that this is not standard in the house. We strive to offer every guest an unforgettable stay in our 4 star hotel and we want to improve our service constantly. Maybe you can convince yourself of it again in the future. Sincerely, Das Alpenhaus Kaprun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews