We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
55
10
6
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
55
10
6
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Stayed here overnight on the way to Prague from Salzburg. This is right at the border. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant in-house, nearest one is a short walk away.
Nice and comfortable rooms with balcony.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ruch G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2018

We booked our stay in the hotel considering the proximity to the alpine coaster, which the kids wanted to do multiple times. What we were in for a surprise, this hotel is in the mountains..such a lovely and calm place.
If you wanna feel the true Alpine summer charm, this is the place to be!
We booked a family room, which are actually 2 interconnected rooms, with double and single beds each.
Ladies at the breakfast were polite and tried their best to fulfill our requirements.
We even climbed the mountain right in front of the hotel, and the view from the the top is unparalleled.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Rashi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2018

A nice hotel with good service. Clean and neat. It lays up hill from the city but close to the salt mines which is worth a visit. Quiet and calm. Close to the German border, just a couple of meters! Take the car to the German side and visit the Gausthof Aurvirt or take a longer trip to the Predigtstuhl in Bad Reichenhall for a fantasticc view.

Date of stay: September 2017
2  Thank Jens J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed in four different rooms in total in this hotel, which prides itself to be a four star place focusing on relaxation and culture. There is a large parking when you arrive and you are welcomed by staff in traditional Austrian clothes. In general, apart from the friendly and professional manager, there is clearly a lesson learnt in client service at a place like this. Basic things like not knowing what earl grey tea is (breakfast waitress), having the neighbour come by with wet dog shaking his body next to our breakfast table, not knowing if there are nuts and chips (when asked), not a single working safe in the room, no shampoo/conditioner or body lotion (only hand soap), no water cooker in the room and cafe closed on Monday. A four star hotel guest deserves better. The manager understands her business and has been very helpful in giving us touristic and culinary tips, but you immediately notice a difference in staff attitude when she is there. A shame! During our stay there were quite a few meetings and yoga lessons for day visitors. The breakfast buffet is almost everyday the day, sometimes the vegan spreads vary, decent quality, but you have to ask yourself for refill coffee or tea. Please bear in mind that there is a beautician and a massage therapist in the basement which can be booked. There is also a pont (with noisy animals during the night or -as we experienced - some locals who went swimming in the middle of the night). The ambition and the idea of this place looks is attractive on paper, I just fear their objectives are not clear to the hotel guests. A strong marketing plan and an upgrade from the staff could be a start. Be clear what you stand for and you will attract the right audience.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Asics21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia S, Inhaber at Kranzbichlhof, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear guest,


thank your for taking the time to write a review. We would like to address your concerns. For the duration of your stay at our hotel our usual breakfast staff fell ill and for this reason our sixteen year-old intern, who had just started that same week, had to fill in for the day. We are terribly sorry and your feedback is completely valid in this situation!
Should any problems or questions arise we are happy to help with issues in the rooms. After receiving your feedback we double-checked and found the safes to be working perfectly fine which was also confirmed by previous as well as the following guests.
We would like to inform you that the nightly swimmers were hotel guests. You booked a hotel in a rural area with a natural pond, it is important for the water quality that it is inhabited by particular flora and fauna and for a certain time of the year you can hear the frogs.
We were under the impression you enjoyed your stay at our hotel as you told us as much several times and even mentioned the desire to return for another stay.


Kind Regards,
Cornelia Salmhofer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

Stayed one night as we were traveling by car 01 04 2018 throughout Bavaria. it snowed the evening we stayed and it was wonderful. Had a view of the west, amazing sunset over the mountain range. Wonderful service, very clean, full service restaurant and bar and very comfortable rooms with patio. Although it was zero celsius that evening, we split under the down comforter with the door open. Enjoyed the company of Fraulein Julia who was the only staff member on hand that evening and was excellent hostess while enjoying local beers and menu selections.

Room tip: Western rooms facing mountain range on upper floors.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XLR8TOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews