We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican food”

Tortuga's Lodge & Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 62 Restaurants in Pedasi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Open space restaurant with extensive bar. Had a terrific vodka tonic. We ordered the gazpacho and chicken fajitas. Both were delicious and were made with very fresh ingredients. Service was good and menu was limited.

Date of visit: November 2016
1  Thank JCK055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Very disappointed in the lack of cleanliness and what feels like misrepresentation that was presented on TripAdvisor about the facilities.
The operator was very nice and honest saying "we really don't do anything with the lodging", very much an understatement.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank davidexpediar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieStL87, Owner at Tortuga's Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Thank you for your review and sorry to hear about your bad experience.

First of all, one has to know that we are not a big hotel with all the services and amenities you may expect from this kind of establishments. We rent apartments on our property, mostly to people staying long term and wanting to feel like in the comfort of their home.

Unfortunately, you checked in on a weekend of many successive rainy days, which means everything tends to get wet and muddy. This is common at this time of the year as October is still in the rainy season and there's not much we can do for it.

We are a new business and we're updating and remodeling everything little by little as the restaurant takes a lot of our time. This is probably what was trying to explain you the owner you spoke to, as I have serious doubt he would have said such things like the ones you mentioned in your comment. The apartment you wanted to book was not available, so you were offered a larger unit for the same price. This one has not been remodeled yet, which is the reason why it didn't look like the photos. However, we put a lot of efforts in maintaining our units very clean all the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We loved this restaurant. The owners Mark and Julie are a delight and the food is very reasonable and delicious. It's an outdoor restaurant with a bar as well. If you are in Pedasi you must visit Tortuga's.

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank takenereasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We visited Tortugas twice during our stay in Pedasi. The chicken fajitas are excellent and the second time we brought our fish we caught and Mark cooked us up great fish tacos. If the restaurant is not too busy, Mark is happy to do so! Highly recommend visiting this open air Mexican restaurant for good food, drinks, and great service.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank cawurpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We had dinner here one night. There were four of us and all ordered something different. Each of us were very satisfied with our meals in both taste and quantity. Friendly relaxed atmosphere.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tortuga's Lodge & Restaurant also viewed

Pedasi, Los Santos Province
Pedasi, Los Santos Province
 
Pedasi, Los Santos Province
Playa Venao, Pedasi
 
Pedasi, Los Santos Province
 

Been to Tortuga's Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing