We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The PERFECT Home Away from Home”
other travellers have booked this property
Relax at your cabin in the Black Hills
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax at your cabin in the Black Hills
Sitting area and grill for your use. Overhead protection for Bikes
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Relax at your cabin in the Black Hills
Sitting area and grill for your use.
Overhead protection for Bikes
Living Room with Recliner coach and Dish TV!
Large dining area.  Microwave, Toaster Oven, and Hot Plate.
Queen Bed and Twin over Full Bunk Bed
Bedroom - Queen bed
Bedroom - Twin over Full bunk bed
Bathroom with large vanity and storage.
Large Walk in shower!
Refrigerator with ice maker, plenty of dishes, coffee maker, and toaster.
Large kitchen and dining area
Kitchen - Microwave + Toaster Oven
Kitchen Dining Area
Black Hills National Forest is your back yard!
Cathedral Spires is your view from the cabin!
Deer hanging out by the cabin
Guest Book Comments!
Guest Book Comments!
Guest Book Comments!
Guest Book Comments!
Buffalo in Custer State Park just miles away
Antelope in Custer State Park
Sylvan lake in Custer State Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Custer, South Dakota

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PamMendel...
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The PERFECT Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The location is amazing...the Cabin is just so sweet, homey, spotless, and well stocked. We have stayed here twice now and can't imagine staying any where else when we are in Custer. Ken and Marcy are very kind and helpful. Don't pass by this jewel in the Black Hills.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Thanks for the kind words. We love having great guest's who take such great care of our cabin!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenell J
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay outside of town!”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We knew we wanted to stay near Custer but not in town and not in a hotel, campground or even a Park of cabins. What we found was Ken and Marcy's cabin! Perfect! I can't think of one thing that I wished they had that I needed. With a family of 5 it worked perfect. The town of Custer had a nice little grocery store we were able to cook breakfast each day and the kitchen had everything we needed. And we grilled out one night too, thanks for having a full size propane grill! My daughter loved the board games. Everything is modern inside but I did love your retro kitchen table perfect for a cabin! Instructions were left to answer every question possible but it was nice that ken stopped over too. We were only here 3 nights but could have comfortably stayed longer. If we come through this way again we would definitely stay here. Loved the peaceful nights too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay. I love sharing my table with guest's that our family used when I was growing up on the farm. We look forward to your return to the Black Hills!
Ken
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary W
Norman, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This cabin was perfect. It is just about 4 miles outside of Custer, away from the town noise (not that Custer is a noisy town!) and lights. The bed was comfy, the living room was nice. The cabin was VERY clean. Deer, turkeys, and rabbits were around every day. It is not far from the Mickelson trail, which was a plus for us. We had to contact the hosts once about a WiFi issue and they were very responsive and the issue was resolved immediately. If I ever go back to the Custer area, this will be the cabin that I check first for availability. Would definitely recommend this cabin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, location, wildlife viewing
Liked least: No full-size stove/oven, but.. there were alternatives available, so that worked!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda T
Prince George, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect in Every Way”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The cabin was spotless when we arrived and was equipped with everything we needed. It even had a crock pot which was handy for preparing meals. It was so good to come home after a day of sightseeing and having dinner ready to eat. The beds were comfortable and the living area was cozy. It was a plus having a washer and dryer which we took advantage of as we were on a month long trip and it kept us from having to find a laundry mat. The location of the cabin was excellent for what we wanted to do. While making it our home base, we visited Mount Rushmore, Custer State Park, Needles Highway, Sylvan Lake, Crazy Horse, The Badlands National Park, Wind Cave, Jewel Cave a couple of wineries. We even had a day to browse around Hill City and Custer. The owners were a delightful couple who stopped by to make sure everything was alright and there was nothing we needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing