We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
15
15
3
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
15
15
3
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here as we pretty much had the run of the place, we had an upstairs room with a balcony overlooking the lake which was clean and spacious. The boardwalk into the lake is idyllic, the water is very clean and flat here so its heaven if you get it in these circumstances. Denny himself however is temperamental to say the least; he was very helpful in one instance, then very rude the next. The other staff are nice enough and the food is average but reasonably priced. All in all we loved our stay here as it was so quiet and tranquil which was what we were after, however its probably not worth the trip (it is quite isolated) if this is not what you are looking for.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wheresamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2015 via mobile

My family and I stayed at Denny's in one of the beachfront chalets. The room was spacious and the A/C worked great! The bathroom is tiny and we had a little difficulty getting the hot water with the suicide shower! The resort setting along the beach is beautiful. We ate dinner out on the lake, and the food was good. We had yummy piña coladas and great margaritas. The hammocks are nice to relax in. The boat ride to the resort is fun.

We spent some time with Denny and he was interesting and great to know. He gave us a history of the location and the Mayan culture.

We stayed here on our way to Tikal as a halfway stop between Antigua and Tikal. We would highly recommend Denny's!

Date of stay: March 2015
3  Thank DSF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2015

Denny's beach was a beautiful and comfortable place to relax and get away from the business of the city! Also very close to the worlds only natural hot waterfalls. The rooms have air conditioning and balconies with great views.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toridempster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2015

We stayed in the duplex (up and down) lake front cabin (#6 and 7). the cabin's were fine. i appreciated extra towels, and the wonderful view of the lake and sunset. Denny was super helpful, from accomodating our date change gracefully, to setting us up with activities. The hot waterfall is not to be missed! Denny gave us just enough attention and information and made it very clear that he was able to handle and available for any request. This is especially helpful because the location is remote with boat access only, and he has great tips for making the most out of your stay.

The food was very good, and very reasonably priced, especially considering that whatever is not grown or raised locally (like beer!) must be brought in by boat. The staff was excellent and highly capable/ helpful. The massage therapist was quite good, and an excellent bargain.

The lake is amazing- I am from North America, so it is rare to swim in a sandy bottom, clean WARM lake. The property is full of great places to lounge. Grounds are above average landscaping with fragrant flowers and nice raised walkways. The place is family friendly, but we had a great time as 2 couples, and loved the people watching. Plenty to do for one and all!

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank adventuregirrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2015

What and amazing location - if you can get there by boat and not have to drive even better. The roads around the lake are challenging and the road to Mariscos where they pick you up was pot holed and a very slow road. Denny is a great host, his staff are wonderful and the cabins and units vary in price and location on the property. We and our friends occupied the two units right near the water. Quite lovely. Hot water in the shower was a bit of a puzzle in one of the rooms, but overall comfortable and clean. The air conditioning was nice when returning to the unit to cool things off. Being so close to the water there were great breezes off the water to cool the place off. The location is simply spectacular. You do have to eat at the resort's little restaurant/bar if you don't have a kitchen in your unit but the food is fresh and affordable. Service is slow only because everything is made from scratch. You should plan to order and then go for a swim and come back. Lovely walks up and down the shore line through little traditional villages. The locals fish with their nets right off the shore. Quite a blend of cultures. We did a day trip the hot springs water fall - really really amazing!!! Also hired a boat for the day to take us all the way out on the Rio Dulce to Livingston - overall a day well spent. The side rivers are interesting and the birds and sights and communities of people living right on the water line and worth experiencing form the water. Wifi was mostly available right in front of Denny's house - but spotty when it got crowded - not that important when enjoyong pristine napping and lounging on the beach of in the hammocks on the dock!

Room tip: email Denny - he is very responsive and will work with you. He worked with us when our trip was delayed. I recommend if it is busy season to be further away from the beach front. If its hot the kids are in the water really early.
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews