We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
15 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$152
View Deal
Free cancellation until 13/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$152
View Deal
Free cancellation until 13/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Sonesta Hotels
US$208
US$137
View Deal
SAVE US$71
travelup.comUS$208
PricelineUS$152
Hotels.comUS$152
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,548)
Filter reviews
5,548 results
Traveller rating
3,234
1,462
491
188
173
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,234
1,462
491
188
173
Show reviews that mention
All reviews r club jazz club bourbon street desire oyster bar desire restaurant french quarter balcony room beautiful hotel oysters people watching third floor mardi gras street noise jackson square malcolm revolution nola
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 5,548 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2021 via mobile

Beautiful hotel right in the middle of everything .. they had 2 restaurants, desire which is nice and casual, and revolution which is upscale and fancy and we spent New Years there , coffee shop and gym attached. unfortunately due to covid the jazz bar is closed and weather didn’t let us see the pool. Very clean. We did make the mistake of thinking we “wanted “ the balcony room and upgraded .... didn’t get any sleep the first few nights due to the noise.. there’s no shutting out the sounds of bourbon street so unless u are among the 3am crowds don’t do the balcony ... construction, clean up and garbage starts around 6am... so not much peace good night sleeps . The bed was so comfy

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank stefaniekrizic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randall Long, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2021

Thanks for the great review. It can be a bit noisy on Bourbon, next time give our interior rooms a try. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2021

Housekeeping service not available for our four day stay, but they told us that in advance. The rest of their staff did what they could to compensate. Jacob (bellman), valet parking staff, front desk, and Peter and Ruthie of the Desire Oyster Bar Restaurant - were all chipping in to compensate.

We can see the this is a beautiful property with competent staff who are handicapped by corporate reactions to Covid.

My wife's best day on week long trip was napping in the sun poolside the Sonesta.

Room tip: Take an inside balcony room. You then have in-room access to the pool and courtyard.
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lapolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randall Long, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2021

Thanks for the feedback. We appreciate the great review and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2020

The only good thing about this hotel is the location. That is it. Staff was unfriendly, and room and overall experience was more comparable to a 3 star hotel. We stay in New Orleans frequently and this has been our worse hotel experience in 10 years. Room had a leaky sink, and the jacuzzi tub buttons were so gross and falling off. Each bed only had two pillows. Pool area was dirty, as well as the pool and there were no towels. I will never ever stay here again and I suggest you don't either. Such a disappointment. Stay at another local place instead!

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T1716ZGkatien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randall Long, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2020

I'm so sorry about your recent experience during your trip. We work to make each visit exceed expectations and we apologize we were not able to in this case. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2020

I reserved an interior room away from the streets, and it was quiet! Enjoyed the service. They enforce wearing masks and hand sanitizers before entering elevators. There is also a hallway access to their corner restaurant Desire Oyster Bar. Highly recommend!

Room tip: Interior rooms for quiet - Exterior rooms for street view/fun
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank lukecanderson615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2020

Check in was flawless. All covid precautions were taken. Valet was flawless. The room appeared clean. The fight in the hall at 12:00 am lasting till 1:30 including NOPD and security was maddening. The shower was not hot in the morning and then there was the bed bugs - yuck

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Annep230710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randall Long, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2020

I'm so sorry we did not meet your expectations during your stay. Our Director of Rooms has reached out to you to resolve the issues. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews