We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Affordable, Very New Orleans”
Review of The Pelham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pelham
Ranked #94 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We like to stay here for the various meetings we have in downtown New Orleans. It is convenient to the CBD and the French Quarter, the rooms are charming and very up to date and the staff very New Orleans...savvy, colorful, helpful, professional. Valet parking available. The Ruby Slipper next door is terrific for breakfast and/or lunch.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Carole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 132 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2016

Wonderful placed to stay !! Just make sure you park your car in a cheaper place!!! Its $30.00 a night there. Close to everything but not to close so you can enjoy the quiet! Great location. Very helpful staff and clean!!

Stayed: August 2016
2  Thank jandkf00te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We liked this hotel overall and it was good value...except when you added the cost of parking each night ($30/night), it wasn't quite such great value. Although we were told we could have the car within 5-10 minutes at any time, we tended not to want to go through the hassle and so just left the car parked most of the time. The staff was helpful and the room clean and comfortable. The beds were very high! The Ruby Slipper next door was great for breakfast/brunch and it was easy to walk to Canal St and take the tram, or to go to the riverside and walk along it into the French Quarter. I don't think we'd go back though because we'd rather have parking included in the cost and have our car more accessible.

Room Tip: We had a room facing Common St and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Hotels in NOLA can be a crapshoot. You want to be close to the action, but not be bothered by the noise (& debauchery) of it when you want to sleep. I picked this place because of its location and price (comparable to others in the area that had NO charm, it was a steal)

I really loved this place! The staff was friendly & helpful. The room was charming, if oddly laid out. It was within walking distance of pretty much all we wanted to do (Bourbon St, The Quarter, Superdome, Beignets). I loved the decor, I felt safe walking outside, and it was far enough away that it was quiet for sleeping. I will for sure stay here again when we visit NOLA What a find!

Room Tip: MUST have breakfast at Ruby Slipper, attached to the hotel! Soooo good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank pebbleinmyshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

I loved the hotel and the staff was friendly. Big perks were location to the French Quarter and The Ruby Slipper. Go to The Ruby Slipper to eat...it's a must.

I would definitely stay here again...my only complaint was the air conditioner (reason for 4 stars and not 5). The room was set up where it blew on our faces and we all felt kind of crappy in the morning. On the last night we just kept it warmer and I felt fine in the morning.

Thanks for a great visit!

Room Tip: Paid for a no windows room and got one with windows! You may get lucky. Really felt homey when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catheryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#52 of 167 in New Orleans
1,471 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Streetcar Inn
#141 of 167 in New Orleans
674 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#55 of 167 in New Orleans
2,701 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#113 of 167 in New Orleans
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pelham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelham

Address: 444 Common St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2415
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: €106 - €305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pelham 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pelham Hotel is in the heart of what you come to New Orleans for. Only minutes from the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino, the Riverwalk and the Warehouse District, distinctive styling, uncompromised convenience and a friendly staff await you. Historically located on a site that was formerly the plantation of Jean Baptist Lemoyne de Bienville, founder of New Orleans, the Pelham Hotel offers a grand scale of personal service and attention to detail in an intimate boutique setting reminiscent of old-world European grace. The hotel offers the luxurious living standards of elegant New Orleans combined with personal attention and an unwavering commitment to your happiness. This historic landmark hotel offers 60 uniquely appointed guestrooms featuring grand 18-foot ceilings, original old brick walls, crown molding and 10-foot-tall windows. Each room is fitted in imported white linens, duvets and antique furnishings. In-room amenities include a self-programmable safe, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and radio alarm clocks with iPod/MP3 connections. Marble floors, granite vanity tops and curved shower rods adorn each bathroom. Adjacent to the Pelham Hotel is the highly acclaimed Ruby Slipper Restaurant, featuring local flavors such as BBQ Shrimp & Grits and Bananas Foster Pain Perdu along with traditional favorites for breakfast and lunch. Surf the web or catch up on some work with peace of mind as all guests of the Pelham Hotel can enjoy free wireless Internet access! Hotel is 100% Smoke-Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pelham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pelham Hotel New Orleans
Pelham Hotel New Orleans
Pelham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing