We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Texarkana, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New Years Eve”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stayed at the Monteleone for New Years Eve with my fiance and parents...we loved it! The hotel is very beautiful, historic and classy. The rooms are small, but didn't bother us as we only needed it for getting dressed and sleeping. The Carousel Bar is a lot of fun, the rooftop pool is heated in the winter and they have a fun little bar next to it, perfect for the summer. The River View Room is amazing at night..def worth a trip up there, we took some drinks and just sat looking out of the windows one night after our night on the town. The hotel is in the prefect location...you can easily walk to Bourbon St, Jackson Square, River Walk, Casino, Etc. Overall it is a fun & classy place to stay, I highly recommend for couples.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CourtCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,662
    1,546
    472
    209
    117
See reviews for
1,172
2,646
220
1,439
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This was my husband's first visit to New Orleans. A colleague, formerly from New Orleans, had highly recommended this hotel. If I could not get into this one, she had said to try Hotel Bienville. We were able to obtain a room. The price is a little high but the quality and location are supurb. The staff in the Carnival lounge could use a few helpful hints in being friendly and courteous. We were in there on 2 different occasions with 3 different wait staff and they were perfunctorily performing their duties. There was a musician at night who found a niche in an auditorium of sorts made out of a closed store's entryway just across the street. The sound seemed to billow up to our hotel room almost as if the window was open. When he decided to end for the evening, sleeping was a breeze. Given the location, good accommodations and doormen; I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed in this beautiful classic French Quarter hotel January 31st to February 4th. While the rooms were fairly typical for a nice hotel, the overall ambiance of the hotel was great. But what really inspired me to write this review was the superb customer service I received from the concierge, Joey. We had traveled 30 miles outside the city limits with some friends to eat at a restaurant, where I inadvertently left my prescription glasses. With no rental car at hand, I wasn't certain how I would retrieve them. Joey called on my behalf, found a member of their staff who lived in his area, arranged to have the glasses brought home, and picked them up for me, delivering to me my glasses within 36 hours of my losing them! Now that's exceptional service!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the Mississippi
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sowherearewegoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, ON
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed at the Monteleone Feb 9 - 11 and found the staff excellent, the rooms clean, the Carousel Bar a great place to socialize, and the breakfast buffets delicious. The location is within walking distance for all major sights and events - Canal St., Bourbon St., the Casino and The River Walk, are easily accessible. There are 100's of fabulous restaurants in this area. I would advise any 1st time visitor's to take a city/county bus tour. Visiting NOLA a week before Mardi Gras still provides lots of sights as well as parades. This Hotel is the 'best' and NOLA is absolutely wonderful. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a great view. However, being at the side/rear does provide a quiet nights sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed in a Queen Suite...small room with view of the Mississippi over the industrial rooftops of the buildings between the hotel and the river. Quaint furnishings but tight in the room. Comfortable bed and linens. Only one chair. Service and staff were excellent. The location is excellent if you want to be in the throes of all that is the French Quarter. Wifi is an extra charge - something that I take offense at in a room at this level and rate. Overall a good experience, but will probably look for something with larger floor space for my next visit.

Room Tip: Odd number rooms are on the back of the hotel and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVTraveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,392 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,120 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,397 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing