We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location, but bring ear plugs!”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #8 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location, but bring ear plugs!”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I just returned from a trip to New Orleans for Mardi Gras and stayed at the Hotel Monteleone. I have stayed at this hotel in the past, but I do not remember the rooms being so small and noisy as they were this time. The noises had nothing to do with Mardi Gras, either; toilets flushing from above, babies crying across the hall, etc. As for the room size, my husband and I both have lean builds and it was near impossible to navigate between the small space at the end of the bed and the armoir. The rooms are long and linear at the Hotel Monteleone - maybe if the bed was re-oriented the space in the room could be better utilized. Otherwise, the location is fantastic and the Carousel Bar is worth a ride.

Room Tip: Need to upgrade to a suite or two bed room for more space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stemiliongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear stemiliongirl,

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent stay with us at the Hotel Monteleone. Our rooms are rather small, as are many rooms in the French Quarter. As for the noise, all we can do is apologize. Mardi Gras is an especially busy time, as we are at full capacity and as an historic hotel our walls are thin. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,880
    1,608
    490
    214
    118
See reviews for
1,241
2,775
229
1,487
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I would definitely stay again
I would recommend to anyone going to New Orleans!!!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfuhrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Outstanding service, rooms, staff and location! Linens soft and fluffy pillows. Fantastic security and phenonal service at the only moving bar in town. A MUST for your New Orleans experience!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crzymnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Was here for Mardi Gras. Location is excellent. No free wifi - was $10 a day. When we booked there was supposed to be a free continental breakfast. When we got there it wasn't included anymore. We brought this to their attention and they said unless we have something on paper too bad. Although very nice, I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

.......... or at least I thought this hotel was a perfect location because I was able to walk to so many different places (shops, restaurants, the French Quarter) without having to rent a car! The shuttle from the airport is so conveniant that renting a car would have Only meant more expense. Why? I would have had to pay for parking. Shuttles aren't for everyone but it was perfect for me.

If you choose to stay at this hotel I don't think you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pennydaredevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,158 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 164 in New Orleans
4,638 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
5,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,367 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,199 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing