We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Interesting French Quarter experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olivier House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Olivier House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting French Quarter experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We had a large group stay and had 7 different rooms. All the rooms were interesting and unique with nice public areas. Everyone found the place interesting.

The only minor issue was we were in town during an unusually cool few nights and the central heating was uneven between the rooms. Rooms on the lower floors were cold and those on the upper floors got warm. The hotel mgmt. did their best to accomodate adding space heaters in a few rooms. Other rooms we ran the window A/C unit or opened the door to cool things off.

Room Tip: Request heat control for you room if it is going to be cold. Room 105 is between two courtyards, gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnGHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    129
    44
    21
    29
See reviews for
102
220
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

This delightful hotel is situated right off the corner of Bourbon Street on Toulouse in the French Quarter. If you enjoy historic charm, then look no further then the Olivier House. The Olivier House Hotel is one of a number of hotels that are named on the French Quarter Haunted List; apparently it is haunted by a spirit named Elizabeth but I have never seen any evidence of that. My son and I stayed here when we were building homes for Habitat during the Katrina Relief Effort and it continues to be one of my favorite stopovers.
The original section of this mid eighteenth century Creole home is still intact; from the beautiful wool carpets that grace the huge hallway entrance and the adjoining parlor, to the ornate wall hangings and original light fixtures; it is no surprise that the Oliver House is most preferred among theater people. If you choose to bypass the eye catching wooden stairwell to take the elevator to get to your room, there is a hidden door under the arched staircase; you’ll have to duck to open it but it’s worth the short jaunt. The door will open onto to a beautiful court yard containing a miniature swimming pool that is surrounded by lush plants and trees. Take a short walk on the patio cobble stones in the opposite direction, turn left and ten feet away you’ll discover a minuscule elevator. If you suffer from claustrophobia I suggest you take the stairwell to your room; the elevator is approximately 4’ x 2’ and if you’re toting luggage it can be a real feat getting in and closing the door. The creaks and groans of the antique machinery may make one squeamish but I think it adds the ambiance of this popular hotel. The staff is very friendly and polite. I highly recommend that you reserve your room well in advance and specifically request a room that has a balcony facing Toulouse Street.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies facing Toulouse Street allow you to sit outside and enjoy the music and sounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountains, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed in room 303 for four nights recently and were very happy. The room had a balcony overlooking the courtyard pool area, a nicely renovated bathroom and an ornate iron bed against the backdrop of an ancient looking brick wall. It was well furnished, clean, roomy and comfortable - and surprisingly very quiet for it's close to Bourbon Street location.
This is an older property that has it's quirks (a very small elevator that my husband got stuck in for a short time and spotty maid service) but the people that work there could not be nicer or more helpful and the whole place reeks of old-style French Quarter charm. The decor is beautiful in a shabby chic sort of way and I loved that all of the rooms are uniquely furnished and configured.
We also loved the convenience of being so close to everything the quarter has to offer - we didn't bring a car and were able to easily walk to every restaurant and sight we wanted to see.

Thank you Olivier House for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingfun1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Wonderful place, enjoyed our stay. Remembered the place fondly from 1984, now have two great memories.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidhill1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Overall my experience at the Olivier House was pleasant. But, wow was my room tacky, unmaintained, musty smelling(even the pillows) and dirty linens left in the bathroom by housekeeping. All of the wallpaper was literally hanging off the wall and the carpets were filthy. The room I was in was a suite. Basically Bed upstairs and everything else downstairs. Sounds cool but a day into my stay I found it inconvenient running up and down the stairs, mainly to the bathroom.

I want to make sure you all understand that the staff was amazing and very helpful! Any issue I had they did their best to resolve as quickly as possible!
The location was perfect. Half a block off Bourbon St. so, just far enough off to be quiet and just a one minute walk to the center of all the action.

I would consider staying here again as long as I was guaranteed that I would not be put back in room 207!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are not that quiet. Stay away from room 207
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HumbleHomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,114 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,760 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,685 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivier House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivier House Hotel

Property: Olivier House Hotel
Address: 828 Toulouse St., New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Olivier House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olivier House Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the French Quarter of New Orleans. It is a unique and historic property that was originally constructed in 1839 as a Creole townhouse for the wealthy Olivier family. It has been privately owned and operated as the Olivier House Hotel since 1970. The hotel offers 42 unique guest rooms, lovely public areas, a refreshing outdoor pool, and paid off street parking. The Olivier House Hotel maintains a feeling of old world New Orleans, while providing modern conveniences such as free wireless internet and flat screen TVs in all rooms. The Olivier House Hotel represents New Orleans, and feels a responsibility to share our unique history, traditions, and culture in order to enhance the experience of guests to our city. Guests at the Olivier House Hotel can feel at home in the French Quarter, while experiencing the best New Orleans has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Hotel.de so you can book your Olivier House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivier House Hotel New Orleans
Olivier Hotel New Orleans
Olivier New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing