We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The Bourbon Orleans provided a beautiful room looking onto the courtyard and pool, a spacious and comfortable lobby and attrative dining area that served our needs wonderfully. I also loved the ceiling art in the bar. The staff were incredibly professional but still very friendly and extremely accommodating. The location was very close to a myriad of sightseeing destinations. Our stay was everything we could hope for. Would stay there again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,973 - 5,977 of 6,355 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

My wife and I have visited New Orleans on many occasions but this was our first stay at the Bourbon Orleans. The location is excellent, just a couple blocks from Jackson Square and seconds from either Bourbon or Royal Streets. The hotel can easily be overlooked among the other larger "classic" accommodations in the area such as the Royal Sonesta, the Monteleone or the Omni Royal Orleans. This would be a pity.

The Bourbon Orleans is elegant and historic without being old-fashioned. The rooms are large and quiet -- even our room facing Bourbon Street was well insulated from the frenzy outside. The bathrooms are spacious and the shower excellent -- water controls at the back . . . how sensible! The staff were friendly and professional, looking out for the comfort of their guests. Our complaints were entirely minor--a wet bar but no mini-fridge, a couple stray clothing tags left in a drawer when we checked in, a particularly harried morning in the breakfast restaurant--and in no way detracted from our visit.

When visiting New Orleans it is always great to find a hotel that, even inside, lets you know you are in New Orleans. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScotchNSoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

My husband and I had the opportunity to stay at The Bourbon Orleans Hotel this past weekend. We LOVED it! We travel a lot and have stayed at a variety of properties and the service here is exceptional. The front doors of the hotel were always opened for us any time of the day or night...they were always staffed. Check-in was both quick, professional and friendly. Our room was very nice and large for a historic hotel. The bed was also extremely comfortable! Our room faced the pool and was very quiet. We also loved the location of the hotel. It is right behind Jackson Square. Easy walk to Frenchmen's Street for great jazz (and a more low key experience than the French Quarter). Cafe Du Monde is also very close by for the required beignets (a must when you visit). The Bourbon Orleans Hotel will definitely be our hotel of choice when visiting New Orleans. They also have a special for stays Sunday - Thursday - Use Promo Code "barcoup" for $25 off per night!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruising28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I didn't intend to stay at the Bourbon Orleans, but our other hotel canceled due to Hurricane Isaac damage. We were scrambling to find two rooms--quick--and the Bourbon Orleans gave us a great rate. We loved the loft-style rooms (you can entertain--or escape--downstairs while someone sleeps/dresses upstairs). The hotel is very clean with comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. Great air conditioning. Pillows were a bit unyielding... The room was also very quiet. No street noise at all.

The location is FANTASTIC. Situated between Bourbon & Royal, you can choose between quiet window-shopping and all that other craziness. If you do indulge in all that craziness, the best cure is Cafe du Monde only a short walk away! And you just might, because the hotel bar makes a fantastic Sazerac!

I highly recommend this lovely and charming hotel.

Room Tip: Sleeping on the 5th floor, we weren't bothered by street noise or other hotel noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sydney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My Husband and I made reservations to spend our honeymoon at the Bourbon Orleans. From the very beginning the staff was so helpful. When we arrived we were made to feel like the most important guest they had. Valet parking was very attentive and the reception desk was so sweet. We walked into our cool (Temperature) room and immediately started exploring. The letter from the general manager was such a surprise, the upstairs bedroom was so nice, the walk in shower was so clean and sleek, and when we walked out on our balcony we had such a stunning view!!! We were close to everything. We walked everywhere, the aquarium, Canal Street, Jackson Square. Our first night was so comfortable and relaxing, it was so nice to rent a movie right in in our room. The next morning we went out and enjoyed shopping and some local restuarants and came back to relax...unfortunatly we were faced with hurricane Isaac. When we had made the decision to get out of the storm path the staff were more than sympathetic and assisted us with a quick check out and bringing our car around. I cannot wait to stay at The Bourbon Orleans again...(HONEYMOON PART TWO!!!) Clean, comfortable and outstanding hotel!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,360 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,685 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#22 of 166 in New Orleans
4,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,307 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,579 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: €143 - €406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing