We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (811)
Filter reviews
811 results
Traveller rating
759
40
7
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
759
40
7
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front porch city park bananas foster waffles creole queen room the main house rocking chairs french quarter jazz festival house is beautiful b bs esplanade avenue place to stay excellent hosts each morning gated parking thought of everything breakfast was amazing
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 811 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2016

My husband and I were searching for a distinctive and welcoming bed and breakfast for meeting up with another couple for a weekend getaway. We couldn't have found a more perfect place than Ashton's Bed and Breakfast. Arrangements to check in (me and my husband at two different times) went smoothly. The rooms in this 1861 home were comfortable and beautifully decorated. There were reading lights on both sides of the bed! Lots of plugs to recharge devices and a lighted make-up mirror in the bathroom. The dining room, where the decadently delicious breakfasts were served, was well stocked with snacks, drinks, coffee and tea for any time of the day. There were also wine glasses and corkscrews available for loan so we could buy a bottle of wine and sit with our friends and visit on the porch or in the parlor, and NOT drink out of plastic bathroom glasses. Patrick and Karma, our hosts, were very accommodating for guests' dietary needs. One of our party was lactose intolerant, and going non-dairy was not an issue. They were also extremely helpful to us and others with dinner advice and reservations, and general tourist information. They shared a print-out of an enjoyable walking tour of the French Quarter. Being in a neighborhood apart from the revelry of the Quarter was relaxing. There was a funky little collection of shops and restaurants a walk (less than a mile) down beautiful Esplanade Ave that gave you the feeling of being a local, and not a visitor. Getting cabs or an Uber into the various neighborhoods was a breeze. Staying at Ashton's was definitely a memorable highlight of our visit to the Big Easy.

Room tip: We chose a room in the back to take advantage of the courtyard view.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LauraDB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016

As to the overall experience, we can only echo the many positive reviews left before us -- The building and rooms are stunningly beautiful, and the entire place is filled with detailed touches that go the extra mile.

What we'd like to focus our review on is how vegan friendly this B&B was. Typically, our options in a hotel are pretty minimal: fruit, oatmeal, etc. Not at Ashton's! They strive to provide guests with dietary restrictions the same gourmet breakfast experience as their other guests -- and they absolutely succeed!! We had a vegan adapted version of their sweet potato stuffed french toast, breakfast scones, and eggs Benedict. Not only were they delicious, and among the best breakfasts (vegan or otherwise) that we've ever had, but Patrick and Karma actually taught us a few new things about vegan cooking; they were aware of vegan recipes, substitutes and ingredients we had never even tried. They have an excellent understanding of the nuances of vegan eating, and asked thoughtful questions about what we do/don't eat to ensure they were meeting our needs.
And the end result: the food was beyond delicious, beautifully presented, and made our experience there unforgettable!

Room tip: We loved the French Quarter, and prefer the Patio Wing Rooms as they seem to offer a bit more privacy than the main house.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

I recently stayed for the second time and was again overwhelmed by the quality of the accommodations, attention to detail with amenities and absolute charm of owners Patrick and Karma. It's hard to imagine a better standard of hospitality.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shandypockets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

My wife and I had never been to New Orleans and managed to stay for three nights between business trips. We booked Ashton's B&B four three nights and were so pleased with our experience. First easy access right off the HWY 10 Esplanade Exit. A quiet neighborhood, Luxurious room, (The Cajun Queen) overlooking a 300 year old oak tree. Hosts Pat and Karma are wonderful hosts who have created something special in historic home. Did I mention the great breakfasts? Bananas Foster, Eggs Benedict, and homemade muffins. The broad front porch and rocking chairs cause passers by to comment, "Nice Porch!" Great spot for a cup of coffee or glass of wine. By all means drive or rent a car. It is easy to negotiate NOLA if you do not try to park in the French Quarter. Lots to see and lots to do. Cannot wait to return!

Room tip: Our room was great with soaker tub and enormous bath, Cajun Queen, Back rooms will be quietest. Website very good.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danotodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Ashtons was a great bed and breakfast. The inn was very clean and homey. The innkeepers, Patrick and Carma were very helpful in giving us information about the area and things to do. The location is good - its close enough to the night life but far enough away so it is more quiet. I would recommend staying here.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ssimon1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews