We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locals "French Quarter"”
Review of Frenchmen Street

Frenchmen Street
Book In Advance
More Info
US$41.50*
and up
Dinner and Live Jazz Package - New Orleans
More Info
US$49.00*
and up
City of New Orleans and Katrina Recovery Tour
More Info
US$55.00*
and up
New Orleans Express Segway Tour
Ranked #5 of 358 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Locals "French Quarter"”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Fortunately, while we were in NOLA we had the benefit of experiencing the city with a local.....nothing better than local knowledge. We were escorted to Frenchman St. And enjoyed the incredible music scene there.....ah to have local knowledge!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank noona82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,718
    2,294
    517
    130
    60
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brass Band showdown”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

After a great night of live music at the Spotted Cat, we were treated to amazing music on the street on our walk home; two great brass bands were doing a call and response between the band on the street corner and one on the balcony. Fantastic!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank HilaryCz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What Bourbon Street Should Be”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Live music. Great atmosphere. Great food and beverage. You will be so happy you went past all of the tourists.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“frenchmen street”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

supposedly where the locals go to hear live jazz. we loved it. it was pretty crowded and the bars were small and funky and fun. the best band we heard was a group of young guys playing on a street corner. they were so great!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Love this street!”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Great street to stroll and have some beers while listening to music!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank katie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frenchmen Street also viewed

 

Been to Frenchmen Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing