We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location for the music lover, but not light sleepers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Frenchmen Orleans at 519
Certificate of Excellence
Newark, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Location for the music lover, but not light sleepers”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We had a great vacation staying at the Frenchman Orleans. Talk about being right in the action. There will be some noise. Mostly live jazz coming from the street! Less touristy than Bourbon Street, your front hallway balcony drapes right over Frenchman Street. Don't get me wrong, it's still touristy, but it's more the music lovers that could actually blend as possibly being a local. It is a great location because you are steps away from the Spotted Cat, Snug Harbor, The Blue Nile, & the Three Muses. They all have live sets of music & only on Friday & Sat does the street noise elevate to a level of Bourbon street.
There is a pool & a hot tub, both outdoors, 24 hrs. & no time limit. Parking is behind the building & we paid half of the average price of other hotels.
We had one of the "older decor" rooms. The desk clerk told me that a resort is buying 2 per year & remodeling them. Ours was dingy, but clean. We saw inside the newer ones & they were beautiful. Flat screens, new appliances, updated lighting etc. Either way, you have everything you need to cook, do laundry, shower & sleep comfortably. Air conditioner worked good & the courtyard/fountain inside was beautiful. We brought our bikes & they were safe, even if unlocked, inside the locked gate, under the stairs.
The neighborhood is called the Marigny & is home to some good restaurants, a dry cleaners, a a a small grocery/bodega, a bicycle repair shop, cafe's and an antique store. Plus you are one block from the French Quarter.
Location is the real gem for this property. It seems to be run well & the staff made every attempt to make our stay worry free. I definetely would stat there again~

Room Tip: Ask if newer room is available. We booked with Expedia, got the older room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ShopGirl_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    48
    21
    18
    7
See reviews for
44
42
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coatesville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Having spent several trips to New Orleans in the past few years, this was only the second hotel I've stayed in outside of the French Quarter (Granted not very far). The room lived up to expectations, nothing fancy but more than adequete. The location is the big bonus here if you are into the music scene. Within a 2 block walk are several of New Orleans premier music clubs. Two blocks the other direction you are in the French Quarter. The only possible downside to the hotel is the music does go all night and if you need quiet to sleep, pack some ear plugs. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there agian.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gravedigger_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This was our second stay at Frechmen 519 - the staff are wonderful, like coming to visit family! Location is great whether you love the night life, or want a short walk to the trolley with access to just about everything within walking distance. Units are very comfortable and more than adequate including kitchen/dining area and living room. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We prefer two bedroom with larger bathroom, but the one bedroom has a larger kitchen - just depends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed here last weekend (Jan 27-29 2012). The rate was 225 per night with tax included. For that rate we got a large living room, full kitchen, two bedrooms and a sleeper sofa. Our apartment had a back door directly out to the pool and hot tub.

The location is EXCELLENT. So close to everything. Frenchmen st. is such a fun neighborhood. And if Bourbon st. is more your game it is only a 10-15 min walk.

Overall, SO MUCH better than a hotel. The 2nd floor balcony is great to sit on and have a drink while people watching and listening to the sounds of the street.

It is pretty noisy at night, so if you are trying to 'get away from it all' and plan on going to sleep at 10 pm, do not stay here. Otherwise, if you are planning on doing NOLA right (i.e., staying out until 3 am while enjoying jazz music, food, and beverages) this is the perfect place for a group of friends! Also, would be great for young couples or fun-loving older couples!

Room Tip: We got a renovated room, it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodtraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta PA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and checked into Room 201. We brought our bicycles and we were able to keep them underneath the steps. Our room was very spacious with a large kitchen and very nice living room and 2 bedrooms. The music from Frenchman Street clubs can be very loud so if you are a light sleeper you may keep that in mind. I am not so it was not a problem. There is a very nice laundry to wash your clothes and a hot tub and pool in the rear courtyard. Of all the places we have stayed in New Orleans this may be the nicest. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Will0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#46 of 163 in New Orleans
932 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,698 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#26 of 163 in New Orleans
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,546 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#19 of 163 in New Orleans
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchmen Orleans at 519? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchmen Orleans at 519

Property: Frenchmen Orleans at 519
Address: 519 Frenchmen Street, New Orleans, LA 70116-2044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 Speciality Lodging in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Frenchmen Orleans at 519 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Festiva Hospitality Group is proud to introduce its very own Frenchmen Orleans. Within walking distance of all the world-famous French Quarter attractions and the newly acclaimed cultural and arts district of Frenchmen Street, the Frenchmen Orleans is as close to the action of New Orleans as you can be! Whether you’re there for shopping, history, architecture, music, art, sightseeing or Mardi Gras, the Frenchmen Orleans is the perfect home base for a stay in the Big Easy for any interest and age group.After a busy day enjoying the sights and sounds of the city you may wish to take advantage of the Frenchmen Orleans’ private courtyard, pool and spa; or perhaps you want to enjoy a quiet evening inside preparing a meal in your fully equipped kitchen. Regardless, our staff is committed to your comfort and convenience during your stay.Connect with Festiva Hospitality Group on the major social networking sites. Festiva is very active on following and updating new and information so you will never lose track of events and specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Frenchmen Orleans at 519 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmen Orleans At 519, a Festiva Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing