We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total worthless place to go.”
Review of Ugly Dog Saloon

Ugly Dog Saloon
Get food delivered
Ranked #70 of 172 Quick Bites in New Orleans
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Warehouse/Central Business District
Reviewed 21 May 2021 via mobile

Total worthless place to go. Sat there for 15 minutes not a single server even looked at me. It’s filthy dirty with sticky tables and not worth giving them a dime

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Buckhunter63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2020

I had the burnt tips sandwich and coleslaw. I thought it was very good! We visited on a very chilly Monday night. The place was virtually empty. Service was very quick. You order after walking in, pay and pick your table. The tables were socially distant from each other with lots of empty space between them. When your food is ready, you pick it up from a window. I felt safe dining here and would visit again.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Bucky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2020

A group of us recently started a monthly activity that includes us supporting a local business or eatery. COVID has altered how we all do things and relying on each other to get through has become our priority. Unfortunately, not every business we encountered on this journey lives up to that. If you have read a few of my reviews, you would see that we have been treated horribly at some places. We stopped in at a restaurant right across the street but were turned away because it was almost closing time. A few other places in the area appeared to be a little bit to 'trendy' for our tastes.

This is certainly not the case for the UGLY DOG SALOON that was right across the street! It was near closing time on Saturday, October 24th and they treated a party of about 10 people like family. They were excited to have us and it showed. The bartender who took our order was very nice and assured us that our experience would not be 'rushed' . I believe the gentleman doing all the cooking was 'Walt'. Walt is an excellent man to have preparing the food because everyone really enjoyed their meals. Walt seem to have prepared everything with care. Great Food All Around! Friendly people, and we will for sure be going back and telling others to do the same.

The Ugly Dog Saloon appreciated our business and it showed. We sincerely appreciate that more that anything else. They were all very happy to have us a customers and treated us with kindness and gratitude the entire time we were there.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GoodeAdvice100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2020

I was prepared to eat great food and drink cold beer. I had a chicken caesar salad which was not very appetising. At least the beer was cold.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank harmsenom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2020

This place is not far from WWll museum and it's funky and fun. You have to order food at the bar and then it will be buzzed to pick it up at the kitchen window. The food is so tasty and has a great southern style bent. Mac n cheese, baked beans, cole slaw and BBQ meats is a really satisfying and delicious. I would go back in a heart beat.

Date of visit: March 2020
2  Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ugly Dog Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Ugly Dog Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.