We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal”

Arnaud's Restaurant / French 75 Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Arnaud's Restaurant / French 75 Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #179 of 2,142 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Between Bourbon & Dauphine Streets
Transit: Near Streetcar Line
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Celebrated my wife’s birthday here. She wanted a dining experience that captured the essence of New Orleans. Arnaud’s delivered. The service was outstanding - Douglas and Johnnie took great care of us, did not rush us, and let us make an evening out of the occasion. The food was outstanding - raw oysters, shrimp bisque, filet au poivre, crab karen, chocolate toffee bomb, bananas foster. Make time to visit the Mardi Gras Museum upstairs, which displays the gowns worn by Germaine Cazenave Wells over the years. Our kids loved it, including going up alone when it was quiet, dark, and spooky. They both confirmed ghost “sighting” while there. I look forward to a return trip to New Orleans and will make it a point to return here for dinner.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank JoeG810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnaudsNewOrleans, Guest Relations Manager at Arnaud's Restaurant / French 75 Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Fantastic! We are thrilled to have helped your wife celebrate her day! We look forward ot the next time you can dine with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 198 of 2,451 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2018

Visited Arnaud's for a special occasion dinner wanting something nice and classy. The restaurant is very classy and formal, but not stuffy. They service was very prompt and each table has a team of several servers so no dish sat on the table empty for more than a few seconds. Although the service was fast, it did lack a bit of character. The food was good, but not necessarily memorable. I had the crab cakes and they were very nice, especially the frise salad on the side. My husband had the frog legs and thought that they were pretty basic. For dessert we had the peanut butter pie, which was delicious, however I dock a point because the crust was inedible. The pie is served with spoons, but really a chef's knife is needed to cut through the crust. We were only able to chip off a few pieces of crust with much effort and it usually resulted in pieces of crust flying through the air. It is worth trying once for the atmosphere, but I don't think Arnaud's is worth a repeat visit.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChicagomomZ2308WK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnaudsNewOrleans, Guest Relations Manager at Arnaud's Restaurant / French 75 Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our Tripadvisor readers. I have expressed your thoughts about the pie to our Chef. We would not be able to improve without reviews like yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

This was a business diner invited by a large company there in New Orleans. They rented the private dining area on the second floor with a balcony over looking Bourbon St. which was great. The turtle soup was excellent and highly recommended. Overall the food was excellent and the same for the service. When I get back to Bourbon St. I will be stopping for diner or brunch again.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank steve650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnaudsNewOrleans, Guest Relations Manager at Arnaud's Restaurant / French 75 Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for tripadvisor reader to see. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

My husband and I along with our friends visited Arnaud's for brunch. We had a great team of servers at our beck and call. All of the food we ordered was delicious. And, we were given a private tour of the restaurant's museum. (Ask your server to set this up.) I suggest you go on the early side (around 11:00 am), because the place gets packed. The other thing to know is that brunch is so reasonably priced; about $30+ for a starter, salad, main, and dessert. Drinks are extra. Arnaud's is a little fancy, but brings all the history of NOLA together with great hospitality and solid food.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank R20007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnaudsNewOrleans, Guest Relations Manager at Arnaud's Restaurant / French 75 Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Fantastic! We are thrilled that you and your guests had a wonderful time dining with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

Arnaud's is a well known restaurant in New Orleans that we had not yet experienced. We ate in the jazz Bistro which was a little loud but a lot of fun and very good food. Be sure to make a reservation as the table is yours for as long as you want to stay

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BobShallotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnaudsNewOrleans, Guest Relations Manager at Arnaud's Restaurant / French 75 Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

We are happy to know you enjoyed our festive Jazz Bistro and the Gumbo trio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arnaud's Restaurant / French 75 Bar also viewed

 

Been to Arnaud's Restaurant / French 75 Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing