We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Old School diner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Camellia Grill

The Camellia Grill
Ranked #66 of 1,873 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Uptown / Carrollton
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Old School diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

My daughter and I ate here after mass during spring break. It is nice, service was excellent, fast and food good. Very reasonably priced considering the restaurants in the area want $14 for an egg omelet. This is your 1950s style dinner. Family friendly.....

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Redleg006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    286
    66
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food/great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

What a treat! The place is very small, but very cool. It is literally a 50's dining experience. I felt like I was stepping back in time. My daughter and I had eggs, bacon, and hash browns, my son has a burger, and my husband had an omelet. You sit at the counter and watch them cook up your food...well, we watched them make one shake after another...so we ordered one of those, too! We had no complaints...everything was just fantastic. I highly recommend you head up to Camillia Grill and back in time!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank teho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast in The Quarter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Took my daughters on a Sunday Morning for breakfast and it could not have been more perfect. The service was outstanding and the food even better. Pancakes,eggs,waffles,bacon all were cooked to perfection and served with a smile. I look forward to returning next time I am in New Orleans!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdmnyc
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Coffee Shop Like No Other”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

I just happened across Camellia Grill on my first morning in New Orleans...and I'm sure I glad I did. What a great experience! From the moment you sit down at the counter, you realize this is no ordinary coffee shop. The waiters have such big hearts, riffing with you, shouting the orders to the chef, joking around. And it's genuine. They're just having a good time. And it brings a smile to everyone's faces. And I haven't even mentioned the food which is great...plain home cooking, nothing fancy, but tasty and satisfying.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jdmnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best food for the money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Great home cooking. We, too, had the cheeseburgers. They were great but it was a hard choice. Everything on the menu looked good.

No wait--we were immediately seated. Everyone was super friendly.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Red Raider Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Camellia Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Camellia Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing