We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hyatt Regency New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$207
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
InterContinental New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$242
US$207
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Eliza Jane(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$190/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$171
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Loews New Orleans Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$111
Loews Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Windsor Court Hotel(New Orleans)
US$313
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$334/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Whitney Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$132
US$124
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$199/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

MOXY New Orleans Downtown/French Quarter Area(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$90
Moxy Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
20
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Great location in Algiers Point - just across the river from downtown New Orleans. Our upstairs room was spacious and very comfortable. Ed and Hillery are charming and gracious hosts and breakfast was excellent. A short walk (about 300yds) to the ferry - about 5min across to the French Quarter. ($2 each way, exact amount required, leaves on the hour and half hour and quarter to and quarter past on the return journey). Ferry times were a bit limited when we visited - finishing at 9.45pm (8pm on weekends), however Ed informed me that this was to be extended soon. (Check ferry website or with Ed).

Plenty of parking on the street outside and WiFi is available. We would thoroughly recommend B and B At the Point for a relaxing and enjoyable stay in New Orleans.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015

While I was in New Orleans last month for the Crescent Connection Bridge Run and the Bridgeman Duathlon, I lodged at the Bed and Breakfast on the Point and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Ed and Hillery were fantastic hosts and very accommodating!

You couldn’t beat the breakfast and conversations at the 8:30 breakfast. On the first morning, I had breakfast with two gentlemen from Bath, England, and we talked about marathons and triathlons along with why American cities have zoning laws. Oh, and I probably ate more than my share of pralines.

If you like historical houses, then you’ll like staying here. The house is a two-story double gallery Greek Revival mansion constructed in 1848-1849 by two riverboat captains, Augustin Seger and Thomas Rees. The house still has the wood floors from that era, and yes, the floors do squeak a little but that adds to the ambiance of being in a historical home.

I stayed in the LeVergne Suite on the second level, and when I looked out the window, I had a nice view of the site’s iconic 400-year-old oak tree. My bed was very comfortable. It was almost like I was sleeping in my own bed at home.

Bed and Breakfast at the Point is located in Algiers Point, which is the second oldest neighborhood in New Orleans and designated on the National Register of Historical Places. Don’t worry about being too far away from the French Quarter. The house is three blocks from the Algiers-Canal Street Ferry. The neighborhood is very safe for walking, and the houses display an array of architecture distinctively New Orleans. If you’re in the mood for a morning run or bike ride, the Mississippi River Trail is nearby providing a nice view of the Mississippi River and NOLA skyline.

This was my first time staying at a bed and breakfast, and my stay at Bed and Breakfast at the Point sold me on the experience. I look forward to staying here on my future trips to the Crescent City.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Griffin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2015

We are so very glad we found Bed and Breakfast at the Point on Algiers Point - it's just a five minute walk to the ferry over to Canal Street, the breakfasts by Ed are amazing, and the atmosphere and friendliness of the owners, Ed and Hillery, and their two dogs, Cookie and Wishbone are fantastic. We're definitely making this our home away from home for all our visits to NOLA. The room was spacious with plenty of closet space, a convenient desk for our laptop, side table and chairs for morning coffee and a super-comfy bed. The bathroom was also spacious, with coffee maker and fixins, hair dryer and more at our disposal. We truly enjoyed the laid back atmosphere, and ending the day downstairs in the living room with Ed and Hillery and the pups, talking about that days adventures and sharing ideas for the next days roaming. They also have a lovely pool out back with plenty of chairs and tables to sit and relax - we ended most every evening with our toes dipped in the pool and a night cap. As a "furry" mom of four dogs, it was so nice to have Cookie and Wishbone around to love on - made it easier to be away from our dogs, and now we know we can bring one of our furry kids with us next time we come to stay. Ed and Hillery also gave us great advice on where to eat and shop, both on the point and across the river in the French Quarter, Garden District and along Freret Street. All in all, it was a fantastic birthday weekend for me and one we will definitely be repeating in the months ahead.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious and inviting, but the downstairs front room is really lovely!
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Riogal87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2014

I'm so glad that the hotels across the river were full when I wanted to stay there for a conference. That brought me to Ed and Hillary's B&B in Algiers Point and an immersion course in local lore as well as much more. At various times the old 19th century house has been home to a river boat captain, a railroad magnate and a celebrated jazz musician (who is memorialized on a plaque affixed to the front wall). It has been sensitively refurbished and appropriately updated without destroying its authenticity. The beds are large and comfortable, the ceilings soar, bits of art and curios adorn the walls and the floorboards have just the right amount of creak to be enticing rather than annoying. My bathroom was large enough to have held a small party in and one wall hosted a non-working antique gas heater. The rooms were toasty in temperatures that flirted with freezing at night and the two dogs were companionable if invited. Leaves on a 200 year old oak rustled outside the window; klaxons on trains and river boats were far enough away to provide the right kind of atmosphere to lull one to sleep. Neighborhood homes display a range of architectural styles and are in almost uniformly good repair; the exteriors of many can be visited on a self-guided walking tour. For a dollar a trip I rode the ferry to and from the Canal Street landing near the Convention Center - great opening and closing bookends to the business portions of my stay. It was a ten minute walk from the house, leaving just enough time to reply to friendly greetings from dog-walking neighbors and kids at play on sidewalks surrounded by often lush vegetation. There are signs advertising the presence of security cameras but mostly to encourage dog exercisers to pick up after their pets; I saw no hint of threats to humans during 3 days there. I hope to be back.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank Taughboyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2014

Bed and Breakfast at the Point is the perfect place to stay if you want the local vibe of New Orleans living. The neighborhood does not have an unfriendly face and the hospitality makes you feel as if you have know the owners for decades. It is only a short ferry ride to the Quarter if you are out for exploration, but you get to come home to a nice quiet neighborhood to relax for the evening. Our room was spacious and captured all of the charm the homes of the area bring. We will be returning for sure!!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews