We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nifty place to stay if you love the history and eligance of New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. Vincent's Guest House
Ranked #145 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 26 September 2010

My sister and I stayed there for 4 days. It was kind of expensive for 4 days but it was an alright place. I did not have any bed bugs or fleas or any of that. We did not find any roaches in the hall ways. The staff was so friendly to us. We would go out on the balcony and they would walk by and ask us how were doing, just so nice. yes, the lobby was hot but they leave the doors open and its not that cool in Louisiana. I slept perfectly fine every night. Everything worked fine in my room. The night we got there i was a little hesitant to staying there but the next morning i actually saw how remarkable it is. it used to be an old orphanage and you can tell it has history flowing out of it. there is an awesome coffee shop right across the street. and its not far from Canal St. or Bourbon St. Its just a neat place to stay. The only thing i found wrong with it is that my room didnt have a remote haha but its all good. Its not a hotel people its a guest house. if you want more towels or toilet paper youre going to have to go and get it yourself from the lobby. so all in all i liked it very much. oh and one more thing, at night the wind would blow so hard the door to the balcony, right by my room, would slam against the wall it scared the mess outta me so many times haha so ya might wanna put some doorstoppers down. but i enjoyed my stay. thanks!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morningdeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 336 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2010

We went last year and had a great time. Our rooms wasnt like a five star hotel but they were ok. There were no bed begs, but we really didnt spend much time sleeping in our bed because theres just so much to do in New Orleans. It is a interesting place to stay though and the hotel staff was very nice. We just wanted an inexpensive place to crash after partying!! I wouldnt recommend bringing kids....but its a nice cozy place to stay with your love or friends!! They even locked up the hotel at night ...we came in one morning at 3:00 am and had to bang on the door, then a sweet lil lady came out in her robe and let us in....she reminded me of my mom I felt really safe!!!

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cajuncandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

DON'T stay here. I've never written a negative hotel review before but feel it is my obligation to warn others... I have bedbugs bites all over and this place is disgusting. Good location but filthy place. Stay clear if bedbugs isn't your thing.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
5  Thank adgray23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStVincent, General Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2010

There are no infestations of bedbugs at our hotel, and we have had no reports of pests of any kind by any of our guests for over a month. We have a clean bill of health with the local hotel governing agencies, and are in full compliance with all city, state, and federal regulations. Any pest complaint that we receive is dealt with swiftly and effectively by the professional pest company under contract with our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Absolutely the worst hotel in all of New Orleans. I made reservations to stay there but canceled later on due to finding closer accommodations to the attractions. My cancellation was well within the cancellation policy set forth by the hotel, and the owner still will not refund my money. He will not even return a call or even answer my phone call. Manager claims that he is always out or busy. What a ripoff. DO NOT STAY HERE, you'd get better service at a Motel 6.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jaybutta3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStVincent, General Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2010

This guest has been credited for the canceled days, and has been notified of this. All guests who cancel within our policy guidelines are refunded for their canceled days as agreed in our Terms of Service. Please allow up to 30 days for processing. The hotel cannot be held responsible for the compliance of outside booking companies used to make travel reservations, so we recommend that travelers book with us directly to avoid any potential problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

This has to be the worst place I have ever stayed. I was sickened by the conditions of the rooms, hallways, front desk, and lobby. As soon as I walked in I realized it was hotter at the front desk than it was outside. The lady at the front desk was drinking vodka. When I asked to speak to the manager, she said she was the manager. I was told there was air conditioning in the rooms. When I got to the room the A/C didn't work. There were also bed bugs so big I could see them. Dead roaches in the hallways, no towels in the room. I went down to the front desk to get a refund. The manager told me there was nothing she could do. There were no more rooms and they don't give refunds. I unfortunately had a week booked. I spent as little time there as possible. Every night when I would get back from exploring New Orleans. I would look forward to taking a swim. The pool was the one good looking thing there. Unfortunately the Manager would be in the pool drinking with several men and being very inappropriate. The guys were usually doing cannonball's and splashing obnoxiously.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jasonrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStVincent, General Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2010

There are no infestations of fleas or any other pest at our hotel: we are under contract with a professional pest control company who services all of our rooms, halls, patios, exterior balconies and pool area, on a regular basis. Management is unaware of any theft occurring from any locked room. Our guests are friendly, sociable people from diverse national and international locations. We encourage all guests to report any concerns or complaints to Peter for a quick and satisfactory resolution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Historic Streetcar Inn
#142 of 166 in New Orleans
658 reviews
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#120 of 166 in New Orleans
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#65 of 166 in New Orleans
306 reviews
Wyndham Garden Hotel
#141 of 166 in New Orleans
76 reviews
Mid-City
The Crescent Palms Motel
The Crescent Palms Motel
#126 of 166 in New Orleans
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Vincent's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Vincent's Guest House

Address: 1507 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4723
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: €42 - €112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Vincent's Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Vincent Guest House is Under New Management!!! As of December 1, 2013 the guest house will be operated under a new management team that is dedicated to improving both the aesthetics and overall condition of the entire establishment. Steps are being taken to bring this beautiful and historical building to its fullest potential and offer our guests a wonderful experience and comfortable stay. St. Vincent's is not a full service hotel, it is more of hostel/quaint budget hotel that is both economical and located in one of the best areas in the city of New Orleans (the Lower Garden District). First opened in 1861 as a orphanage, the building has a distinct and colorful history that is worth exploring. The lobby is adorned with photos that reflect the history and show the building's usage over the last 100+ years. Each room has an individual decor and design scape that will make you feel as though you are walking into an era of Nola history gone by... The grounds are well kept and offer several areas for outdoor seating for morning coffee, an evening cigar or just great conversations... Our staff have been trained and are dedicated to providing each guest with the highest level of customer services with courtesy and a smile. Although there are not a great deal of amenities available, every guest will find that the Guest House offers a tremendous value for the price. We have both private sleeping rooms as well as dormitories available. There have been several negative reviews that have been posted in the past and those reviews have been duly noted and taken into consideration for action as we move towards improvements... Likewise, there have been several positive reviews from guests who have enjoyed their stay and the experience at the Guest House; and for that we are thankful! We look forward to this new era at St. Vincent's and welcome each and every guest with open arms... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your St. Vincent's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Vincent`s Guest House Hotel New Orleans
St Vincents Hotel
St Vincents New Orleans
St Vincent Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing