We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not our choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
Ranked #66 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 April 2012

While the building is impressive, we found the hotel cold and impersonal, reception more akin to a zoo and, in general, a bit of a rip-off. We stayed two nights. It was the only hotel on our trip which charged for wifi and the only one which appeared to offer a complimentary bottle of water but with a $4 price tag.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian_and_Fiona36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegencyNola, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear Brian_and_Fiona36,

Thank you for your honest feedback. I'm sorry your experience did not meet your expectations. If there is anything you would like to further discuss please contact me directly at wilma.cruz@hyatt.com

Thank you,
Wilma C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,957)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency New Orleans
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,671 - 3,675 of 3,956 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed here for a conference April 22-25. Easy checkin, friendly service, Beautiful appointed lobby and the room didn't disappoint. Great views, very clean, high end fixtures and decor. The hotel is very expensive though, so plan for that. And as usual, the more expensive the hotel, the more everything else costs (internet access in the room, meals on the property, etc). But of course, it's too big a deal, there are several free wifi locations on the property....if you can find them. And that gets tot eh next issue. The layout of the hotel is confusing and not well planned. It's very confusing to get from the lobby to the rooms. Lobby is on the 1st floor, but you have to go to the 3rd floor to get to the elevators that can take you to the floors with the rooms and that's after walking across the hotel from one side to the other. Anyway, they did a great job of re-building after Katrina.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColoradoWeatherMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

As far as design and decor this hotel literally blew me away. However if you're looking for good service to match the impressive interior, you won't find it here.
During my stay this hotel was overbooked for Jazz Fest so they offered to put me in a Parlor room with a pull out sofa. This was not uncomfortable so I requested a rollaway bed at approximately 9:20pm Thursday night. How long do you think it would take to get a rollaway bed at this time? If you guess 1 hr 20 mins - you would be right. I was desperate for sleep as I had to wake up at 5am to work and after about 4 phone calls to front desk and many excuses from housekeeping, I finally got the bed and was able to sleep at 11pm.
On top of that, finding this hotel was an ordeal due to to construction on Loyola. Took me an extra hour to finally get here even after I called the concierge for directions. I expected the concierge to know the area well enough to direct me, but his directions were wrong! I can't turn left on Claireborn from Tulane! Please get to know the traffic signs and streets Hyatt staff!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Located right next to the Super Dome, but a bit of a walk to the casino or French Quarter. They rebuilt this post Katrina, and it is a fine example of quality rebuilding after the destruction of mother nature. Great location for your convension or meeting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of row.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irbflyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Thsi hotel is fantastic for a pre-cruise or stay ! As the place is brand new...everything is in working condition.

The rooms are well appointed, rooms comfy and the interactive TV is great and big-screen !

Food is expensive but very well presented and room service is efficient and the presentation was a wow factor...breakfast was neat

With the other reviews, it's really easy to find these rooms and there is no complexity...the bell staff are great at giving tips

There is a great supermarket about 5 mins walk away and if you are staying for more than 3-4 days a great place to stock up for cheap drinks and snacks rather than pay the mini bar price

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt House New Orleans / Downtown
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
1,463 reviews
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#85 of 166 in New Orleans
2,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 166 in New Orleans
3,487 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 166 in New Orleans
2,549 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Address: 601 Loyola Ave, New Orleans, LA 70113-3100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: €131 - €436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 1193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Big Easy in style at the award-winning Hyatt Regency New Orleans. This AAA Four Diamond hotel features strikingly sophisticated guest rooms offering breathtaking city views, along with best-in-class amenities including free wi-fi, seven award-winning dining options, an outdoor saltwater pool, 24-hour fitness center, in-room massage services, and unprecedented service. Located in the heart of downtown, Hyatt Regency New Orleans is adjacent to the Mercedes-Benz Superdome, Smoothie King Center and Champions Square. The hotel sits directly on the Loyola Streetcar line offering quick and easy access to the city's top attractions including the historic French Quarter, Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, the Mississippi Riverfront, World War II Museum and the Aquarium of the Americas - all located within one mile of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency New Orelans Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing