We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Modern Hotel. Good service, nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
Ranked #67 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 February 2012

'Won' this hotel on Priceline. Obviously built to be an extension of the Superdome, which is fast becomming America's stadium for large scale national championship games. Very clean, very friendly service. Could appeal to sports fans/journalists only in town for the game, but worked well for me and my friends in town for the first week of mardi gras. 10 minute walk to the quarter through the CBD. Didnt mind the walk because New Orleans is such a walkable city. Actually the walk is a good thing after all of the drinking, eating and drinking during our stay. The city is building a light rail right in front of the door to connect to other lines in the city. In house restaurants are very nice, and very expensive. Why bother eating in house when there are so many other excellent food options a few minutes away.

Only negative was that the room lacked mirrors and didnt have any scrap paper. Great shower and lots of well placed outlets for our electronics.

Room Tip: High rooms have the best view, particularly of the festival plaza in front of the the Superdome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1917scooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,004)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,801 - 3,805 of 4,004 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

I was in town for a show at the Moriel Convention center. The Hyatt is totally redone. Very impressive place. The room was very nice and I had a light dinner in their sports bar / sushi bar in the lobby. The location is the only drawback, but it is a 15 minute walk to the French Quarter or the Convention center. Else it is a $10 cab ride. The workers were very nice. my co-worker did not answer his wake-up call, so a person knocked on his door! the workout room has nice new equipment and a good view from the 32nd floor, but it is pretty narrow.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicagolouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

If you are attending anything at the arena or superdome, this hotel is the closet. You are about a block from the arena and superdome, so there is no need for a taxi. Hotel is newly renovated and the inside is lovely. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candeeluve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I recently attended a convention at the Hyatt. The location (in relation to Bourbon Street and The French Quarter) is terrible. I would not recommend walking and a taxi ride to The French Quarter is about $16.00. We had a large group, so the fare for an individual may be less (?). When we arrived (around 4:30 p.m.) our rooms were not ready. We noticed the lobby was full of people waiting. When we questioned why they were waiting, we were told the hotel had oversold rooms and they were waiting to see if they actually had a room (even though they had a reservation). I also spoke to others who said the hotel sent them to another hotel a few blocks away - very inconvenient when your meetings start @ 7:30 a.m.!! When we got to our room, it was musty-smelling and the air conditioning did not work properly. We had to call a serviceman to come look at it. He did arrive promptly and fixed the problem. The furnishings in the room (which are black) were dusty and when we moved the setee' over for the roll away bed, there were pennies and peanuts under it (??). The internet is not free and only one person in the room has access to it. I'm not sure if this was the hotel's fault, but on our first morning, breakfast was served buffet style and we had to carry our plates all the way across the hotel to our meeting room. What's up with that? Our food was cold by the time we sat down to eat! Then that afternoon at lunch (buffet style, again) they served right outside our meeting room (imagine the concept!) but they ran out of food!!! Gees! The final meal was delivered to us via wait staff - guess they got enough complaints about running out of food and carrying it all over the hotel! The meeting rooms were nice and the food was good. Thats all I have to say about that.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank houstongal43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Brand new, humongous renovation for humongous hotel after total Katrina damage made me want to love this place. It's a beautiful space, especially the 32 floor high window wall in front, and the lounge bar areas were stylish and comfortable. Unfortunately the service, although very friendly, was inconsistent. Things like no products in the bathroom one day, and the paper only delivered 1 of 4 days. There was a loud whistleing noise coming from the vent all hours of the day. I reported it twice, but nothing was done. In their defense, they may not have been able to do anything about this. Also, the gym was rather small for such a big hotel, but did have a spectacular view.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
Thank TravelATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt House New Orleans / Downtown
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#22 of 167 in New Orleans
1,495 reviews
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#84 of 167 in New Orleans
2,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#72 of 167 in New Orleans
3,512 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 167 in New Orleans
2,593 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Address: 601 Loyola Ave, New Orleans, LA 70113-3100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: €129 - €432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 1193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Big Easy in style at the award-winning Hyatt Regency New Orleans. This AAA Four Diamond hotel features strikingly sophisticated guest rooms offering breathtaking city views, along with best-in-class amenities including free wi-fi, seven award-winning dining options, an outdoor saltwater pool, 24-hour fitness center, in-room massage services, and unprecedented service. Located in the heart of downtown, Hyatt Regency New Orleans is adjacent to the Mercedes-Benz Superdome, Smoothie King Center and Champions Square. The hotel sits directly on the Loyola Streetcar line offering quick and easy access to the city's top attractions including the historic French Quarter, Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, the Mississippi Riverfront, World War II Museum and the Aquarium of the Americas - all located within one mile of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency New Orelans Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing