We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2012

When you stay in a B&B you are staying is someone's home and it is the innkeeper who really makes is a great experience or not. Joe and Bebe are the best. They are very friendly and professional. I appreciated the small touches, snacks, bottle water, ice were provided at no charge and were really appreciated. Breakfast was light and just what you need to get up and go. They were great with recomendations on things to do and places to eat. If you are looking for a B&B in NOLA this is the one.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mgood99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (946)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

458 - 462 of 946 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

Awesome stay at the Avenue Inn! Joe and Bebe are wonderful hosts, starting with the warmest welcome and orientation, then recommendations on places to eat and see, all given our personal time constraints. Our room was amazing! Delightfully charming Victorian style, the most comfortable bed ever, lovely (environmentally friendly) bathroom amenities, instantly hot water with great water pressure in the shower, clean and comfortable throughout. Breakfast was plentiful, and the generous selection of snacks and bottled water available around the clock was a much appreciated bonus. The location couldn't be better - a beautiful neighborhood for walking, right on the streetcar line, great location. Loved being in this old, beautiful mansion, and Joe and Bebe truly treated us as guests in their home. I'll definitely be returning to NO, and this is the only place I'd consider staying!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

If you have not been to New Orleans, this is the place you want to stay because Joe knows everything you need to know about this city. The B&B is totally charming with high ceilings and but the bathrooms are right up to date. Also the location is right on the Streetcar line and they have free parking. What is not to like?

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

As two discerning New York City natives, the Avenue B&B was one of the highlights of our recent trip to NOLA. After a few days on a business trip closer to the French Quarter, coming uptown to this quintessentially charming, Victorian-adorned B&B was a breath of fresh air.

The moment we arrived, Joe and BeBe welcomed us and immediately made us feel like family. Completely knowledgable about the Uptown / Garden District, as well as Quarter and Marigny, they provided personalized tips about restaurants and attractions. And not the, "I hear it's good" kind of crap you get from most hotel concierges. They personally know many of the local restaurant owners and are fixtures in the neighborhood. They promptly made reservations on our behalf, and helped us rejigger our schedules to fit in one of their local favorites. They pointed us toward fun dive bars, as well as fine dining spots.

Joe upgraded our room to a lovely one bedroom with a scenic view of St. Charles St. Our bed was incredibly comfortable and the room was equipped with everything you'd expect in a good hotel. They advised us on an awesome running route in order to see the Audobon Park. Breakfast was simple, continental variety (try the special cinnamon raisin bread) that's what you really want if you'll be loading up on beignets, fried oysters and Sazeracs later, anyway!

Located a few miles outside of the French Quarter, the Avenue is on the very same street as the charming NOLA streetcar, and is easily accessible via cabs or bikes. The prices were also quite reasonable, and I was pleased that there was no three-night minimum stay (something required by many of the other nearby B&Bs).

My only regret re: our stay at the Avenue B&B is that it wasn't longer. Joe and BeBe are definitely making it on my holiday card mailing list, and the Avenue B&B should make it on your "must-visit" list if you're staying in Crescent City!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms require a few flights of stairs but have a great view of St. Charles St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRey729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This place has character, great hosts, a wonderful location and a fantastic price. I love that the St. Charles Ave trolley is right out front, that it's equidistant between the French Quarter and Uptown, and that the hosts took every conceivable measure to ensure our comfort.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leifneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 142 in New Orleans
769 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 142 in New Orleans
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 142 in New Orleans
685 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#6 of 142 in New Orleans
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4125 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: €116 - €193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the centuries old oaks on the famed St. Charles Streetcar line, in the heart of the Uptown/Garden District, guests are only minutes from the French Quarter and the Central Business District. The Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast has 17 beautifully appointed guest rooms, each featuring hardwood floors, high ceilings, updated private baths, cable TV, telephones with voice mail and data ports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn b&b
Avenue Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing