We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jean Lafitte National Historical Park and Preserve
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
  
Ways to Experience Jean Lafitte National Historical Park and Preserve
from US$29.00
More Info
from US$55.00
More Info
from US$36.00
More Info
from US$75.90
More Info
Reviews (975)
Filter reviews
975 results
Traveller rating
656
236
67
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
656
236
67
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews visitor center great nature board walk overlook trail french quarter swamp tour decatur street chalmette battlefield baby alligator ranger snakes wildlife marsh bayou visitors gravel coquilles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 975 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018

We so enjoyed our time on the swamp boardwalk. Though there were lots of other people about, it turned out to be a peaceful exploration of the swamp. We saw lots of snakes, frogs, and 4 alligators. I highly recommend making time for this free experience.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank beckersroam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

Worth stopping in and reading the info. The ranger talk takes longer. Nice way to learn how the French quarter started.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank FZ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

We went to the French Quarter Visitor Center and enjoyed the displays with history of the area and then listened to the Ranger talk in the courtyard on 5/19/2018. Excellent talk by the Ranger. He gave so much history of the entire area. Very well done! Wish I had more time in NOLA to go to the Preserve. Will definitely make that part of my next trip to NOLA.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank ocean3274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

We were here in the winter and had a nice pleasant walk through the Barataria Preserve. It was a bit cold for wildlife when we were here, but it was still a beautiful and easy walk.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank CO719_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

So on vacation I love visiting National Parks (to get my passport stamped etc). We took poles, cameras and map and went to the see the gators and birds in this park. It did NOT disappoint. Despite the heat (humid high 80s) we hiked about 2+ miles and saw at least 4 gators, many many frogs, 1 snake and some colorful egrets. And the oak trees with spanish moss!! Oh how beautiful. It was slightly thrilling to be so close to the gators.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank NYJUDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews