We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Longue Vue House and Gardens
from US$66.60
More Info
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
156
61
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
156
61
8
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews house tour original furnishings beautiful estate home tour home garden docent tour gift shop rich history take pictures french quarter oak alley great tour heiress bloom plantation architecture grandeur
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2020

If you like to walk around estate property with amazing gardens and views this is a must see. Property is spectacular with many different gardens. The details and out buildings are beautiful too. And the house is just as it was in its original state. Amazing art collection and the first house in NOLA to have A/C. It's well worth the 1.5-2 hrs to spend touring it! The docent who gave the tour was great!

Date of experience: February 2020
1  Thank bethr642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2020

Our guide, Sharon, was fantastic! Her knowledge and humor made this house tour so very interesting. We also toured the grounds and were treated to some insights from the facilities manager. Very nice people.

Date of experience: January 2020
2  Thank Karjimcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2019

One of the few historic mansions open for tours and worth it! A short Uber ride dropped us past the short drive to the Gate House in front of the home. Breathtaking view of the home up their own oak alley of trees! Wonderful guide who knew more interesting details of this house, history and the family who built it than she could share in our extensive tour of the building. Most rooms are visitable and interesting with their original furnishings. Of course, I want to see EVERYTHING, so the few rooms that are off limits intrigued me enough to go searching for floor plans when I got home to see what I'd missed. Not much, but some interesting rooms seem to be tucked away in there. Our guide told us about the huge attic, basements and tunnels... would SO love to poke around those, though snakes in the tunnels were enough to keep me on the beaten path! Some of the hidden doors are intriguing and not explained, but attention to design detail by the owners and architects is amazing. (Don't miss the dining room bay window and it's notable trick.) Read online about the Katrina hurricane damage the house and grounds experienced. The guide touched on it, but online photos really made me appreciate the extensive landscaping recovery they've done... just beautiful. Christmas decorations were going up when we were there and it special events and tours during the holiday promise to be magical. A special house, volunteers and owners make this a To-Do list must.

Date of experience: November 2019
1  Thank Mdgaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2019

Absolutely worth the time and money. Docent tour of the house was excellent. The gardens weren't as good as the house, but then the time of year wasn't the best for gardens.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank meadowmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2019

If you have any sort of interest in interior design, architecture or construction you will really enjoy this tour. We had a wonderful docent who brought the home alive with stories of the family and the objects they collected. The gardens in November are not at their best, but I can imagine how glorious they would be in the spring and summer. We toured here in the morning, then had lunch at Toups Meatery, then in the afternoon visited the Besthoff Sculpture Garden and the New Orleans Museum of Art. A really great day!

Date of experience: November 2019
1  Thank Beth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews