We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
  
Ways to Experience New Orleans Pharmacy Museum
from US$20.21
More Info
from US$29.95
More Info
from US$66.60
More Info
from US$25.60
More Info
Reviews (1,093)
Filter reviews
1,093 results
Traveller rating
673
308
86
18
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
673
308
86
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour modern medicine medical instruments soda fountain medical field back in the day entry fee on display self guided interesting place french quarter century artifacts information pharmaceutical cures history
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 1,093 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2019

Nice museum, in a beautiful building. I can't recall how much we paid for the visit, but I remember students had a discount.
There are two levels, and many curiosities. It was an interesting visit.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank nacpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2019 via mobile

An interesting museum with thousands of artifacts from 18-19th century medical practice, particularly pharmacy. The $5 admission is a steal and you can spend as much or as little time there as you want.

I’m a pharmacist myself so had a natural interest in all of it but it was enjoyed by all the non-medical people in my group as well. I particularly enjoyed reading about some of the advances in safety of pharmacy practice at that time including requiring all poisonous materials be stored in blue, etched glass bottles so not to be confused with non-poisons in clear, smooth glass. They also have interesting displays on 19tg century midwifery and eyeglasses.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank jessicaz838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2019 via mobile

This small museum has lots of artifacts that give you a real sense of the sketchy but fascinating world of pharmacies and medicine in the 19th century, but there's a lot to absorb. To make the most of this unique museum, make sure you come for the 1pm tour. Owen, a curator, gave us one of the most engaging and interesting museum talks I've ever heard. He really brought the artifacts and time period to life and it was just one of a kind. For $5 (plus a tip he definitely deserves for his humor, expansive knowledge, and genuine enthusiasm), you can't miss it.

Date of experience: February 2019
2  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2019

Like traveling back in time! We learned so much about 19th century life in New Orleans and the practice of medicine back then. The museum exhibits are really interesting, but the highlight is the tour at 1:00. The docent humorously yet respectfully described the difficulties people faced back then and the creative ways medical professionals tried to help them. Bonus: as of January 2019, admission is only $5.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank Kristin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2019

The museum had so much to see! It was almost overwhelming. It was well-laid out and displayed. Learned a lot by reading placards, but wished there was a tour available. Probably not a museum I would take my children, but definitely was interesting for us as adults.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank Lori E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews