We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveller rating
188
133
42
25
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
133
42
25
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main mansion pool and hot tub old mansion french quarter port of call louis armstrong other guests esplanade avenue within walking distance the general manager third floor every morning yogurt cookie cutter frenchman st front porch southern hospitality
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 433 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2017

My boyfriend and I were on a road trip, and we stopped by New Orleans for a weekend. We wanted to stay close to the Quarter and Frenchman St in a place that wasn't a sterile Hyatt or Marriott and had a little New Orleans character. The Rathbone really fit the bill, and was affordable. The property is two old pre-civil war mansions on Esplanade Ave, about a 10 min walk over to the music bars on Frenchman. A lot of places like this are run by a mom & pop and may be a little dirty or not-well kept, but this place is obviously professionally run. Super clean. It's NOT a B&B, but they had nice pastries (chocolate croissants are insanely good!), fruit & coffee out in the mornings in the charming, cool little lobbies.

Other stuff: The room doors are coded so we didn't have to worry about a room key which was nice. They had a pool & hot tub area that was really nice, with some NOLA-style art murals, but unfortunately we caught a cold weekend in New Orleans and swimming wasn't in the cards. Would definitely stay here again next time we come through town.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017

Such a wonderful stay! We truly appreciated the nice and helpful staff who went out of their way for us when we left something behind! The hotel was centrally located and only a few blocks walk to the French Quarter.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kenhS3853SY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

- My room was spacious, had a fridge, coffee maker, and microwave.
- Decor was tasteful and felt luxurious.
- Location couldn't be beat! It was very quiet on Esplanade, but just a short walk to the busy part of the French Quarter.
- Staff was friendly, welcoming, and informative.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

This was my third trip to New Orleans but my first time staying in a hotel. It was so charming! Our room had a balcony overlooking Esplanade - so cool especially when the second line came down the street. Such a great value - there was coffee/juice/breakfast in the morning, the pool and hot tub were great, and the room was cozy and so comfortable. It was only a 10-15 min walk to Frenchman St, the french market, and the french quarter, so super convenient as well.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank laurenfrost21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

Pool area was very nice. Staff very helpful and courteous, rooms very-well equipped and clean. Some rooms could use minor remodeling, but still a great value. In most cases, street parking is adequate. However, $20 is a good value for gated parking as well. Lobby area was great and spacious, breakfast was good. Comfortable, supportive memory foam beds. As with anywhere in downtown New Orleans, be extra alert and vigilant if walking to or from this location, especially at night.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KokoDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews