We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (547)
Filter reviews
547 results
Traveller rating
293
178
51
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
178
51
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubfrench marketgreat locationbourbon streetfew blocksquiet streetfirst floorthe air conditioningwater pressure in the showerwould stay againthe ground floorfrench doorsfrenchman stquiet at nightceiling fancomfortable bedguest house
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 547 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2018

I've stayed at all four now and this one is a definite favorite of mine. I like the private courtyard and it's close enough to everything without being in a noisy area. Absolutely lovely staff there who are super helpful.

Room Tip: Get room on second level because jacuzzi in courtyard hums.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Marge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki R, General Manager at Inn on Ursulines, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Marge S,

Thank you for being a valued repeat guest of the French Quarter Guest Houses! We are delighted and honored to be your New Orleans home away from home. On behalf of our entire staff, we look forward to welcoming you back and serving you in the future!

Until next time, happy travels!

Nikki Ritzenthaler
General Manager
nritzenthaler@frenchquarterguesthouses.com
504-947-1161

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

Perfect room for two. Older property with no elevators but first floor rooms are available. The location was perfect. Close enough to Bourbon but in a much quieter residential area. The staff were very nice and accommodating. The water pressure in the shower isn’t the greatest but we had hot water. If major chains are your thing, this is not the place for you. We enjoyed the quaint area as it felt like New Orleans. As other reviews stated, no refrigerator or microwave are included and closet space is small. Our room faced east so if you prefer less of a sunrise wake up consider that. The only thing was the queen bed really felt like a full size bed. I would stay again for a weekend getaway with a king bed as opposed to the longer stay we had. Enjoyed our French Quarter stay!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MrsUMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki R, General Manager at Inn on Ursulines, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello MrsUMB,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for Essence Fest! We are glad that you and your travel companion enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate your feedback and your recommendation. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again!

Until next time, happy travels!

Nikki Ritzenthaler
General Manager
nritzenthaler@frenchquarterguesthouses.com
504-947-1161

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

So please understand when I write this I’m not slamming the facility. This place just wasn’t my cup of tea. The location is awesome though. Take a left out the hotel and make a left right on Bourbon. Take a right and then another right and you’re on Chartes. My bf called this a rooming house with a bathroom. The rooms have no microwave nor fridge and there is enough space in the rooms to provide for these basic amenities. The walls were thin as someone who joined us on our trip stayed in the room next to us and he was playing music from his iPad which we could clearly hear in our room. Again, not slamming the facility it just wasn’t for me. I tend to stay at boutique type hotels because of the feel. But this one I will not stay at again.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Trinitee0971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki R, General Manager at Inn on Ursulines, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Trinitee0971,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Inn on Ursulines. We understand boutique French Quarter inns are not for everyone, but thank you for choosing to stay with us for Essence Fest 2018 nonetheless. Wishing you happy travels in the future!

Sincerely,

Nikki Ritzenthaler
General Manager
nritzenthaler@frenchquarterguesthouses.com
504-947-1161

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

Our small ground floor room opened to a quiet courtyard with small table and 2 chairs. The room itself was clean and comfortable but had no chairs, no frig, no microwave. Room had comfortable bed and had a ceiling fan. Parking (in lot 4-5 blocks away) was $30 per night--no unusual for French Quarter. No breakfast served; however, there was fruit in lobby and we found an excellent bakery within a block. From this Inn, we were able to walk throughout the French Quarter safely, day and night. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfsinmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki R, General Manager at Inn on Ursulines, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello mfsinmo,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at the Inn on Ursulines. We glad you found our staff to be pleasant and helpful and your room to be clean and comfortable. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again on your next New Orleans vacation!

At your service,

Nikki Ritzenthaler
General Manager
nritzenthaler@frenchquarterguesthouses.com
504-947-1161

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Pros:
-Location to French Quarter and Frenchmen Street
-Rate for Sunday-Wednesday stay. (Not sure I would pay weekend rates here)
-Quaint property. Good NOLA experience.
-Clean rooms, cold rooms.
-Housekeeper was very warm and friendly.

Cons:
-Front desk was aloof during checkin. The doors are typical narrow double doors found in NOLA. We had obvious trouble between 2 of us getting luggage through doors. Front desk person (5 feet away) didn’t get up to help. Once inside doors he only asked “name?” We were excited to be there. He was not excited to see us.
-We were in Room 1. Room 1 and 2 are directly on street. Other rooms are in back of property. You can hear horse carriages, workers in the morning, etc. If you need a quiet room for morning time, ask for different room. They do provide ear plugs in nightstand. Nighttime isn’t too bad. It’s off Bourbon street.
-Lukewarm showers, but good pressure.
-A/C above bed. It built up condensation, which seems reasonable for NOLA. But dripped on face while in bed.
-Remote control did not work from bed distance. And only controlled volume when close. Thinking it was batteries we told our housekeeper directly. She said she would replace batteries, but after returning for day it did not work. It may seem minor, but we like to have tv on to fall asleep or while getting ready. Functional remote wanted for vacation
-Hot tub is not like pictures. Not inviting at all.

All-in-all we only paid $70/ night for 3 nights Sun-Wed. I’m not sure I would pay more with listed conditions.

Room Tip: For a quiet morning, request different rooms than 1 & 2. Street work, traffic, workers very loud in morning M-W.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NeelyH6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki R, General Manager at Inn on Ursulines, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Hello Neely H,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear about your first impression with our front desk staff as we pride ourselves on excellent customer service. Please rest assured that this review will be reviewed and discussed with our guest service staff. We will certainly look into the AC condensation and remote control issues right away.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope you'll give us another chance to give you a five-star experience on your next stay.

Yours in hospitality,

Nikki Ritzenthaler
General Manager
nritzenthaler@frenchquarterguesthouses.com
504-947-1161

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews