We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic building, but a bit tired”
Review of Columns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Columns Hotel
Ranked #121 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 27 March 2017

The pictures made this place look way better than it was. It's old and a bit funky. The downstairs bar and porch are great. The breakfast was filling and offered good selections. The staff was courteous. Unfortunately, I was expecting the room to be a bit nicer, especially for the price we paid for it. The carpet looked a bit dingy. The furniture a bit banged up. Some pieces looked antique and pretty - others looked like they came from a garage sale. The bed linens, though clean, had some small stains. The bathroom was more modern, but not decorated with any sensitivity to the period. Our room was not nearly as interesting as the common areas downstairs.

Room Tip: They might have a band playing in the lobby - double check how that will affect your chosen room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank reeshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 176 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
New York, New York
1112
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

I had always wanted to check this place out and got my chance when a friend stayed here. Awesome bar and restaurant and wonderful New Orleans Vibe. The front terrace is lovely and great to people watch

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We were impressed by the staff, the location and the historic nature of this hotel. The accommodations are old, but very comfortable. When one imagines that this hotel was originally a residence, it is mind boggling. The chandelier in the bar is stunning, and there are many pieces of art in the forms of stained glass, sculpture, paintings and architectural touches that are fun to see.

Breakfast is free and delicious. Kerrianne (I fear I may be spelling her name incorrectly) is a love and really tries to anticipate the diner's every need. The biscuits are delicious. Sylvia and Molly at the front desk are both organized and attentive. I can't say enough about how great the staff is.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 415claudia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Built in 1883 the mansion only has 20 rooms each uniquely decorated with Victorian furnishings or circa 1930. If you're looking for a mini bar, refrigerator or microwave you're not going to find it at The Columns. However, if you want to step back in time and marvel at the beautifully painted ceilings in the ball room, the mahogany bar/lounge, ceilings and original chandelier that still hangs there today you wouldn't regret your visit. The oversized staircase and stained glass window leads to rooms and a balcony. We ate a casual dinner on the balcony and watched the Margi Gras parade. The Columns has live music and seems to be the place to come and relax with friends on the large front porch. Everyone couldn't have been more friendly. Micaela our dinner server was a sweetheart and didn't forget 1 item we had ordered. The trolley runs in front of the hotel so getting up and down St Charles is quiet easy. There is only on street parking so once you've parked taking the trolley is the most time effective. Our room was in the front of the hotel overlooking St Charles street. It was quiet large, comfortable bed, shutters on the windows, wardrobe closet and fireplace (not sure if the fireplace worked) but added to the ambiance. The bathroom had a claw foot bathtub old fashioned but clean. Breakfast was included, seating in the dining room with breakfast items you selected from a menu. (No make your own waffles at The Columns. Enjoy your stay at this unique step-back in time hotel.

Room Tip: I wouldn't suggest room 13
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

We visited this place during the Mardi Gras parades. We purchased a wrist band to be able to get drinks and be able to use the bathroom. Best $10.00 spent. We went into the hotel and we visited the bar and ordered some drinks. We sat on the front porch and we watched people and talked. The interior of the hotel is very ornate and has great woodwork. If you love architecture and history this is a must do.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Achung70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 166 in New Orleans
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown / Carrollton
Alder Hotel
Alder Hotel
#102 of 166 in New Orleans
28 reviews
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 166 in New Orleans
400 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#24 of 166 in New Orleans
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columns Hotel

Address: 3811 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4681
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: €144 - €223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Columns Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Boutique Hotel featuring Louisiana Dining & Craft Cocktails Wedding Venue, Catering and Meeting Planning Services also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Columns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columns Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing