We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Crab Cakes ”

Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro
Ranked #10 of 2,143 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Description: This beautiful two-story building was erected in 1809 by Antoine Angué where he opened the Vieux Carré’s first Creole Bistro called, The Restaurant d’Orleans. Today, the property is owned by the noted local business team of Pam Fortner and Earl Bernhardt. Lovingly renovated with its prestigious past in mind, The Orleans Grapevine continues the tradition by offering discriminating diners the best in fine dining and an extensive wine list in a beautiful, intimate yet relaxed atmosphere. We feature many unique and seasonal special dishes & specials.
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

It was rainy so we couldn't sit in the patio although that looked nice. Fortunately we got a table inside right away. Our server Joanie was great and the hostess was very helpful too. Based on the previous reviews we tried the crab cakes - these were outstanding- and the scallops which were good. The entrees looked good but we didn't bring a large enough appetite for anything else. Hopefully we'll get back before we leave town.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Jstew13240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans G, Owner at Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2016

We are so happy you liked our crab cakes. We have a special recipe we use that includes white crabmeat, jumbo lump crab meat, which most restaurants do not use because of how expensive it is, and blue claw crab meat, which adds a sweetness to the cakes. We do not use any fillers just dust with a light coating to hold together while we fry the crab cakes. We spare no expense with our quality of food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

685 - 689 of 1,630 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

Wonderful appetizers, and Ms. Sunshine is just great behind the bar. Food is amazing. I will be back.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

Cute little wine bar on a side street off Bourbon. Nice that it was quieter and off the beaten path a bit. Happy hour is the time to go, good drink specials and free bacon. Option for indoor or outdoor seating.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank tkallas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

They stop serving food at 10:30pm. Food was good. Filet was $35 and cooked well. We arrived at 10pm after a long day of travel. Felt a bit rushed as the waitresses go home at 10:30 which is understandable.

It becomes a wine bar after 10:30pm with a nice ambiance and friendly bartender. 10-12pm they have wine happy hour $5 glasses and free bacon with a nice patio area in the back

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans G, Owner at Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

We are glad you liked our restaurant. We serve until 10:30pm on week days and 11pm on weekends, which is longer than most fine dining restaurants that usually stop seating at 9pm. After the kitchen closes, we still serve cheese plates and desserts. Thank you so much for visiting our restaurant hope you come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

When we read about the bacon happy hour we had to try this place. And we're really glad we did. After enjoying a glass of wine and some bacon (!), we liked the place and staff so much that we came back later that night for dinner. It was fabulous. We had their crabcakes and a peppered, stilton covered filet mignon. Wow, everything was prepared perfectly and presented well. It was a great meal - we'll definitely come back the next time in NOLA.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank socal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing