We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (987)
Filter reviews
987 results
Traveller rating
697
205
48
26
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
697
205
48
26
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews miss annie garden district banana trees mansion room southern breakfast bed and breakfast french quarter charles streetcar every morning hot breakfast breakfast was amazing the main house magazine street wwii museum stayed longer yogurt easy access
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 987 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2015 via mobile

The Creole Gardens is a mix of good and bad in terms of rooms and service. One of our rooms was fresh, bright and functional. The other was down at the heels and dark. The hot water in the fitst room was either too cold or too hot. TIP: Book early and ask for a large room. In both rooms the AC and the ceiling fan made lots of noise. You could not turn off the ceiling fan without turning off the overhead lights. Neither room had a waste basket.
We were promised help moving our luggage from one room to another. But the appointed hour came and no one appeared. When I went to the reception to ask for the new room key, the staff member said that I had to return the old one first. I found that insulting. After being asked, the staff member found someone to help us.
As you can see, the staff waxed hot and cold. Sometimes they were friendly, sometimes they were curt. Sometimes the breakfast service was prompt, sometimes it wasnt. At one point, we were the first to arrive and the last to be served. The breakfast breads and the hot dishes of eggs and sausage were good but the coffee was dreadful.

The parking lot and the proximity to the street car were very convenient. So was the location in the lower Garden District.
For the rest, good luck to you.


Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank lisafrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreoleNewOrleans, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

We love hearing feedback from our guests, but we're always disappointed when a guest doesn't thoroughly enjoy their stay here at the Creole Gardens. However, in this instance we must agree with the title given, "We aren't for Everyone."

This guest arrived with a husband quite ill from their journey. After mentioning he would probably have to spend the first few days bedridden, we decided to offer them a larger, more expensive room for the first half of their stay free of charge so that they could be more comfortable. We explained that they would have to switch back to the original room they had booked after their 4th night as we approached the already sold out Christmas holiday and the upgraded room had been previously reserved by an incoming guest. They eagerly took us up on our offer and chose to split their stay between the two rooms at no extra cost to them and we were happy to be able to make their New Orleans visit a little more enjoyable, given the less than optimal circumstances. But this is how we try to treat all our guests ---as if they are old friends staying at our home, who we want to feel as welcomed as possible.

True, if your needs require a bellhop at a moments notice, we aren't the property for you. We'll happily help you with your luggage whenever someone from our small staff is able (as we did in this case!), but we most certainly don't promise these services nor advertise them. Unlike larger or chain hotels, we don't have bellhops, elevators or mini bars. but the trade off by staying at our antebellum historic little hotel, is you get true New Orleans charm, hospitality and flavor (not to mention free parking and a complimentary hot southern breakfast). Most of our guests seek us out for that very reason, but occasionally someone who would be happier at something more institutional does visit with us, and we realize that no matter what we do, their expectations can never be met.

We're thrilled you enjoyed our complimentary full southern breakfast. As for the coffee, it's also true that the signature chicory blend native to New Orleans isn't for everyone. It's flavor is strong and unique. We do however like to think it's a good match for the authentic New Orleans Garden District experience that we offer.

Creole Gardens is a small hotel, intimate and oozing with traditional Southern charm. As you say yourself, we are not for everyone. We are unapologetically and uniquely New Orleans,proud to be that way, and happy to know that most of our guests like us for that very reason.

We appreciate everyone's business, but feel that in this instance, the negative review of our property may have been caused by false expectation of who we are, along with the fact that her husband had fallen ill during their vacation. We are so sorry this had to happen. We'd love if you'd give us a try during a future visit, but understand if you don't feel that we're a match for you. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2015 via mobile

What a great place. Awesome old house, comfortable room, FREE PARKING! Check in was a little slow but everything else was perfect. We stayed in the main house and they even let us pick which room we wanted. The breakfast ladies were lovely and I could have just hung out with them all day! Looking forward to coming back!

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank LMM1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreoleNewOrleans, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2016

We Love ya'll too!! Hope to have you back in the near future! We greatly appreciate the kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2015 via mobile

Nothing I can say will do it true justice but this place deserves an attempt. Check in was super smooth she was extremely helpful and I felt like family as soon as I walked in. I was there for a funeral and they had my room ready prior to check in to help me since I was driving 13 hours and very road exhausted. Had to stay in the "slave quarters" due to my dog but totally worth it! The room was super cute and very spacious, claw foot bathtub was awesome, I was in number 12 highly highly recommend it. Breakfast was delicious, and the location was absolutely perfect for going to drive around the garden district or heading over to the French Quarter. The neighborhood is gentrified a bit and I felt perfectly comfortable parking my car at the place. The parking lot is right next to the building which is awesome and the courtyard was very well maintained and very relaxing even at night with enough lighting to read by but not so much it invaded your room. I will be staying here again when I come back but this time I'm looking forward to trying out the mansion!

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreoleNewOrleans, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2015

Thank you so much for the flattering review! Comparing us to your own home is justice indeed! We're so sorry you had to visit us under unfortunate circumstances, but hopefully the next time you return it'll be under more celebrated conditions! We genuinely look forward to your return visit! Give us heads up and we'll do our best to secure a Mansion room for you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2015 via mobile

Decorated like a old Bordello.....red velvet and decadent furnishings...was there before Katrina and wondered if it has changed.....would love to come back!! The place was historical and amazing.....fond memories!

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Juli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreoleNewOrleans, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2015

Yes indeed. You've got it right Juli! Some of our rooms are indeed still decorated like old Bordello's! We've updated quite a few things, but if you give us a call directly we'll work with you to book a room that best suits your requests!! Thank you for the lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2015

luxurious and comfortable room in main house lots of space and attention to detail
The bathroom was the same size as my studio apartment in NYC
Great breakfast with many options. From french toast to fruit
Love the location walking distance to magazine Street and streetcar to french quarter

Stayed: November 2015
Thank max p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreoleNewOrleans, General Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2015

Thank you so much for the wonderful review!! Please feel free to give us a call anytime you feel the urge to break free from you NY confines!! If you give us a call directly we'll happily work with you to provide the best rates! Until Next Time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews