We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Prince Conti Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grenoble House(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Olivier House Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Le Marais(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel St. Marie(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Chateau Orleans(New Orleans)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Maison Dupuy(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,759)
Filter reviews
3,759 results
Traveller rating
1,799
1,338
383
153
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,799
1,338
383
153
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshermann housebourbon streetgreat locationfrench quarterthe main hotelcontinental breakfasthotel baryogurtparking garagequiet streetwould stay here againbalcony roomfront desk staffcharming hotelsmall poolstaff was very friendly and helpfuljackson square
Filter
Updating list...
3,147 - 3,152 of 3,759 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Great place to stay before and after the Rock and Roll Marathon. Clean and quiet location. Friendly, helpful and attentive staff. Continental breakfast was a little better than average. Good in room coffee. Too cold to swim but nice looking pool courtyard. We did not have a car rental, but the valet parking staff held our luggage twice during times that was before/after checkout and they kept it in a secure area. We are personally not a fan of the memory foam mattress pads. Overall we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becca478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We've stayed at the Dauphine a number of times and we will continue to go back. Wonderful location, not nearly as noisy or crazy as Bourbon Street but only a block away. Yes, you will hear street noise if you have a room facing the street, so, if that's an issue, request a non-street room. We love coming here: the staff is always friendly, breakfast is free and good, the rooms are clean and comfortable. If all the rooms had a mini-fridge, it would be perfection.

Room Tip: It's NOLA: there will be street noise. If that's an issue, request accordingly.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ama_4327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Overall we liked the ascetic of the rooms in the Hermann house. They have exposed brick and beams, track lighting on a dimmer switch, non-ugly carpet, modern bathroom/vanity area, and sooo important for older buildings: good water pressure in the shower! Tempurpedic beds - some may not like that - we didn't mind.

No complaint with cleanliness. However, we did put the card out to request new sheets one day and didn't get them.

Staff is generally good. One guy provided a great recommendation for a place to get delivery dinner on a night my boyfriend hurt is back and we couldn't walk around too much.

The continental breakfast does the job. Cereal, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, juice, and various breads/pastries. Waffle station, but we didn't see anyone attempt to use it. Available till 11 on the weekends and 10 weekdays.

We did have some noise issues carrying in from the street, but not bad. More annoying was the yappy dog in the room two doors down. We finally called the front desk around 1am and they confirmed they are pet free hotel and would send security. Whether or not they did, we're not sure. And would guess the owners were probably still out clubbing so not much the staff could have done anyway outside of kidnap the dog. But it did eventually quiet down, for whatever reason, and we think they checked out the next day.

Note: the Carriage Courtyard is where the breakfast room is located. We peeked in one room while it was being cleaned and they do look really nice as well, but you might get foot traffic noise from people going to and from the breakfast area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ARL2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The recent visit to New Orleans was quite an experience. The hotel that we stayed really surprised us. Although is a relatively small hotel, its location is great. It is one block from the notorious Bourbon Street, close enough to walk to it and experience the revelry but far enough to filter out the music and other noises. The Dauphine Orleans is a quaint non pretentious hotel blending quite well within the neighborhood and with the local style flavor; it is one where you get great value for the price. It is not fancy but it makes it up by providing great service and it has the best bed that I had ever slept on in a hotel. Must say that the staff was very helpful and always willing to assist with any request. In addition it does provide free breakfast and although it is self service it does have a great variety of items to choose from and the tables are covered with cloth tablecloth and actual china for use. All in all great location, great value and great service. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to all my friends.

Room Tip: Rooms away from ther elevators are much quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColR06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

No sense repeating all the positive review points, we agree with all of them. All those extras were great. Here's an easy way to combat the "noise' issue some people mention. Request a room in the main building at the back end WITHOUT a balcony. These are actually the staff favorites. Our room was quiet like a fault. We never heard the famous 3:00AM monster garbage trucks or the garage parking. If you really want a balcony then you will have the noise. You have to make a choice. The beds are super soft memory foam type. Everyone raves about them because they are so soft but they do give support. We loved them. If you like a hard bed you won't find one here. The staff was super, super friendly. We were 100% satisfied with the hotel and the perfect location.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room request a room in the main building at the back end WITHOUT a balcony.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews