We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean, and a fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #50 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Just one block off Bourbon street with no noise, music or crowds. The hotel is a boutique type and the smallness of it means a lot of personel attention. Staff was helpful and friendly with booking tours or suggestions. The rooms weren't huge but adequate and the pillowtop matteress was awesome. Nice little pool and courtyard, hot tub in another location and the tasty, free breakfast, (waffles, cereal, sausage, etc) kept the expenses down. Cute used bookstore across the street. But the best is that is was a 5 minutes from Bourbon, Royal street. Safe area for women and even late at night and being women we felt very safe walking back to the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get a handicap room unless you really need it. One couple in our group got one and compla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelqueen10151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,852 - 2,856 of 3,453 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

Great place to stay before and after the Rock and Roll Marathon. Clean and quiet location. Friendly, helpful and attentive staff. Continental breakfast was a little better than average. Good in room coffee. Too cold to swim but nice looking pool courtyard. We did not have a car rental, but the valet parking staff held our luggage twice during times that was before/after checkout and they kept it in a secure area. We are personally not a fan of the memory foam mattress pads. Overall we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becca478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We've stayed at the Dauphine a number of times and we will continue to go back. Wonderful location, not nearly as noisy or crazy as Bourbon Street but only a block away. Yes, you will hear street noise if you have a room facing the street, so, if that's an issue, request a non-street room. We love coming here: the staff is always friendly, breakfast is free and good, the rooms are clean and comfortable. If all the rooms had a mini-fridge, it would be perfection.

Room Tip: It's NOLA: there will be street noise. If that's an issue, request accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ama_4327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Overall we liked the ascetic of the rooms in the Hermann house. They have exposed brick and beams, track lighting on a dimmer switch, non-ugly carpet, modern bathroom/vanity area, and sooo important for older buildings: good water pressure in the shower! Tempurpedic beds - some may not like that - we didn't mind.

No complaint with cleanliness. However, we did put the card out to request new sheets one day and didn't get them.

Staff is generally good. One guy provided a great recommendation for a place to get delivery dinner on a night my boyfriend hurt is back and we couldn't walk around too much.

The continental breakfast does the job. Cereal, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, juice, and various breads/pastries. Waffle station, but we didn't see anyone attempt to use it. Available till 11 on the weekends and 10 weekdays.

We did have some noise issues carrying in from the street, but not bad. More annoying was the yappy dog in the room two doors down. We finally called the front desk around 1am and they confirmed they are pet free hotel and would send security. Whether or not they did, we're not sure. And would guess the owners were probably still out clubbing so not much the staff could have done anyway outside of kidnap the dog. But it did eventually quiet down, for whatever reason, and we think they checked out the next day.

Note: the Carriage Courtyard is where the breakfast room is located. We peeked in one room while it was being cleaned and they do look really nice as well, but you might get foot traffic noise from people going to and from the breakfast area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ARL2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The recent visit to New Orleans was quite an experience. The hotel that we stayed really surprised us. Although is a relatively small hotel, its location is great. It is one block from the notorious Bourbon Street, close enough to walk to it and experience the revelry but far enough to filter out the music and other noises. The Dauphine Orleans is a quaint non pretentious hotel blending quite well within the neighborhood and with the local style flavor; it is one where you get great value for the price. It is not fancy but it makes it up by providing great service and it has the best bed that I had ever slept on in a hotel. Must say that the staff was very helpful and always willing to assist with any request. In addition it does provide free breakfast and although it is self service it does have a great variety of items to choose from and the tables are covered with cloth tablecloth and actual china for use. All in all great location, great value and great service. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to all my friends.

Room Tip: Rooms away from ther elevators are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColR06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,295 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#46 of 166 in New Orleans
2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
6,283 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,558 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#17 of 166 in New Orleans
2,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: €123 - €340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing