We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 16:30
Save
  
Ways to Experience New Orleans Jazz Museum
from US$66.60
More Info
from US$75.90
More Info
from US$97.44
More Info
from US$126.64
More Info
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveller rating
235
203
107
26
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
235
203
107
26
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews louis armstrong professor longhair free concerts on display the national park service french quarter worth a stop preservation hall rainy day great music mardi gras mint jazz cornet fats instruments history
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 582 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2019

Housed in the Old US Mint Building (there is still a small, free exhibition on the ground floor), the Jazz Museum is cheap to enter and very worthwhile. I heard a very good live show in the auditorium (Ron Hacker & Friends), then toured various galleries over two floors relating to drums, mardi gras, Louis Prima and Professor Longhair. Lots of good stories, good info boards, exhibits.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2019

This museum says it has three floors. The first floor is devoted to exhibits about the mint (which was the prior occupant of the building), one floor to jazz, and third a (now closed) exhibition space. The jazz floor highlights maybe four artists and does not have any story or coherent timeline or other cohesion. A waste of time and money.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank traveler10233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2019

A must read other reviews to get the composite of the place. Yes it is in the building that was the Mint, even an old safe door on display. Displays of Jazz artist and festivals are on spots of first and then second floor. Yes there is an elevator. A lovely young lady of the museum staff gave me a bit of a tour as we checked out the Longhair Byrd exhibit, the artifacts and pictures of Louis Armstrong and pictures and items of various Jazz festivals. When I had heard about this place, I placed it on my bucket list. While not a huge museum, I found the selections and even the audios worth a listen and seeing instruments used by them interesting and colorful, but more than that /- of the Feel.

Date of experience: November 2019
1  Thank mindy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2019

We stopped in while in the French Quarter when we saw the National Park logo. Other than the logo there is no evidence it is a national park site. The staff told us it was state, not national park operated. The exhibits were small and it took only about an hour to see the entire Jazz section ( the other section is the US mint museum). While interesting, we really didn't learn anything about the development or history of Jazz in New Orleans, which was why we stopped in.

Date of experience: November 2019
1  Thank sticklelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2019

When we went, there was a good Louis Prima exhibition, also Professor Longhair. Also look out for Fats Domino's white piano and the story behind it.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews